We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ibis Cardiff Gate(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$42
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cardiff(Cardiff)
$116
$101
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$96
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Clayton Hotel Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$73
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$91
$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$62
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Royal Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$71
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Cardiff Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$88
$81
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$82
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,719)
Filter reviews
2,719 results
Traveler rating
1,184
904
380
150
101
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,184
904
380
150
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivilege roomthe underground car parkrelaxation roomcorner roomcity centreseparate showersteam roomlovely hotelchanging roomsroom was largehigh floorsuperior roomreception deskhen partyleisure facilitiesfollowing morninglovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,945 - 1,950 of 2,719 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Booked to stay overnight on Sat 11th May 2013. Made use of the underground car park (£14 for 24 hours ) . Check in was smooth and the reception staff were extremely polite and welcoming. The room we were allocated was a corner suite with good views and was clean and tidy. You did need to request stocking of mini bar , although prices appeared reasonable. My only criticism of the rooms are looking a little tired , carpet was looking faded,stained and curtains did not shut properly

The bed was queen sized , extremely comfortable and sleep quality was fab. The hotel is a short walk into the city centre and great spa facitlities available for hotel guests. This was definitely a deciding factor in booking this hotel compared to others more central to mill lane area.

Breakfast buffet had a good of selection of hot and cold foood , nice surroundings and were seated promptly by attentive staff. The jams and pastries were good , well presented and cooked breakfast items were hot . My only niggle was that the sliced bread appeared cheap in quality and i was dissapointed that the sauce used was not the preferred brands.as the bacon and sausage was good quality and spoilt by cheap sauce. All in all though a pleasurable stay with good customer service and i will return

Room Tip: ask for corner suite preferably high floor
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiflarue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear fiflarue,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Mercure Holland House Hotel and for your feedback.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Was taken here as a treat on a Sunday evening, Room was very nice, modern and spacious. We had a Massage and a Facial in the spa which were amazing, then 2 for 1 cocktails in the bar for happy hour.
Dinner was excellent even though a part of a deal they did not skimp on the portions and the quality again was amazing aswell as the service.
The service at breakfast let them down as was not asked if we wanted coffee etc, but still very nice, 3 time we have stayed here and is one of the best hotels in Cardiff.

Room Tip: HIgh floor for a great view of cardiff
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2304Nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear 2304Nicky,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and so pleased that you enjoyed some spa treatments and our lovely cocktails in the bar.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Would highly recommend and definitely stay there again.
Walking distance to city centre, perfect after a shopping trip or show. Hotel is beautiful, clean and spacious and staff are the best.
The room we had was big, comfortable , clean, warm and sunny. The bathroom was sparkly clean. Towels and toiletries readily available, we asked for more towels and they were delivered within minutes.
The food in the restaurant was excellent, big thank you to all kitchen staff, the treatment facilities were amazing. It was spacious, warm and so relaxing.
But most importantly the staff, who could make or break our experience, absolutely made it the best!
From the moment we checked in we were made to feel welcome and special although there were at least 4 other hen parties going on in your hotel at the same time.
Would highly recommend to everyone. :-)

Room Tip: All rooms have huge windows which are mirrored so you can enjoy a lovely day without the glare. Curtains are dark and heavy so you can sleep undisturbed. Rooms are carpeted which soaks up any unwanted sounds from other guests. And the walls are proper walls, not partitions so you cant hear people showering even in your own en-suite.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Michaela T,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay for a hen party and the lovely email that you sent to the hotel. I hope it won't be too long before we welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards
Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here previously when it's been on offer for an over night stay dinner and breakfast. Easy check in, had an executive suite as part if deal which makes you feel extra special. Dinner menu is set but you do have a choice. Breakfast buffet was fab with lots of choice. Parking is available but not many spaces. Close to centre about £5 in taxi. Facilities are great. Room needed to be a bit cleaner as there was a large stain on the throw on the bed and a clump of dark hair on top of the white duvet. Robes and slippers should have been in the room to use facilities and we booked treatments but they weren't. Would stay again but only as a treat when it's on offer.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinytrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Tinytrace,

Thank you for your review and thank you for your feedback regarding the room, I have followed this up with the Head Housekeeper. I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Divison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

we have just returned from a nights stay at the above hotel.We booked the deal through travel zoo got a upgraded room 3 course dinner on the same night and breakfast the next day.the upgraded room was on the 14th floor very dissapointing for an upgrade,the decor was awful,the settee in the room was ripped on both sides,there was no mirror by the dressing table so when you dried your hair you could style it..all the outside of the dressing table had dirty marks on it...
minibar empty you had to prebook drinks to go in it..a kettle there will a few coffee sachets but no biscuits..bathroom ok needed a good clean tho..

the only good thing was the dinner the staff were lovely as was the breakfast.....but on the whole very dissapointing and would not be going back here again...

Room Tip: dont stay on the 14 floor
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justine199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Justine199,

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take all feedback seriously at the hotel and your feedback regarding your room is being investigated and followed up.

Kind regards
Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews