We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joly Good”
Review of Jolyon's at No. 10

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jolyon's at No. 10
Ranked #10 of 47 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Post new year stay. Great clean spacious room and superb bathroom. Quiet and peaceful with City and posh 'burb of Pontcanna on doorstep.
Amazing breakfast - quantity with quality.
Small gripe- no cream to make Irish coffee at bar and no complimentary newspaper ( they offered me this when checking in I didn't ask) as problem with supplier ! so I walked 30 metres to 24 hr garage to get one. Wasn't beyond the capability of member of staff to get either item really. Only little things but that's what matters when staying in a small hotel, which is otherwise excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear are quieter but less grand, rooms at front are above bar/fronting road but posher
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 663 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

I had my hen party in the white room at the hotel on 22nd December 2013 with 30 guests. The room was fabulous and it was fantastic we had our own private area with private bar and DJ. We had a really lovely evening and the staff ( service and bar staff as well as the office staff prior to the event) were fantastic and very attentive. The food was also really lovely and excellent value for money too, I would definitely come back to this venue for any parties or events and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We came here for New Year's Eve and stayed in he drake suite, which was lovely. The bathroom was gorgeous, heated floor! Everything was beautifully clean, home made biscuits lots of lovely little touches. The staff couldn't have been friendlier. Only criticism slightly chaotic breakfast but it was New Year's Day and the quality of the food was excellent. Great start to new year

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smith280645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Having stayed in hotels all over the world we would not hesitate to recommend this wonderfully situated hotel. The rooms are warm and comfortable the service is fantastic and the breakfast amazing. We must add a special note thanking the wonderful staff, especially Tom, Adrian and Samantha who made the whole experience unforgettable.
We doubt anywhere in Cardiff could have matched this hotel for its service and staff.
We will without doubt be back to Cardiff just to stay here again.
Thank you all at Jolyons.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaMItch74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I have just organised a works Christmas Party in Jolyons which was held in the white room.

We organised a buffet menu and had a great time and we were so impressed with how it was all set up - we had a big table laid out with decorations, christmas crackers, a big christmas tree etc and and it was lovely to all sit around the table.

The food was really nice too and everyone commented on how nice it was.

The girl who was working behind that bar for the night was brilliant sorting everything out for us and Carl was fanastic helping us arrange it all.

It was difficult arranging a Christmas party that would suit everyone and I have to say the venue were very accomodating as we chopped and changed what we wanted but I seem to have made a good choice there as everyone is keen to go back and have it there again next year!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Kellylouise543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jolyons, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Kelly Lousie 543

Thank you very much for your review, it was great to host your party at the hotel. I have shared your comments with the team and it would give me great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

My kindest regards,

Carl Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

First discovered this hotel last year when my husband took me there for our anniversary. We have just revisted (for our anniversary again) and had just as wonderful a time as the first visit! Reading review of some people I am BAFFLED. This is A BOUTIQUE hotel. Its meant to be different. All the rooms at Jolyons are decorated differently and they keep it well maintained. So to think you would get the room on the website is a little narrow minded. The lighting is meant to be dark and romantic - again this is part of the Boutique scene. Yes, it is a little dark for the girls and their blusher but the whole experience of staying in one of the rooms is meant to be luxurious and relaxing - and it truly is! A night away from the kids in this hotel is like a week in a spa! The staff are always cheerful and happy to help - I emailed several times before to ask about the menu and received a prompt reply with a menu attached (I can take ages to choose so this was a real bonus!). The food is to DIE for. Location is wonderful. A short stroll and you are in the thick of the shopping but when you are in Jolyons it feels like you are a million miles away. As for parking, the hotel does have limited spaces but it states that you need to book. It must be pretty clear as we have booked parking the on the two visits. But as mentioned, there is LOADS of free on street parking. All in all, it is one of the nicest most friendly Hotels we have ever visited and won't be just staying in December for anniversay/xmas shopping in future. Well done Jolyons, see you around February time!

Room Tip: All the rooms are divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ness67Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jolyons, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Ness67Devon,

thank you very much for such a detailed review I am thrilled to read that you had such and enjoyable time all round at Jolyons No10. I have shared your comments with the team.

I will look forward to welcoming you back in February

Have a lovely New Year

Kind regards,

Carl Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We hired the White Room for a 40th birthday party. The room was a perfect size with enough space for a musician. Bar staff were excellent and very accommodating. Good venue and those that stayed enjoyed the family suite.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Viallia6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jolyons, General Manager at Jolyon's at No. 10, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Viallia6,

Thank you for your recent review I am very please to read that you found our hotel an excellent venue.

Have a lovely New Year,

Kind regards,

Carl Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
#10 of 74 in Cardiff
450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.0 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolyon's at No. 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolyon's at No. 10

Address: 10 Cathedral Road | Pontcanna, Cardiff CF11 9LJ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range: $90 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jolyon's at No. 10 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jolyon's at No.10, the Sister hotel of Jolyon's Boutique Hotel in Cardiff Bay is newly open right in the heart of Cardiff. Whether you’re visiting for a week or a couple of hours, for work or for pleasure, our 21 individually designed lavish rooms, personal service and tastefully created menus are sure to impress.Our furnishings are bespoke, handmade and lovingly restored to create a warm, comfortable and relaxing place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jolyon's at No. 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolyon's At No. 10 Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing