We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful everytime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New House Country Hotel
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Cheadle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful everytime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have stayed many times at The New House Hotel, usually with my father, when we are visiting family in nearby Llanishen and Rhiwbina. Every stay has been wonderful.
We have always needed a ground floor room as my father is unable to walk up/down stairs (no lift). Our request has always been accommodated by the staff. The staff are always polite, friendly and very helpful, going out of their way to ensure we have everything we need. There are very good provisions for anyone who is disabled - parking near the entrance. Flat access and ramp up to the sitting area and restaurants/bar area. Disabled toilet on ground floor. The ground floor bedrooms are spacious and would easily accommodate anyone in a wheelchair. The shower is over the bath so this may be difficult for some guests. Excellent choice of breakfast each day in the restaurant,very good quality ingredients .
The view over Cardiff are fantastic.
I have no hesitation in highly recommending The New House Hotel. I know I will be returning many times in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. Beautiful views over Cardiff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer

I am so glad you choose the New House when you come to visit your family and you enjoy your stay. We pride ourselves in using Welsh local produce and am happy you enjoy this produce for your breakfast.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    163
    37
    20
    8
See reviews for
101
187
16
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Just spent three nights at the hotel. Booking in very effective , allocated the Lewis room which was outstanding from my wife and my point of view, very spacious and comfortable. Had dinner in the hotel on two occasions. Very efficient service and excellent food. On the second evening there was also a dinner party of 30 in the restaurant . However, the hotel staff treated us as individuals and we received quick and prompt service during our meal. A credit to the serving staff. Try and take a window seat for breakfast it is breath taking. We hope to return in the Summer when hopefully we can take advantage of sitting outside and take in the ambiance . Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel and were comfortabale in Lewis.

I do hope you will visit us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Nice to see friendly staff, to me it makes all the difference,my group and I had a great time, the night porter was good too and that's rare, one small thing, I wanted to buy wine but they did not take cards, only cash so I could not purchase it , this is the first hotel and dinning place that I have have experienced this issue. Hope the staff stay happy .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Welshcake9999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your lovely comments regarding your stay at the hotel for the Murder Mystery dinner, I will pass your kind comments onto the staff. Thank you for your comments regarding card payments, you would have been able to charge your wine to your room.

I do hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great place to stay if visiting Cardiff, although you will need a car. Lovely atmosphere, friendly people working, and very good food, great views of Cardiff. Lovely walks nearby on caerphilly mountain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuernseyAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer

I am so glad you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel, I do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

First time at this Hotel, and was not disappointed. Having been to many of the It's Murder weekends, we stayed at this hotel for their first booking. We had the most wonderful time. The room was spectacular - a Four Poster with views over Cardiff Bay. The food was wonderful and the ingredients good quality. The staff were exceptional. Friendly, efficient and Tim, the waiter, never stopped smiling (shame he was accused of the murder!!)

We are sincerely hoping that It's Murder use this hotel regularly, as we will definitely be going back again and again.

Well done New House Hotel Staff and the cast of It's Murder for making this another very enjoyable weekend.

See you in February (and October) 2014.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the hotel for the Murder Mystery weekend. We have had some very positive comments from the weekend and we do hope to run similar events in the future. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We spent the weekend at this hotel for a murder mystery event. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with lovely views. Our room was very nice with a comfy bed. The food was delicious and much, much better than I've ever had on a 'package deal' weekend. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

The murder mystery was organised by a company called "It's Murder" and was a thoroughly entertaining way to spend a weekend. The cast take their job of acting out the murder very seriously so the performances are very good - however, the whole plot and atmosphere was light-hearted and fun. This was the first time the hotel had run such a weekend but they have more planned which I would strongly recommend to people.

If you are planning to go into Cardiff for a spot of shopping, I would recommend leaving your car at the local train station and catching the train into the city centre as Cardiff parking charges are astronomical - not the hotel's fault but something to bear in mind.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary_Jones77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the hotel for the Murder Mystery, from what I can gather this was an enjoyable weekend for all involved. I do hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.4 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
4.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
5.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
6.5 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New House Country Hotel

Property: New House Country Hotel
Address: Thornhill Road, Cardiff CF14 9UA, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New House Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the fringes of Cardiff nestling amongst the Welsh hills, the privately owned 4 star New House Country Hotel & Sequoias Restaurant boasts unrivalled views over the city and beautiful Vale of Glamorgan. The open fires, exquisite furnishings, fully equipped function suites, beautifully restored bedrooms and the stunning Sequoias restaurant combine to create the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
New House Country Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing