We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room size, location but crowded & dated in places”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good room size, location but crowded & dated in places”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I booked this hotel for a weekend away through laterooms.com and was offered a B&B deal at first. Unfortunately laterooms.com rang me to say that the hotel were no longer offering breakfast - for the sake of 1 person at a buffet breakfast Mercure were willing to lose a booking?!? I kept the reservation as I saw this hotel being "built" when I was a student in Cardiff and wanted to use the once fan-fared spa.
Mercure's website was not clear on whether parking was free (it wasn't - £14 in a secure underground car park).

The room on the 9th floor was very spacious and clean but lacked a welcome book with details of the hotel's facilities, room service etc. When I tried to call down to reception the phone's labelled memory buttons weren't programmed so after trying the obvious numbers (0, 100, 9 etc) I went back down. The TV wasn't easy to use - lacked a coherent programme guide.

The spa wasn't as spacious as I'd expected - the Park Plaza is bigger - and was dated. There were tiles missing from the suspended ceiling in the changing room and cracked, patch repairs to the showers.

In summary the hotel is handily located for the city centre but over priced for the service offered.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drw2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

So pleased that you enjoyed your New Years with us. I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    823
    330
    133
    85
See reviews for
280
961
76
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

my lovely fella booked us in for a birthday treat and what a lovely hotel this is in the heart of cardiff 5min walk to the shops,the room we stayed in was lovely panoramic veiws over cardiff we was on the 7th floor.room was spotless bed very comfy.all the staff very polite and helpful.breakfast is buffet wich we both enjoyed.will be going back again soon :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your birthday stay with us at the hotel.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Mercure hotel on the seventh floor. It is ideally located within a short
walk of the city centre. Had a large room with 3 beds in it and a good sized bathroom. Had large glass windows which looked out over the older part of the city. I personally found the room cold although the air con was off. The hotel parking was under the hotel and charged at £14 a day which I felt was a bit expensive, although I don't know how much NCP parking was for 24 hrs. The wi if was free.

The breakfast was good with plentiful food and drink. Would probably stay again if we returned to Cardiff.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the castle, I would imagine you' d have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easylacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We currently have an agreement with the local NCP to honour our rates of £14 per 24 hours as oppposed to their own charges of £16.50 per 24 hours.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed on the 14th floor and the view of cardiff was amazing, you can see the whole of the centre! Reception & breakfast Staff were helpful and friendly. only 5 min walk to shopping area. Good sized pool aswell!

Room Tip: Better rooms are on higher floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed the fantastic views from the 14th floor. I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great location, really central and yet rooms are really quiet at night. Had a good view of cardiff from the room, and the bar was lovely. All decked out nice for the festive season. Staff were lovely. Spa facilities looked good, sadly didn't get time to use them :(

Would stay here again for another trip for sure, and weekend deals make it very worthwhile

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lellewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly for any future stays and to check for any promotional offers that we are running.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed overnight after a Christmas party. The hotel was incredibly busy but coped really well, All the functions rooms were full but the food at our event was very good and served hot. The bedroom was on the seventh floor on a corner so we had great views. The room was large and spacious with a really comfy big bed. The bathroom too was bigger than average with a really good walk-in shower as well as the bath tub. For an extra £5 service charge breakfast was brought to our room, we had exactly what we ordered delivered at the requested time. If the hotel can maintain this level of service at such a busy time they are obviously doing it right! The only slight problem was the queue to check out at midday, I filled in the express checkout form on the bill but that was disregarded and I still had to go through the full checkout process. It didn't take too long though and the receptionists were very pleasant despite the long queue. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay after a christmas party. Apologies that there was a delay on check out, unfortunately at this time of year many people check out at midday after the festivities of the night prior.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Omg had the most amazing stay at this hotel, we stayed on the 14th floor and had suite 4 and it was fab best views over the bay and Bristol Channel!! The breakfast was also very nice to and would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ice7583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Glad that you enjoyed your Suite when you stayed here, they do have impressive views of the city from that floor.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,079 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#12 of 73 in Cardiff
2,111 reviews
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,751 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing