We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Rumarz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,775 - 1,781 of 2,643 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

Even though this hotel is showing some signs of wear and tear we enjoyed our stay here in a large and comfortable room having an excellent vista of the Cardiff skyline. Breakfast was of very good quality, the staff were efficient and helpful and the hotel is close to Cardiff town centre.

One small problem was that the bathroom was inadequately cleaned. Apart from that I would return here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chemistatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thanks for your honest feedback, it is so important for us to help drive standards. We were pleased to read that you found the rooms large and comfortable, staff efficient and breakfast of good quality.

We have passed on your comments to our housekeeping team reference the bathroom and hope upon your return you see a big improvement

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Decided to book a relaxing night after work, so seeking for hotel with pool, & leisure facilities. Looked at quite few hotels & decided on the Mercure Holland House.

Overall - excellent value for money. For the facilities available, and breakfast included we were delighted. Very spacious room, very clean & quality bed/bedding. Room had panoramic view, with huge windows to take full advantage. Didn't have too much interaction with staff, but found them to be friendly & efficient in all departments.
Was also impressed with well equipped gym.

Breakfast was excellent in my view. Wide choice of hot/cold buffet & chef could cook extra requests if needed, and staff very helpful.

Only minor negative points (if i'm being picky) - Jacuzzi didn't work as temporary fault. Credit card was not deducted when booking & was asked to pay higher rate at check out - therefore strongly advise you to keep copy of confirmation to confirm cost. This was resolved promptly & not fault of staff at the desk.
Was surprised to hear quite bit traffic noise from 6th floor, but didn't affect us, maybe extra glazing would help.

Would advise if you want treatments - book ahead as we left it too late.

Being only 5 mins walk from Cardiff Queen St station I think this hotel offers excellent value for a centrally located hotel. For a nice 4 star - not stuffy, but good quality value hotel you won't go wrong.

Room Tip: Maybe higher room to avoid traffic noise, but maybe slightly higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and recommendation. It is great to read that you found the rooms spacious and clean, the views are quite breath taking! Breakfast is always a key one for chef so he was pleased with your comments!

We hope to be able to welcome you back again and if you do want any spa treatments please do let us know in advance so we do not disappoint

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I came with my mother and sister-in-law to enjoy a relaxing spa day and that's exactly what we got when we were warmly welcomed. Although i was disappointed that the jacuzzi was out of order due to a health and safety issue, the pool and sauna were a great start to our day.

The lunch was tasty, we had prawn and chicken bento boxes (which came with dessert) and unlimited tea, coffee and water was available.

The 55min full body massage was fantastic. The lady was very friendly and the room and soft music was the perfect atmosphere. Following the massages we went to the relaxation room which was also a calm and soothing environment with extremely comfy beds.

We decided to finish the day off with a couples of cheeky cocktails in the bar. The strawberry daquiris made by another friendly staff member Karl, were delicious.

We had a superb day! All the staff were friendly and welcoming and overall the day was great value and very relaxing. Will definitely be returning soon :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your review about your 'Fantastic Spa Day' We are so pleased to have exceeded your expectations and help make your pamper day special!

We too hope you will come back soon, I would definitely recommend trying our new Hydrotherapy but still finish the day off with a cocktail or too...

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank MerfCaernarfon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this lovely hotel with my daughter
in 2012.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, service was excellent both when
booking in and throughout the hotel.
We particularly enjoyed the Spa as well as our lovely room and
found all staff pleasant and efficient in all parts of the hotel.
The hotel was spotlessly clean and so convenient for the
shopping area cafes and restaurants, if I ever had the chance
I would love to go back.

Cardiff itself was a lovely place, our first ever visit, hopefully not our last.
We loved it :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay last year. Feedback is so important for us to fine tune our operations.
We are pleased that you both had a wonderful spa day and hope you have the opportunity to benefit from some of the new special promotions we are runinng for the spa currently

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a hotel I use often for business purposes - the location is great, overall the hotel is fine but I do feel that the rooms are now in need of some attention - nothing to painful, but I dont think I have stayed in a room yet that doesnt have a leaky tap, a damp smell or water spills from the shower.
Their upgrade to free wifi has been a blessing particularly if you use the room to work from.
The food has always been good and the service from the staff is usually very good.
Overall I would recommend this hotel - albeit I would be very annoyed about having to pay for the £12 parking if it was coming out of my pocket (street parking is free up until 8am in the morning)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your honest feedback about the hotel. It is great to read you are a regular guest with us and appreciate some of the changes such as the complimentarty WIFI we have introduced.

Just to advise we have started making progress with updating the rooms and hope you will see some positive changes over the forthcoming weeks

Thanks again for your feedback

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
2,241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,412 reviews
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,985 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $83 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing