We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”
Review of Jolyon's at No. 10

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jolyon's at No. 10
Ranked #8 of 44 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a bit of a parking issue when we arrived, but it was quickly sorted out by the lady at the front desk and the owner. Parking here is limited, or at least it was when we stayed there, so be sure to state at booking that you will be driving.

Our room was very clean, modern and comfortable. The room definitely had an upscale boutique feel to it. The toiletries that were provided in the bathroom were very nice, and I liked the fact that they were full-size instead of tiny bottles.

Service was excellent. The food we ordered from room service arrived promptly, and everything we ordered was delicious and well-presented. When we needed the sofa bed made up for our daughter, this was also done promptly. At the breakfast the next morning, the servers were friendly and helpful, and the food was quite good. When we were leaving and told the front desk staff that we wanted to see some castles in the area, the owner gave us his personal recommendations of sites that our daughter might like and had the staff write them down for us.

The location is also great. It was a pleasant walk through a park to get to Cardiff Castle and the center of the city. As stated, the only issue with regards to the location is the lack of parking on-site. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamieberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    188
    87
    42
    35
See reviews for
75
291
14
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip with my girlfriend. After reading the reviews expected quite a lot to be honest, but was somewhat let down. On arrival we were told that we could not park in their own car park as it was full up, we explained that we had parked on the main road in the past and had experienced a situation and that we only had a small mini an could tuck it in right of the main door, to which we were told we could not through Health & Safety, yet strangely enough when we were leaving in the same place was parked a small van Mmm! anyway on to the room, which was just okay, quite hot and had some burn marks on the carpet, obviously due to the ridiculous ironing board in the room (please see pics) the bathroom was large enough to have a bath in but only had a large walk in shower, nice but would have prefered to see a bath, but even worse was the view, and not a place you would want to leave the blind up, overlooking a large office block, apart from being a bit hot it was comfy enough, we ate in the restaurant for evening dinner, the food was good and all staff, apart from the Manager were helpful and polite, breakfast was also good and again the staff could not do enough, my nights sleep was not the best, due to the fact I was worrying about our car parked on the main road outside some 200 metres away due to yellow lines, so would I stay again I really dont know?

Room Tip: Make sure you have reserved a parking place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonytony1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A well situated hotel, with easy parking behind in Sophia Gardens (£10 per day or £25 per week)
Easy and quick walk through Bute Gardens into the centre of Cardiff. The bedroom and bathroom were clean, modern and functional. Though I do agree with others comments about the bathroom lighting not being ideal, a light above the mirror/sink would be useful. The staff were friendly, personable and helpful. The breakfast was first class with a good range of choice. Having also had a meal at the hotel, this was also first class in quality and presentation. Would certainly stay here again. Note whilst there are safety catches on the windows, these can be opened wider as the rooms can get hot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had purchased the special 2 nt deal of bed & breakfast in compact double. As there were no vacancies for the dates we wanted, we had to upgrade to deluxe double for an extra £40. First impressions were disappointing - check in is 3pm. We arrived at 5pm but our room was not ready. We were served complimentary drinks in the bar/restaurant whilst we waited. When it was time to go up to our room (after a wait of 1/2 hr), the bar tender came to help/show us up. My husband had to park his car in the hotel carpark but the entry into the carpark is very tight and the button to request staff to open barrier is so far to the right which is very impractical. Furthermore, there were 2 laundry cages stretegically placed at the side of the carpark which made it even more difficult for my husband to manoever his car. The bar tender cum porter just stood at the entrance staring and not volunteering any assistance. My husband came out of the car to try and move the cages himself and it was only then did the bartender cum porter decide to lend a hand. He showed us to our rooms, one for my children, and the other for my husband and me. Incredibly, he asked whose room this was. I said I didn't know - if it was a double bed, then it would be for us; if it was a twin room, then it would be for my children! It turned out to be a twin, so this must be for them I said. The next room he opened also turned out to be a twin room. Oh well, I wasn't going to complain. After he left, we put the beds together. The single beds I must add are the narrowest beds I have ever seen. They are something closer to 2' wide! 10 mins. later, the bartender cum porter knocked on our door and asked us whether we wanted to be moved to a double room. We said yes, of course. The room had a 4-poster bed, was very clean and looked new. However, it was incredibly hot and stuffy. The windows could not be opened wide. We found a small fan which we promptly turned on. In fact the whole corridor along that wing was boiling. The hotel needs to look into the ventilation of that side of the building. My children's room above us was also boiling. We were later shown the next day how to release the catch in the window so that they could be opened wider. The bathrooms were dark. The lights (3 in all) were stretegically placed away from the sink and mirror and the shower area, areas where you need the most light. The approach to the bathroom is very dangerous. You step up onto a platform which is easy enough. But after having used the bathroom, you have to remember to step down as you reach for the door to open it. I almost fell the first couple of times until I got used to this ridiculous feature. The shower was OK except there was no shower enclosure or curtain around the bath, so the floor got wet and one had to be careful not to slip as you gingerly clamber over the bath onto the floor.

There is also another ridiculous feature in the room - there is a small "annexe" where the dressing table and mirror is. There is no light there, so whilst you could make-up there in the morning, you could not use it in the evening if you were planning to go out. It was completely pitch black. The lighting in the room is also ridiculous - 2 bright overhead ceiling spotlights over the 2 pillows and one wall light on the other side. Just not adequate. There are 2 very small semi-circle shelves on either side of the bed with an empty glass on each. Quite perplexed as to what these were for - ornaments? There was a comprehensive tea/coffee making facilities with 2 cups & saucers and 2 mugs, very adequate, so wasn't quite sure what those 2 glasses were meant for.

The room safe was minute, only space to put passports and jewellery, if any. Any laptops or cameras had to be locked into our suitcase. Our childrens room did not have a safe, their bathroom door did not shut properly and their fan was noisy. Lighting in their room and bathroom were also an issue.

Breakfast portions were inconsistent depending on who was on duty. The 1st morning, I was given a cup of coffee and had to ask for a top up, whilst husband and son who had asked for tea were given a pot each. We were only given a tiny jug of milk between the 3 of us and by the time I had my 2nd cup of coffee, there wasn't enough and I couldn't ask for more as the kitchen had closed at 9:30. The second morning, there was a different member of staff. This time I was given my own pot of coffee and a larger jug of milk sufficient for all of us. There was a good selection of cereals and fruit.

Plus points - the wifi internet is free and we had good connection. The staff in the main were polite and friendly and always willing to help apart from the bartender cum porter who needs to show more initiative. Very convenient location - close to city centre, Bute park next door.

Decor of this boutique hotel is, I think, meant to be quirky, with a permanent blue light in the bathroom so that you don't need to turn on the (dim) lights when you visit in the middle of the night. The fake reproduction chairs, purple and pink upholstery, giraffe head in the restaurant etc. just doesnt quite gel together with the other bits of furniture. Everything seems dark and gloomy.

Lots of things are impractical but the main problem for us was the over-bearing heat in the rooms which I think should be addressed. Lots of other guests have commented but seems to be a problem still.

Room Tip: Don't choose rooms 301, 302, 401, 402. as they are very hot and the corridor they open out on to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adeline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We booked one night and decided to upgrade to a suite. It was absolutely great! Fab suite and really friendly staff. It's in a good location too!
Breakfast was amazing! We ordered breakfast for our room which can sometimes be disappointing but this was huge and varied and we didn't even have everything on offer!
If we go back to Cardiff we will, without question, want to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoBaish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights; we were offered an upgrade a few days prior to our arrival for a very good price, which we accepted and weren't disappointed. The staff throughout the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was bright and comfortable. Our only minor comment would be to improve the lighting in the bathroom. Overall a very enjoyable stay; we thoroughly enjoyed breakfast and the hotel's location on the park, which we walked through every day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corallie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked two nights using an Amazon voucher but paid the upgrade for a suite and weren't disappointed. Bedroom and separate living area were beautifully furnished. Extras included kettle, coffee maker, microwave, and well stocked fridge. Room was quiet despite being at the front of the hotel. Breakfast was included and had a great selection including my long time favourite of laverbread and cockles. Staff were all brilliant and the plunge pool and shower were funky and added to the overall vibe. Two minor gripes 1) the Orpington suite has the fan from the kitchens outside the bedroom window so we did get a whiff of cooking if the window was open 2) popping up and downstairs to move the car got a bit wearing

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callcentreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,224 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
#20 of 73 in Cardiff
388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,079 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolyon's at No. 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolyon's at No. 10

Property: Jolyon's at No. 10
Address: 10 Cathedral Road | Pontcanna, Cardiff CF11 9LJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jolyon's at No. 10 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jolyon's at No.10, the Sister hotel of Jolyon's Boutique Hotel in Cardiff Bay is newly open right in the heart of Cardiff. Whether you’re visiting for a week or a couple of hours, for work or for pleasure, our 21 individually designed lavish rooms, personal service and tastefully created menus are sure to impress.Our furnishings are bespoke, handmade and lovingly restored to create a warm, comfortable and relaxing place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Jolyon's at No. 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolyon's At No. 10 Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing