We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New House Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed two nights taking in the rugby. First compliments to the extremely friendly and keen staff. We booked late and the best rooms / suites were booked for weddings, these are a major part of the business here, all weekend a series of young couples came for meetings about weddings but neither this or the weddings going on that weekend (2) affected us at all. We started off in a suite in the basement annexe - room 1. Huge comfy bed and massive space with sitting room - it was a bit annexey and basementy but very good value. We took advantage of the offer to move up to the first floor the second night to the bridal suite, an elegant room with fab views, much nicer. Food was good, fine not outstanding but would happily eat there again and would certainly stay again. 15 minutes in a taxi to Millennium stadium, no problem. Very warm and cosy with both heating and log fires.

Room Tip: Upstairs front if possible, avoid annexe if possible but if no option it's okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5492Cardinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHouseHotel, General Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thank you for your review as we value all feedback from our guests.

Our team pride themselves on their customer service and it's always a pleasure when this is acknowledged.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 668 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel before. It is not your average, run of the mill Best Western hotel. The food is excellent. The staff are great. The breakfast menu is wonderful and the only place I think I have ever stayed where the scrambled eggs on the breakfast buffet are the real thing and cooked perfectly. How do they do that? It is quiet, comfortable, and the towels soft and fluffy. I wish all hotels were like this.
The only downside is that one cannot park close to reception, but the car park is not far away.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauran1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHouseHotel, General Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thank you so much for such a glowing review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoy staying with us and appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

We are always delighted to receive positive feedback and I will ensure that your comments are passed onto the whole team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Lovely friendly, clean, warm hotel, thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Food was gorgeous and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargoLedbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHouseHotel, General Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Thank you for your review and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay.

We pride ourselves on a warm welsh welcome, great food with quality of service and standards that exceed your expectation, and I am pleased to hear that we have done this for you.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I booked an over night stay for my husband and I, (it was a Valentines suprise for my husband)

The staff were so friendly, and worked well together as part of a team, there was a really friendly atmosphere at the hotel. Afternoon tea was lovely by the fire and I am totally besides myself we missed breakfast, I bet that would of been fab too. Very clean, lovely grounds, can't fault our over night stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank tracy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHouseHotel, General Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Thank you for your recent review.

We pride ourselves on a warm Welsh welcome, great food and quality of service, and i am pleased to hear that we have done this for you.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We are a bit late writing this review but feel we have to share our wedding experience at New House HOtel that took place September 9th 2011. From the moment we started to plan our day at the New House the staff were extremly helpful from start to finish. We had family over from Ireland so it was important that we had a nice friendly hotel for our family and friends to stay and we were not dissapointed!

The grounds are beautiful and the hotel has a relaxed comfortable atmosphere. Everyone was impressed with their rooms and breakfast was plentiful. Residence bar was great for the Irish and Welsh to continue the celebrations! The day before the wedding Ollie the manager was present and was very helpful allowing us to arrange the room as we liked!

We were initially worried because we had no control over who the dj was as it came with the package. They were provided by Cardiff fm and we were not dissapointed! I gave them a list of songs and music and they played everything for us. I emailed them a couple weeks before the wedding and gave them a cd of music they didn't have and they played everything. The dance floor was never empty!

We had a BBQ for food and there was more than enough, everybody was well impressed!

Would just like to take this opportunity to say a BIG THANK YOU to all the staff at New HOuse Hotel, we really couldn't have had a better venue for our day. If anyone is thinking about having their wedding here, we would definitely recommend it. Thanks again to Ollie and staff for all their help in preparation and on the day, we will never forget :) Karen and Stephen Doran

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHouseHotel, General Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We take great pride in hosting weddings at the hotel and it's always a pleasure to receive such positive customer feedback.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Wedding and your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel twice. On both occasions I attended wedding receptions at the venue. The grounds are beautiful with distant views of Cardiff and the Bristol channel. For history lovers, there's a lot of history attached to the building and grounds which is documented in a leaflet in the rooms.
Both wedding receptions were lovely. The only drawback was the vegetarian food. At the second wedding, vegetarians had to wait 20 minutes longer than everyone else and when it arrived it was microwaved. Breakfast the following day was a similar story with only egg, beans and toast on offer. Not what you expect for £125 per night!
Despite this, the hotel is comfortable and very clean. Bar prices are high but that's what I've come to expect from hotels that are "out of the way".
There were a couple of people staying at the hotel who complained about noise (not wedding guests) so be warned that although this hotel is beautifully located in a countryside location, there are up to four weddings per weekend at the hotel so it isn't always as tranquil as you might expect. I also heard groans from other guests about the distance from Cardiff. Although the hotel claims to be in Cardiff, it's about 20-50 minutes from the centre, depending on traffic. It's actually closer to Caerphilly so please be aware of this.
All in all, this is a nice hotel and I enjoyed both stays. I might go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amanda-and-friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Town_Country_Hotels, Owner at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.

We pride ourselves on a warm welsh welcome, great food with quality of service and standards that exceed your expectation, however, it seems on this occasion we have fallen short and for this we apologise.

Please be assured that all customer feedback is welcomed and will be acted upon. It is only by receiving comments such as this that we can continue to improve our service to guests.

We do hope this experience will not deter you from visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here overnight on a business trip and it was very nice, the hotel has a lovely traditional country feel and the staff were very pleasant. The rooms are a decent size and I had a great view overlooking the fields with the Cardiff skyline in the distance. My only niggle would be when i ordered a cheese board after dinner there was no caerphilly cheese, I was a bit dissapointed as I am all for supporting local suppliers.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeoneR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Town_Country_Hotels, Owner at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Thank you for your review and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay.

I'll pass your comments regarding the cheese board onto the Chef. We pride ourselves on providing local produce and do this whenever possible.

We hope you visit again when business brings you back to the capital.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,223 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
4.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,890 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
5.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New House Country Hotel

Address: Thornhill Road, Cardiff CF14 9UA, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $122 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New House Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the fringes of Cardiff nestling amongst the Welsh hills, the privately owned 4 star New House Country Hotel & Sequoias Restaurant boasts unrivalled views over the city and beautiful Vale of Glamorgan. The open fires, exquisite furnishings, fully equipped function suites, beautifully restored bedrooms and the stunning Sequoias restaurant combine to create the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your New House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
New House Country Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing