We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the wait”

Red Hot World Buffet and Bar
Ranked #898 of 1,246 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Sit down to a tantalising selection of authentic, freshly-made food, selected from a range of the world's most popular cuisines. Red Hot World Buffet Cardiff lets you choose your own eclectic eating experience.In a prime spot at the bustling St David's Shopping Centre, the restaurant is an ideal place to unwind after a spot of retail therapy, or before a game or concert at the world-class Millennium Stadium.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Our experience of red hot buffet started badly and sadly didn't get much better. We had booked a table 2 days before for 7pm. We duly arrived before 7, having given our name's we waited in the bar area with a beer or 2. The minutes passed, and passed, and passed. After 30 mins had passed we enquired as to how much longer we might have to wait for our table, the maître d replied she knew how 'eager' we were to be seated and everything was moving as quickly as possible. We were finally seated 1 hour after the time we had booked! Even given the fact we had much larger appetite than on our arrival and there was a large selection of food available the food could only be described mediocre at best. The highlight for me was the freshly made banana pancakes but even these would not persuade me to venture anywhere near this place again. Ps Also I would not recommend attending in a party of 7 (or admitting to it at least) parties of 6 and 8 arriving after us were seated much quicker than us!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 333caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMRidgway, Manager at Red Hot World Buffet and Bar, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Many thanks for your honest and frank review and we're sorry to read about your dining experience with us. Red Hot World Buffet prides itself on great food and great customer service and it seems that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, I would be grateful if you could please forward your complaint, along with your contact details, to mark@redhotworldbuffet.com. This will enable our General Manager to contact you to discuss your visit. Best wishes, The Red Hot Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    413
    365
    232
    384
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Choice is Yours!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Red Hot World Buffet is situated in the St David's Centre shopping complex in the centre of Cardiff.

It is decorated in a chic red and black. The restaurant was clean, spacious, and we were quickly seated by welcoming staff.

Food selection is zoned by type so for example there is an oriental style, Mexican, Italian, Indian , Sushi etcetera. All the food is hot, varied and appealing. There is also a salad bar. A word of 'warning' though- make sure you leave room for the desserts- scrummy!

We went for lunch which at £8.95 each was certainly value for money. Would we go there again- certainly!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jojo20newport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMRidgway, Manager at Red Hot World Buffet and Bar, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Many Thanks for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and we’ll hopefully see you in one of our restaurants again. Best Wishes, The Red Hot Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food poisoning never attend again”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Attended the buffet in February when visiting Cardiff. Heard good stuff about the restaurant. However after visiting the restaurant my girlfriend fell ill and was diagnosed with food poisoning. The staff took a while to serve us for drinks.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMRidgway, Manager at Red Hot World Buffet and Bar, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Many thanks for your honest and frank review and we're sorry to read about your dining experience with us. Red Hot World Buffet prides itself on great food and great customer service and it seems that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations.
We also take food poisoning allegations very seriously and would urge you to contact us immediately. I would be grateful if you could please forward your complaint, along with your contact details, to mark@redhotworldbuffet.com. This will enable our General Manager to contact you to discuss your visit. Best wishes, The Red Hot Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just annoyed that we have to wait to be seated when we've already reserved our table few days before coming. It's not very nice especially when we're starving heheh, but great food choices :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMRidgway, Manager at Red Hot World Buffet and Bar, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Many Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback. Red Hot World Buffet prides itself on great customer service and food, so we really appreciate your comments and they will be taken into consideration.
We apologise about the waiting time, we have a high number of people attend our restaurant, especially at the weekends, and unfortunately sometimes this incurs a wait even if you have booked in advance.
We hope to see you again, Best Wishes, The Red Hot Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“World buffet”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Went here for lunch with a friend £20 for both of us as we had water to drink. I have never felt so full, there was so much choice that we had to have lots of tasters. The desserts are many and varied and taste delicious. Not gourmet but good fun and cheap.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anniegriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMRidgway, Manager at Red Hot World Buffet and Bar, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Many Thanks for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and we’ll hopefully see you in one of our restaurants again. Best Wishes, The Red Hot Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Hot World Buffet and Bar also viewed

Cardiff, South Wales
 
Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 
Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Red Hot World Buffet and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing