We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HELP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Cardiff Central
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HELP”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

if you are not on a Stag do or a Hen Night avoid this hotel at all costs. with a disco on the ground floor playing till 3.30 am the chance of sleep is remote and then all the youngsters returning to their rooms shouting good night its not a place for the faint hearted. and defo note for pensioners.. . and the staff telling you you should have booked in at an other hotel is no comfort.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank thomo189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    168
    116
    68
    88
See reviews for
113
190
39
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Hotel entrance handy for station etc. Lift very grubby and same applied to carpets in public areas and room. Ours was noisy from machinery (heating/boilers?). Considering city location external noise from pubs etc was minimal and extremely convenient for public transport

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed in this travel lodge many times, however since last staying in June 2013 it has been redecorated, lovely comfortable king size beds, new curtains and carpets, smelt clean and fresh from the moment you walked in. Friendly staff from the second you arrive with quick check in. Stayed her for show at motorpoint arena perfect location not even 5 mins walk to there or shops. Carpark just around the corner and wetherspoons next door. Couldnt ask for more will continue to visit.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank md198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Visit cardiff quiet often for work. Thought of giving it a try especially because of the deal.
The room though clean are very very basic and compact. I know i should have expected that for the price paid but next time would spend a bit more and upgrade for a better hotel.
I guess can be good for people on budget just not for me.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gerag87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

If you want a hotel with easy access to everything in Cardiff This is for you
Millenium Stadium 400 yards
St Davids Shopping Centre 400 yards
CIA Moterpoint Arena 400 yards
Cardiff Castle 300 yards
Railway and Bus Station 100 yards
Cardiff City Stadium and Sophia Gardens Cricket 1 mile

Entrance is off the main thoroughfare - I went on Sunday Night so there was little noise. What it is like on a Friday / Saturday Night I dont know because there are several large late night pubs next to the hotel.

Booking in was easy and quick - on way to the room, however, I had to pass trolleys of dirty bed linen and cleaners being shouted at by the supervisor. The carpets in the corridor either need a deep clean or replacing.
Room was the usual Travelodge fare - clean - tidy and frugal. TV Remote was missing but was replaced in 5 minutes by reception.
As said earlier, despite it closeness to the railway station it was really quiet and I had a good nights sleep.
With a bit of a tidy up this could be a really good hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinDCwmbran_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is the second time that I have stayed here and you can definitely see that they have made improvements in all areas. The room was a very clean, with a comfortable bed. The staff were great. A* gr

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
148 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I've stayed in Travelodges before and have always been reasonably satisfied with the service they offer but this was the first occasion that I'd say that I was a bit disappointed.

We arrived in Cardiff at about lunchtime and were pleased to see that it wasn't far from the train station and the city centre and we went in to see if we could drop our bags off as we wanted to see some of the city before we went to a show that evening but we were told that they didn't offer a luggage facility. This was quite annoying as we then had to drag our bags around with us until check in time which we were incorrectly told that we could check in at 2:30. When we went to check in, it was the same person on the desk as before and he wasn't particularly welcoming although to be fair, there was a queue. We were given a room on the third floor but when we got there we discovered that the room hadn't been cleaned and there was still the wet towels on the bed from the previous guests. I went down to address this matter, leaving my sister upstairs and was given a different room. Obviously this room hadn't been set up for twin occupancy like we had requested so we had to wait for someone to bring the bedding for the extra bed.

The double bed was comfortable but unfortunately the hideaway bed that is used when you book a family room wasn't at all comfortable. Not only that but the smoke alarm seemed to make the odd beep from time-to-time. A combination of this and the uncomfortable bed meant that I did not get ANY sleep that night.

That following morning we asked about luggage storage and were helpfully directed to the tourist information centre by the man working on the desk. Quite why his colleague that was working that previous day couldn't tell us that defeats me?

I gather that the hotel had recentely been refurbished but there was a loose screw in the entrance door and the bathroom door didn't lock.

The room was reasonably priced and was in a great location and it is that that stops me from giving this hotel a lesser mark.

Room Tip: As for a room at the back of the hotel as they don't look onto the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skybird14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
824 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#24 of 73 in Cardiff
905 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Central

Property: Travelodge Cardiff Central
Address: Imperial Gate, St Mary's Street, Cardiff CF10 1FA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Cardiff Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Central Hotel Cardiff
Travel Lodge Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Central Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing