We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wow Experience at New House Country Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New House Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 709 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

My daughter and fiancé where married at the New House Country Hotel Cardiff on 27th April 2014. This is a really lovely hotel for a wedding set in lovely grounds with lots of opportunities for photos outside on the lawn. The hotel has a marquee were civil ceremonies can be held with an area designated for the actual ceremony, which was very pretty. The area where the tables were set for the wedding breakfast is also very beautiful. All the staff during the wedding and after were great and could not do enough for us, we decided to have drinks and canapés whilst the photos were being taken and this was very good. The actual wedding breakfast was very good considering that the hotel was catering for some 86 people. We decided to have the buffet in the evening which was again good, although there is an option to have a hog roast. The family decided to stay overnight and our suite in Room 8 was well appointed with lots of room for children to stay overnight with us. I cannot think of one thing that did not go as planned and this of course shows the level of planning that had gone into the whole day by the staff at the hotel. Very many thanks to the New House Country Inn for making this a wonderful day for us all and I can thoroughly recommend this venue for a wedding.

Room Tip: Room no. 8 is a well appointed suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent visit to the hotel for your daughters wedding. I do hope you will visit us again in the future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were a group of girlfriends having afternoon tea for one of our friends birthday.
Excellent tea, beautiful sandwiches, plenty of cakes with scones and jam and cream and loads of other yummy cakes and macaroons. Tea was plentiful with our teapots being refilled as we needed. Service was excellent.
Views to die for and plenty of parking. Would highly recommend. We have also attended the jazz afternoons which are excellent and a load of fun with high tea and dancing if you want and a great jazz band.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardiffBeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent visit to the hotel for afternoon tea, I do hope we will see you again for our Jazz Afternoon Tea on June 8th

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Got a good deal because it was remarkably quiet for a bank holiday Monday - £60 room only.
Pros: Excellent check-in by name; large and comfortable room with far reaching views; shower that was straightforward to use; great service for dinner and breakfast by young staff, pleasant building.
Cons: rather a pretentious restaurant with food that was most edible, albeit rather expensive for what it was and nothing to get excited about; breakfast was just about ok - scrambled eggs at breakfast were the worst I've ever had in a hotel; bathroom suite that was probably installed in the 1980s in our 'comfort' room; 'comfort' rooms need re-decorating.
Generally, we enjoyed our stay despite it being work-related and felt it was good value for money, but the food was slightly disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Welshman_on_2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to the hotel. We take all comments both the good and not so good on board, and try and use them to improve the experience at the hotel for future guests. I do hope we will see you at the hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I booked this venue for a funeral buffet
The location and building is stunning with wonderful views into Cardiff bay.
The food was excellent and the service was impeccable.
All in all it made a very sad day a little more enjoyable
I would definitely recommend this venue and look forward to booking an evening there on a happier note.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to the hotel under sad circumstances. I do hope you will consider visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Fantastic location, rooms,food and staff, what more could you ask for?
Please put a door on the library, issues with the internet meant the computer was off line, although inconvenient, cannot fault how it was handled, staff couldn't have been more helpful, calling my room o advise it was back up and running and my urgent task could be completed.
The proximity to the front drawing room is such that you cannot hear yourself think in the library.
Seriously good hotel just such a small detail overlooked, why would you have an open plan library

Room Tip: Front view was magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellyd1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay, I do hope we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had a one night stay as we were visiting friends in Cardiff. We were made very welcome from the time we arrived to the time we left. The room was spacious and had a wonderful view looking over Cardiff. The bathroom was amazing and the bed gave us a good night's sleep. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was first class. We will stay again on our next visit to Cardiff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmblesideWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding your recent stay, I do hope we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,304 reviews
4.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,393 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,951 reviews
5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
5.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New House Country Hotel

Address: Thornhill Road, Cardiff CF14 9UA, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $118 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New House Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the fringes of Cardiff nestling amongst the Welsh hills, the privately owned 4 star New House Country Hotel & Sequoias Restaurant boasts unrivalled views over the city and beautiful Vale of Glamorgan. The open fires, exquisite furnishings, fully equipped function suites, beautifully restored bedrooms and the stunning Sequoias restaurant combine to create the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your New House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
New House Country Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing