We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #12 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

stayed overnight had a very spacious room.views from room were gorgeous. beds were very comfortable. breakfast great. pool area fab although pool was freezing but there was a problem with the heating. would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holland House and thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on tripadvisor.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    780
    313
    123
    77
See reviews for
262
912
70
457
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

What a great hotel this is, located within walking distance of Cardiff city centre shops. Good food and a great price for a weekend, staff were fabulous and the spa was great too. Although there was a problem with the heating the weekend I was there which meant the pool was cold, but that didn't spoil the weekend at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186466Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay. I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel on 1st december and enjoyed my stay so much I would go back again,. The location of the hotel was just a short walk to the main shopping area and the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpfull. I used the pool, but would have liked to have used the Spa also, but run out of time, maybe next time. The food in the resturant was excellent , one of the best meals I have had in Cardiff..

Cant recomend this hotel enough

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank MAIRWEN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us last week. We currently have mid week and weekend spa reviver packages which include dinner, bed, breakfast and a spa treament. Please give us a call when you are thinking about coming back to us again and we can let you know of the deals that we have on.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
148 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

As a fairly frequent guest at this hotel I was shocked at the first prices quoted for a one night stay, usually the rate is around ninety pounds but because there was a rugby match I was quoted one hundred and eighty nine pounds! Two days later I booked for a cost of one hundred and thirty pounds, still excessive I felt for the quality of the room. Although reasonably clean the carpet had marks on it and there was a rip in the duvet cover. We were also woken up at 2 am in the morning by a group of drunk people running own the corridor. This hotel is convenient for our business but needs to look at what they offer for the prices they-charge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Generally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the your stay. Apologies that you feel that the charges were excessively high, however during rugby internationals the demand for rooms is exceptionally high.

I hope that we can welcome you back to us again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport -Trefdraeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I attended Holland House for a Christmas ball so cannot comment on the accommodation side of things however... the food and service here for the ball was fabulous.
The decor is very clean and modern. The building is finished to a very high standard.
Regarding the function itself- the staff were most capable of serving a group of nearly 90 people effortlessly.
Plenty of welcome drinks by very polite staff.
The food was delightful considering it was mass catering. It was a Christmas menu which I honestly didnt think was going to be any good but I was wrong. Soup served warm and tasty, turkey was moist and delicious, with tender tasteful vegetables and soft roast potatoes and dessert was a little surprise- a cheesecake that tasted of Xmas pudding.
All courses were brought out within good time and plates cleared away efficiently.
Can't fault it - the only thing was the date of the toilets with that many people using them and Xmas bringing out the worst in people's drinking habits. Staff could have been laid on to keep an eye on those.

Would definitely recommend for dining for this time of year- Xmas/ new year menus off the back of what was served.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Justkeepexploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas Ball at the hotel and that your party were looked after.

I hope that you will consider the hotel for any future events that you may have or indeed any accommodation requirements. We currently have a fantastic spa reviver accommodation offer which is a lovely revitaliser after the Christmas festivities.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed in Cardiff numerous times before at the Mercure, but it felt different this time. Losing a bit of its ambience & struggling to stay with the rest.
Cracks appearing in the plaster, room was lacking (especially as we upgraded to an executive)
Best thing was as always the view.
Will try somewhere else next time

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the hotel. I am sorry that you feel that the hotel is not up to the normal standard. I hope that you will give us another opportunity and return to us again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed December 1st 2012 on a bed, breakfast and evening meal basis. Hotel very nice and rooms very large and great views but whole experience spoiled by very poor food for a 4 star hotel..beef was so tough could not cut with knife and after chewing a few minutes gave up..soup very watery and vegtables and sweets were cold. In my opinion we were an inconvenience on the night as they were geared up for xmas parties and could not wait to get us out of the dining room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msnape77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the hotel. I am sorry that on this occasion you did not have a good experience in the restaurant. Please accept my apologies for this and despite the hotel having Christmas parties on, it should not affect our service in the restaurant. Please could you contact me directly on h6622-rd@accor.com as I would like to follow this up with the Restaurant Manager.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing