We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (843)
Filter reviews
843 results
Traveler rating
499
253
59
24
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
253
59
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbristol channelwedding venuewedding guestscocklescardiff baywedding breakfastgreat views over cardiffafternoon tealarge bathroombeautiful hotelsat navthe ground floorgood sizebusiness triptwo night staylovely roomstayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
718 - 723 of 843 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We used our Tesco vouchers for this weekend and were very sruprised when we got there. We knew it was a Plus Hotel but it really was lovely. Our room was right above the front door (23) and it had the most incredible views over the valley and into Cardiff Bay
The room was very spacious, bathroom was lovely and very nice toiletries
We stayed in the first night and ate in the restaurant - it was x3 course £35 and was good. I had Pigeon Breast followed by Venison - all very nice. The breakfast was nice although could have been slightly hotter and they clear up on the stoke of 10am so don't go too late
We got a taxi into Cardiff and spent the day there ending up in the bay where there are a good choice of places to eat
Would definitely recommend the hotel especially if you have vouchers - it cost us £70 in vouchers = £210 and we added £18
Be careful with sat-nav - do not use the Hotel address - it will ask you to stop in the middle of the motorway ! check the website for directions

Room Tip: Room 23 was very nice with lovely views but they all seemed ok
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrQuincy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Beautiful setting overlooking Cardiff. Room adequate, comfortable and very clean. All staff friendly, especially the young waiter and waitress serving breakfast. Room service did not take too long and the meal was hot tasty and filling. No complaints at all. No hesitation in recommending this hotel and I will be staying again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Zeke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHouseHotel, Director at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us.

We pride ourselves on a warm Welsh welcome and great customer service and I am pleased to see that we accomplished this for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We held our wedding here in September 2012 and could not recommend it more highly or thank the staff enough for their hard work. The events team were helpful in the run up to the big day and helped to accommodate our budget and requests. However, the staff on the day itself were phenomenal, especially Becky, the duty manager who was in charge throughout the day. She was always there if we needed her, but without being intrusive, which meant that we could relax as she had everything in hand. Our best man was being a best man for the 5th time and he also commented that she was one of the most helpful he had come across. We had the ceremony in the Georgian Suite with 50 guests and then moved into the marquee for the wedding breakfast and were joined by a further 30 guests in the evening. Many of our guests commented on how lovely the venue was and how good the food was. We didn't get time to go near the buffet as we were so busy talking to guests but we had the basic package and, again, many guests commented on how nice it was! We were lucky enough to have a beautiful autumn day which showed off this stunning venue at its best and the view was breath taking! Once again thank you to everyone at the New House for making our day so special!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenlouise23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHouseHotel, Director at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a glowing review.

We would like to thank you for letting us be part of your special day and are extremely pleased to hear that you had a fantastic experience.

I will be sure to pass your comments onto Rebekah and all the team who will be thrilled to read them.

Many thanks,

Stephen Banks
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had our wedding here in sept 2007.... amazing service! we spent our first anniversary there too and have just recently spent our 5th wedding anniversary there! weve seen a few changes over the years, but i feel the standard has remained A*, the food, the rooms, the location the views.... i couldnt grumble if i tried!!!!!
thank you

Room Tip: Balcony rooms show a lovely view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHouseHotel, Director at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your lovely review and congratulations on your 5th year anniversary!

We are very pleased to see that you choose to spend such a special occasion with us each year and look forward to welcoming you back next year.

On your next visit please contact me directly to arrange a complimentary upgrade.

Stephen Banks
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights when we came for a friends wedding. The room was very comfortable with views over the ground and Cardiff Bay in the distance. Food excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the bay
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NottinghamApothecary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHouseHotel, Director at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear Review,

Thank you for taking the time to write you review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the wedding your recently attended and also your stay at the hotel, the team work very hard to ensure that we provide excellent service to everyone and will be pleased to read your comments.

Stephen Banks
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews