We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New House Country Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$119
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cardiff(Cardiff)
$158
$144
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$120
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$137
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Royal Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$104
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$135
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Cardiff Gate(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$48
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (757)
Filter reviews
757 results
Traveler rating
451
229
48
22
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
229
48
22
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbristol channelwedding venuewedding guestswedding breakfastcardiff bayafternoon tealarge bathroombeautiful hotelsat navthe ground floorgood sizebusiness triptwo night staylovely roomcity centremarqueethornhill
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
583 - 588 of 757 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great place to stay if visiting Cardiff, although you will need a car. Lovely atmosphere, friendly people working, and very good food, great views of Cardiff. Lovely walks nearby on caerphilly mountain.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuernseyAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear Reviewer

I am so glad you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel, I do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

First time at this Hotel, and was not disappointed. Having been to many of the It's Murder weekends, we stayed at this hotel for their first booking. We had the most wonderful time. The room was spectacular - a Four Poster with views over Cardiff Bay. The food was wonderful and the ingredients good quality. The staff were exceptional. Friendly, efficient and Tim, the waiter, never stopped smiling (shame he was accused of the murder!!)

We are sincerely hoping that It's Murder use this hotel regularly, as we will definitely be going back again and again.

Well done New House Hotel Staff and the cast of It's Murder for making this another very enjoyable weekend.

See you in February (and October) 2014.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabethsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the hotel for the Murder Mystery weekend. We have had some very positive comments from the weekend and we do hope to run similar events in the future. We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We spent the weekend at this hotel for a murder mystery event. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with lovely views. Our room was very nice with a comfy bed. The food was delicious and much, much better than I've ever had on a 'package deal' weekend. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

The murder mystery was organised by a company called "It's Murder" and was a thoroughly entertaining way to spend a weekend. The cast take their job of acting out the murder very seriously so the performances are very good - however, the whole plot and atmosphere was light-hearted and fun. This was the first time the hotel had run such a weekend but they have more planned which I would strongly recommend to people.

If you are planning to go into Cardiff for a spot of shopping, I would recommend leaving your car at the local train station and catching the train into the city centre as Cardiff parking charges are astronomical - not the hotel's fault but something to bear in mind.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary_Jones77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the hotel for the Murder Mystery, from what I can gather this was an enjoyable weekend for all involved. I do hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I note from below that a few people in the past have had an issue with finding the hotel, however on visiting the hotels website they offer very useful information about using sat nav's and on following this found the hotel very easily.

On arrival at the hotel I was amazed with both the grandeur of the hotel and also the fantastic views from the hotel, the view is perfect for a picture postcard!

On checking in I was checked in by a receptionist called Heather, she was extremely polite and professional. On arrival our room was a little cold and we couldn't work out the heating so after a quick telephone call to reception this was sorted within minutes (the hotel has to activate the heating for the rooms in the annex section). Our room was very spacious and we even had a balcony which overlooked the beautiful views of Cardiff.

We were at the hotel for the special reason of attending the Murder Mystery weekend with It's Murder who we have attended a murder weekend with before but in another hotel.

In the evening we all met in the blue lounge which was very cosy with the roaring log fire and the evening began. The entertainment as always from It's Murder was top class and we had a great weekend.

One comment I have to make it on the food at the hotel, the food was absolutely fantastic on the first night I opted for the chicken main followed by a white chocolate mousse in a chocolate cup which was delicious!
On night 2 I opted for the belly pork which just fell apart with your knife and fork and was a delight on the pallet.

All in all a fantastic stay and a real hidden gem, will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdffoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Reviewer

I am so glad you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel for the Murder Mystery weekend. As you know it was the first time we have run an event like this for the whole weekend and we are getting some very good comments from it, I do hope you will join us again in the future for a similar event!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews