We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Best location for hiking and sightseeing”
4.5 of 5 bubbles

Review of Glynogwr lodge.

Views from Glynogwr lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Views from Glynogwr lodge
BBQ seating area, summer house & jacuzzi Inside the lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
11 reviews
Views from Glynogwr lodge
BBQ seating area, summer house & jacuzzi
Inside the lodge
Open plan lounge & dining area
Glynogwr lodge
Meet Gibby our Dartmoor pony
Bedroom with en-suite
Twin bedroom with en-suite
Kitchen
BBQ and seating area, with wonderful views of the surrounding area
BBQ in action
Another double bedroom
The third double bedroom
Master bedroom en-suite
Single bedroom
Fully fitted kitchen
Enjoy the open plan living area
The living area will comfortably sit up to 8 people
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cardiff, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alison S
Elon, North Carolina
1 review
“Best location for hiking and sightseeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Enjoyed the whole two weeks at the cottage. We came over from the US to join our family for an extended holiday and hiked the hills most mornings and toured the area most afternoons. We enjoyed family meals together and relaxed in the spacious living area in the evenings. There is so much to see and it is all so close to the cottage location! The cottage had all that we needed and more!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location and accommodations
Liked least: Only one shower
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2016
Thank you very much for choosing Glynogwr lodge as your holiday destination in visiting Wales.
Your comments are very much appreciated. Hope you are all doing well David. Please come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seonaid E
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect touring location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a fortnight at Glynogwr Lodge and loved every minute of it. The cottage is spacious and comfortable, the welcome pack was great and the location was ideal for touring South Wales, with the added bonus of good local walking for the more energetic amongst us. Dave was very friendly and helpful when we contacted him.

There are a number of good pubs and restaurants nearby but the kitchen is well equipped for those that prefer to cook for themselves.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location , and the pigs!
Liked least: Would be nice to have showers in each bathroom, but it was not a real problem.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Thanks David.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P_Ravisha...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the cottage. Very spacious and well decorated. Andy who owns and manages the place is very courteous. Only downside is the bathrooms - of the three bathrooms only one had a shower and that too was not in good condition. Also there is no latches in the bathroom.

4 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Location
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and that your team won the cricket.
Thank You very much for your comments. When we have a quiet period we will be putting a shower tap in one of the bathrooms.Thank you very much and hope to see you again.
David.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonora...
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Homely feel :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Glynogwr lodge is a beautiful, homely cottage with a beautiful scenary. The facilities were excellent and the owner have thought of everything the holiday maker would require. The cottage is everything it promised to be and also very quiet and peaceful. From arrival to departure everything we needed was catered for and we would return again another time. The property is comfortable, well maintained and beautifully decorated and furnished. The location is perfect for exploring Cardiff and Swansea.

The price is also quite cheap, would definitely recommend it and would think about visting again ...

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Scenary
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2013
HI, Thank you very much. We are new to the holiday letting industry, and very much appreciate your comments. We always try to do our best, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and that every thing was as it should be. Hope to see you again soon.
David.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graceb92
Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Could not ask for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

This is an amazing cottage. The village is very quiet and peaceful. Lovely scenery from the cottage. The owner is very kind and helpful. The price is quite cheap. I would totally recommend it!!

5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: very cosy rooms and the lovely scenery
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about the cottage, and also the owner myself. We are very grateful and pleased you would recommend us.
Hope to see you all again, and the very best of wishes.
David.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeyDamat...
Zurrieq, Malta
2 reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

The lodge is perfect for those who want to stay in a quite area, surrounded by the country side and with an amazing view. The lodge is also well equipped.

Dave (the owner) was very helpful, when we had some problems how to use things, he was there for us. He gave us a good tips about the area and we enjoyed every minute staying there

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments and your rating. It is very much appreciated.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay/holiday with us.
Please tell your friends and family.
And we hope to see you all again soon.
Thanks very much, David.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duanegrec...
Marsa, Malta
1 review
“Amazing Stay at Glynogwr Lodge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

The accommodation is very nice and the view from the cottage is brilliant! It is located between Cardiff and Swansea, and only a few miles away from those two cities.

The owner is very friendly and helped us with anything we needed. Would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2013
Thank you for your very nice comments. They are very much appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay/holiday.
Please recommend us to your friends and family.
Thank you very much hope to see you and your friends again.
Thanks David.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$256
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing