We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still no better”
Review of Kalla Bella - CLOSED

Kalla Bella
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Still no better”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Have been intermittently over the last few years and always left disappointed. Tried again tonight and that feeling remains.

When we arrived only one other table being used, and soon we were theonly ones there. (at 19.30 on a Wednesday). Good welcome but then ignored for 5 minutes. Waiter friendly but inefficient.

My wife had lasagne and salad. When it arrived she had to send the lasagne back to be rewarmed. This was done and then left standing to cool off again while the waiter disappeared.

I had pork with a cider sauce. Pork tender enough but could have been a carvery. No cider taste. Served with mashed potato and standard veg including potato. Why?

Main concern, my wife had small glass of wine, charged for a large glass, I asked for glass of house red, charged for non house at higher price. The bottle of valpolicella insipid and thin and overpriced.

Disappointed again and that feeling of 'rip off'

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Went with family and friends, lovely service, absolutely gorgeous food and fantastic value for money. The tv's in the booths were fab for keeping the kids quiet too. Would definitely recommend and would go again..soon hopefully!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janepetterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“One of our favourites”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Chose this for my birthday meal with the family but it was not appearing in the restaurant listing here. I first went with a group a couple of years ago and have also visited with just my OH. Suitable venue for all of these. Excellent food and efficient service even when really busy. Cosy and relaxed atmosphere with nearby free parking. Advisable to book at weekends

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KnowAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Really friendly local restaurant - always welcoming”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This little Italian has a connecting door to the lovely Wine Bar next door and if the restaurant is full you can eat in there from the same menu. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and treat you like old friends. The wine is excellent and the food too. The staff are happy to accommodate any 'off piste' requirements you have also. It is somewhere I visit regularly both with my partner, friends and with my daughter and grandson at lunchtime. It is particularly nice to take my grandson there - plenty of highchairs and they happily give him a breadstick to eat while waiting for his pasta. It may not be the most sophisticated restaurant around but it makes up for that with everything else - I will be going back again and again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salthewelsjhgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalla Bella also viewed

Michaelston-y-Fedw, Cardiff
Peterston-Super-Ely, Cardiff
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing