We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pale shadow”
Review of Jaspers Tea Rooms

Jaspers Tea Rooms
Ranked #3 of 84 Coffee & Tea in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Jaspers has been nominated as on the 11 BEST places to have Afternoon Tea in Cardiff! If you have enjoyed one of our afternoon teas please vote for us on the Wales Online website and help us achieve this fantastic status. Thank you, The Jaspers Team xx
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I found this Tearooms a "pale shadow" compared to Pettigrews in Cardiff Castle which i had visited 2 weeks earlier.They did not let themselves down on the food which was good but not great .I found it very strange that they employed young female staff all dressed in black and white and yet you had to go up to the counter to put your order in and pay before you had your dishes....which i do not like,they were polite but looked as though they wished they were somewhere else.There was absolutely no ambience in the place whatsoever add to this the fact that it is not cheap and i think i will not be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank grooniepig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babs M, Owner at Jaspers Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for visiting Jaspers and taking the time to write a review.

We are sorry that you found our payment system to be inconvenient but due to the layout of the tea rooms with our numerous small rooms and doorways we have found this to be the only system that works. We have found for health and safety purposes, it helps to reduce congestion between customers entering and leaving the premises and is better for hygiene purposes.

Our staff are generally commended on their polite, friendly approach to customers along with an extremely efficient service at all times.

Myself and the team have taken your comments on board.and once again are sorry that you felt you did not receive this on your visit,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 236 of 259 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

I often call in here and meet up with friends. I had a lovely home made victoria sponge with fresh strawberries and cream and my friend had a chocolate roulade, gluten free, and she was very happy to be able to treat herself, as she finds not a lot of restaurants provide a gluten free option. However I was also in Jaspers on Mothers Day, when I treated my aunt to a lovely cream tea in a pleasant atmosphere. There was plenty to choose from, not just foodwise, but quite a selection of teas as well. Staff were very helpful and my aunt, who is elderly, was made to feel very special which is just what you want on a special occasion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Aaleyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babs M, Owner at Jaspers Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for visiting Jaspers again and taking the time to write another kind review.

We are pleased that you and your Aunt enjoyed the mothers day cream tea which was a great success and one we will be looking forward to repeating next year,

Also we are currently looking to extend our menu to include more gluten and dairy free items due to popular demand.

We look forward to seeing you again and any request for the new menu please let us know and we will do our best to accommodate as customer satisfaction is paramount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

a little expensive.

A great little tea room in a wonderful location being next to the Cathedral.

The only down side is that it is a bit expensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank City_1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babs M, Owner at Jaspers Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Jaspers and thank you for taking the time to write a
kind review. We hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Came across Jaspers Tea Rooms in Llandaff recently and what a find !!! You are greeted as you walk through the door by the sight of a fabulous array of cakes and the welcome we received from the staff was warm and genuine. We ordered coffee and cakes and checked out the menu for the light snacks , lovely selection for a light lunch. The tea rooms are quirky and quaint with lovely touches in the decor. Well worth a visit if you are in Llandaff and just around the corner from the beautiful Cathedral. Call in, you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babs M, Manager at Jaspers Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of our tea rooms. We are delighted that you were able to visit Jaspers and enjoyed our display of home made cakes. We pride ourselves on our friendly approach with customers, and it is good to read that you were happy with the menu choice. We hope you will be visiting us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have been regular visitors to Jaspers since it opened as it is just on our doorstep. I love the vintage feel of a traditional tearoom, with its quirky little rooms.
We have taken lots of our friends family and visitors to Jaspers and have never been dissapointed. The cakes are amazing (particularly the carrot cake) and the homemade soups are always different and very tasty. The service is always first class with friendly staff.
An absolute gem of a place in the stunning Llandaff City!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank alyjb267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaspers Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Jaspers Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing