We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crispy Duck

The Crispy Duck
Ranked #204 of 1,210 Restaurants in Cardiff
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This restaurant ticks all the boxes for excellent Chineese food. Its a must when visiting Cardiff. Good service and nice atmosphere add to the experience. Went with friends last week and would go back as soon as

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank cardiffb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    71
    19
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not all that”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Visited tonight after hearing lots of positive reviews. We were seated upon arrival then moved a few minutes later to the back of the restaurant. All ok however when the starter arrived it was quite dry. Main course was really nice. Not the worst place but not the best by a long shot either. Didn't live up to the hype but maybe just not a great experience for us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Cherryfizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Went for my son's birthday. Food was delicious - one of the best Chinese that we've ever had. Very friendly staff without being obtrusive. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Mezmomum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Asian food superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Visited the crispy duck again on Saturday. Very welcoming staff and Eric the owner cannot do enough for you. The food was once again terrific , with a choice of Malaysian , Japanese and Chinese. Everything is served at correct temperature and full of the flavours that we enjoy.
I am sure anyone visiting would be very pleased, with the standard of food in this restaurant, my son wants to join us next time as he adores Sushi, while I enjoy Thai food.
All in all a very good experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank georgy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

My friend and I truly enjoyed an evening meal in Crispy Duck Restaurant. We pre-ordered a cooked lobster the day before and it was simply fresh and succulent, and the taste, mouth-watering, finger-licking good!! The price was very reasonable for a high-end restaurant as this. The service was excellent by the young waitress too, who introduced her name as Katie, a radiography student of Cardiff University from Hong Kong. The restaurant is clean and the atmosphere relaxing and comfortable. I have recommended this restaurant to many of my friends who have given me positive feedback too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank JeffreyLuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crispy Duck also viewed

Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 
Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to The Crispy Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing