We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Portuguese - if you please...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Almada - CLOSED

Almada
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Almada offers authentic Portuguese cuisine with a menu that changes with the seasons so that we only use the freshest ingredients.We have a free function room which seats up to 40 which is ideal for parties or business meetings where a buffet or sit down meal can be provided.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Portuguese - if you please...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Take an Algarve chef - add in an Instanbul front of House - add in top aide Welsh "I am the owner" and you get a cocktail that ensures you will have a dinner to please anyone and everyone!
We were a group of 18, so a condition was that we pre-selected our menu choices. No problem - these were emailed through a few days before the visit.
Enjoy the Portuguese wines, relish in the Portuguese starters and mains and you will enjoy your evening with Nev and Victor.
Service was swift, food was good and the price was more than fair. Our group would recommend this venue! It is quite a new venture and I am sure that it is one that will succeed - it really deserves to!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    25
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Booked for my birthday on a Saturday. Menu emailed to me as soon as I asked. I had belly pork to start which was lovely followed by the steak which was slightly overdone but great flavour. Only criticism is no veg with mains. Wine was lovely were staff. Thank you!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tigerlilythomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We ate at the Almada last night and feel compelled to write a review.

The food was fantastic! The menu, although it didn't have tonnes to choose from, what it did have was perfectly cooked with authentic flavours. Between the five of us we had a selection of the mains and couldn't resist passing the plates around just so we could have a taste of everything!

The host (I'm sorry, I should have asked for your name!) was brilliant and such good fun.

There is a warm and welcoming atmosphere at the Almada. I will be recommending you to friends and hopefully will be able to visit again.

I'm so glad we came. It was a great find.

We recommend the fish soup and the Portuguese wine!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
332 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, even better than our first visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked here as a group of 11 for a family birthday and everyone enjoyed the food and the friendly atmosphere. The menu as mentioned in other reviews is quite small but all tastes seem catered for , the most outstanding dish was the delicious fish stew the daily special ,I hope it becomes a regular item on the menu. Prices are reasonable especially for the quality of food on offer, wines are also well priced

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beachsiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
749 reviews
443 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Good quality Portuguese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We ate at this restaurent early on Friday evening the restaurent was empty when we arrived but we were made to feel welcome.

The menu is small with around 5 starters and main courses. We had two main courses, pan fried duck with parsnip purée and braised squid with rice, fish stock and squid ink.

The quality of the food was excellent, definitely a quality restaurant that I would recommend to others. The price was reasonable as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilcoxm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almada also viewed

 
Michaelston-y-Fedw, Cardiff
 
Peterston-Super-Ely, Cardiff
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing