We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food, excellent service, great relaxed atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fusion Cafe-Bar - CLOSED

Fusion Cafe-Bar
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Spanish, British, Bar, Cafe, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, excellent service, great relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have been here on numerous occasions and never had a bad meal. I last went for Sunday lunch a week ago and cannot fault anything. We had chicken and beef and both were faultless. The meal was made special by the wonderful service that we received. Will definitely be back and have no qualms in saying that this is my favourite Sunday lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caryl t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food, super-nice staff, local produce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I've been here twice. Love it. The staff have been great on both occasions and remembered me when I returned. The tapas-style dishes have a Welsh theme and are tasty. They've really made an effort to provide something local and do something imaginative and for this they charge a fair and reasonable price. If you want a gentle introduction to lava bread, this would be the place to do it, but there are nice lamb dishes as well and plenty of veggie stuff. This is a relaxed café, tucked away but centrally located, great for a meet and chat. They do a pretty good Mojito - if you fancy going down that route and I seem to recall an impressive Long Island Ice Tea (but don't hold me to this - it might have been something similar - I was a bit "kid in a candy store" with their cocktail menu). Whatever it was, it hit the spot, and the cocktail menu is worth exploring - fans of the daquiri will be happy. They are not open late, but midweek they stay open until 8pm (6pm Saturday), so it's a good "warm up" place for more energetic things. There's no shortage of loud, lively bars in Cardiff, but intimate places like this are harder to find.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank metalbucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fortunate to have Found Fusion: Foremost & Favourite, Friendly & Funky venue for Feasts on Fine Foods! Five out of Five!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The best Sunday lunch we’ve had out in many years! Received a very friendly welcome, excellent service and gorgeous home-cooked food. There were 3+ Sunday lunch options, including a veggie one, all very reasonably priced at £7.50 to £9. The chicken breasts we had (at £8 including all the trimmings) were tender & succulent. This lunch came replete with six veggies: roast potatoes, roast parsnips, buttered carrots, broccoli, caramelised red cabbage and cauliflower cheese, plus tasty stuffing & delicious gravy, plus extra gravy if required + mustard etc. An excellent & scrumptious Sunday lunch, with everything cooked to perfection, and a bargain for the price! The other roast dinner options were chicken leg (at only £7.50), roast beef with Yorkshire pud (at £9.00), and a veggie option (priced at about £8). We very much enjoyed a dessert of chocolate & orange mousse with sweet, cinnamon-dipped tortillas - delicious. The chef is obviously very talented. The house wine was quite good and the coffees excellent, and the ambience was very pleasant, relaxing, laid-back & rather ‘alternative’. Will go back again ASAP!! This is likely to become my very favourite Sunday lunch venue!! They also serve interesting & imaginatively-named cocktails. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A fusion of flavours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

What a neat little cafe bar!
We started with the bread and oils with olives. An excellent choice of starters.
We ordered our five tapas of meat balls, mussels, leek and cheese cakes, chicken goujons with dip and lamb with dip along with two glasses of red wine (Groupon Deal). We also ordered a portion of chips.
The tapas dishes were excellent and very filling. The chips were lush, not the usual frozen chips but well thick cut fresh potato chips.
We weren't sure whether we could manage a desert, but what the hell, we went for the carrot cake and Americano coffee. We were not disappointed. The cake was very tasty and the coffee finished the meal off nicely.
We would like to thank Joanne for making us feel comfortable on our first visit and for the excellent customer service. Thank you.
A highly recommended cafe bar. We will be returning in the near future.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best homemade-style Sunday lunch in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is the second time Ive visited Fusion for Sunday lunch and I am very impressed. Its a great place to visit on a Sunday if you want to chill out in relaxing surroundings, have your lunch and then read your papers in the corner on the sofa.

The staff are always attentive and more than happy to cater to any requests (I like my food nuked in the microwave before I eat it and this was done immediately and re-plated). The meat is thickly cut and very moist and tasty, home made Yorkshire puddings are huge and all veg is just like Mums. Cauliflower cheese in a bowl on the side, roasties, thick gravy...the works! You won't go far wrong at Fusion.

Ive not had a meal during the week or on a Saturday afternoon but Ive heard great things. There is a good wine list, something for everyone, or if you're feeling brave a fantastic cocktail menu.

We'll definitely be paying Fusion another visit and would recommend to friends and family for a good quality meal in relaxed surroundings.

Keep it up!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lowri21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fusion Cafe-Bar also viewed

Michaelston-y-Fedw, Cardiff
 
Peterston-Super-Ely, Cardiff
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing