We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place - best hotel in Cardiff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New House Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Fab stay. Spotless rooms, yummy breakfast and such a classy feel to reception and dining rooms. We had a balcony room overlooking the city - amazing view of the firework display on the sat night. Decor in rooms starting to look a bit tired now but I understand a rolling refurbishment plan is underway. Thanks to staff for another lovely stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fridaysrock11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHouseHotel, Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel, I hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 708 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

Hotel situated in fantastic position overlooking Cardiff.

Rooms are really great size and well furnished.

Lots of cosy lounge space downstairs to relax and unwind in.

Food in restaurant really good quality home cooked food

Staff all very friendly and attentive

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebsHornby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

A high quality, country house hotel, in a fine position, overlooking Cardiff. Selected for the location with ready access to town and motorway. Friendly welcome with a decent room allocation. A ground floor room, with garden view and small covered sitting area. Spacious, nicely decorated bedroom with good size bathroom. Modern and functional, except for the bidet water feed which I forgot to mention to reception on departure. A minor detail which did not detract from the overall hotel experience.

Enjoyed the restaurant experience. Excellent service from a capable team. A decent menu with good wine selection. A couple of items missing from the menu but not a show stopper. Thought the food was excellent at both dinner and breakfast with high quality service.

Happy to revisit and recommend this quality hotel, where a high standard of customer service appears to be the norm.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHouseHotel, Director at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience both staying in the hotel and dining in Sequoias Restaurant.

We pride oursleves on great customer service, and the team will be delighted to read your comments.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I can only apologise for the lateness in posting this review - my partner and I stayed at this hotel last February. Having now appraised all our hotel stays in 2012, this hotel genuinely exceeded all our expectations and scores top marks for customer service, value for money, excellent cuisine ( I can highly recommend the hake in citrus sauce),and a nicely appointed room with lovely views. The booking was last minute for an unplanned visit to Wales - we have fond memories of a very pleasant stay here and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHouseHotel, Director at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

We are very pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and for your kind recommendations for the restaurant.

I will be sure to pass your comments onto the rest of the team.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel when my husband and I went to see family.
It was a really nice place to stay. The view over Cardiff was really lovely it was a great setting . It is very clean, i was very impressed as I do expect a high standard, the room was really spacious and the food divine! In addition all the staff we had contact with were really pleasant and helpful.
Would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaMc108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHouseHotel, Director at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank for you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would have no hesitation in recommending us to others.

I will be sure to pass your comments onto the rest of the team who will be delighted to read them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We used our Tesco vouchers for this weekend and were very sruprised when we got there. We knew it was a Plus Hotel but it really was lovely. Our room was right above the front door (23) and it had the most incredible views over the valley and into Cardiff Bay
The room was very spacious, bathroom was lovely and very nice toiletries
We stayed in the first night and ate in the restaurant - it was x3 course £35 and was good. I had Pigeon Breast followed by Venison - all very nice. The breakfast was nice although could have been slightly hotter and they clear up on the stoke of 10am so don't go too late
We got a taxi into Cardiff and spent the day there ending up in the bay where there are a good choice of places to eat
Would definitely recommend the hotel especially if you have vouchers - it cost us £70 in vouchers = £210 and we added £18
Be careful with sat-nav - do not use the Hotel address - it will ask you to stop in the middle of the motorway ! check the website for directions

Room Tip: Room 23 was very nice with lovely views but they all seemed ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrQuincy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Beautiful setting overlooking Cardiff. Room adequate, comfortable and very clean. All staff friendly, especially the young waiter and waitress serving breakfast. Room service did not take too long and the meal was hot tasty and filling. No complaints at all. No hesitation in recommending this hotel and I will be staying again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Zeke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHouseHotel, Director at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us.

We pride ourselves on a warm Welsh welcome and great customer service and I am pleased to see that we accomplished this for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,300 reviews
4.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,391 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,950 reviews
5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
5.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New House Country Hotel

Address: Thornhill Road, Cardiff CF14 9UA, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $116 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New House Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the fringes of Cardiff nestling amongst the Welsh hills, the privately owned 4 star New House Country Hotel & Sequoias Restaurant boasts unrivalled views over the city and beautiful Vale of Glamorgan. The open fires, exquisite furnishings, fully equipped function suites, beautifully restored bedrooms and the stunning Sequoias restaurant combine to create the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your New House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
New House Country Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing