We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Holiday inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed for 1 night at the holiday inn cardiff city centre. Checking in was quick easy and efficient. The desk staff were friendly and polite. Although we were early our room was ready and waiting. The room was large and clean with an enormous bed. The bathroom was a little small but ok. They could use some of the space the huge bed takes up to make the bathrooms bigger. All in all good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Cardiff, and also for taking time to complete you review.

I am so glad that you found everything to your liking and I do hope we have opportunity to welcome you back at some point

kind regards

Richard Platts
General; Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    477
    275
    70
    34
See reviews for
171
369
64
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leimuiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Very small bathroom, no extraction, got very hot and humid very quickly, no mini bar, no toilettes or shower cap for my long hair, and no biscuits.
Furniture did not fit properly very old and needed replacing.
Overall the room didnt live up to the quality of a premier inn.
Location across from Cardiff Castle was excellent, shops close by, and 15 mins walking to the arena.
Breakfast was good nice choice of fruit, cerels, cooked items, and juices including cranberry.
Car park at the side 10 pounds for overnight.
Would I go back, no not for 110 pounds, if cheaper maybe?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiemow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that certain aspects did not meet with your expectations.

I am grateful for your feedback as this allows us the opportunity to review all comments and make changes where appropriate.

Thank you for choosing us to stay with.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangollen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel over three nights whilst attending at the local sports centre. The rooms were very comfy, lovely and warm and the evening meals were very good (however we thought the vegetables could have been cooked for a little bit longer!) The breakfast every morning was excellent with some lovely gizmos for toasting bread and making pancakes, instead of having them brought to you in a rack! Very helpful staff waiting on and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent value for money . . . thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review and for choosing us to stay with for your recent visit to Cardiff.

I am glad you had a great stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back at some point.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Whereas the location of the hotel is great, and I like the view from the 6th floor window, I have to admit that I was quickly disappointed by the fact that I wasn't able to freely access wifi in my room: I've stayed in around 30 hotels in around 15 countries over the past 3 years, and every single one has had free wifi included in the base price; this includes 20€ bed & breakfast hostels, 10€ backpacker dorms as well as a value hotel in the outskirts of Stockholm where primarily truck drivers and construction workers stay—and then a hotel in the center Cardiff charges 5 GBP an hour (or 16 per 24h)! ...I didn't even need to convince the gentlemen at the reception about how ridiculous this is, in fact he said he finds it just as ridiculous!

I think the management of this hotel needs to find more up to date means of increasing the revenue—otherwise they might as well start charging extra for A/C or permission to use the lifts.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 6th floor allow for a moderately obstructed view to a rugby or football match in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your review, and I am glad that you found our location and the hotel in general to your liking.

With regard WiFi it is chargeable at present , however for all our IHG Rewards members it will be come free from the summer onwards, membership is not chargeable and has many other benefits also.

I do hope this will give you peace of mind in this regard when you choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed here so that we had easy access to the city centre for a concert at St David's Hall. It is a perfect location for every aspect of the centre. Car parking is extra but is worth it as after arrival the car is really not needed. Our room was available upon arrival which was great as we were early. It was an executive room and was wonderfully spacious. We had a lovely view from the 6th floor over the River Taff to the countryside beyond the city. The room was lovely and clean and the queen size bed really comfortable. The bathroom was a little careworn but again clean. Although the hotel is on one of the main routes through the city it is very quiet in the bedrooms and the lounges downstairs. We were on b and b rate which for a Thursday night was exceptionally reasonable at £77 with breakfast extra but well worth it.......a lovely hot buffet with good choice plus fresh fruit and anything else you could want. The staff at reception were extremely efficient and friendly. A nice touch was the fact that there were fresh welsh cakes on reception for guests to sample! All in all this is a really good hotel for city centre access and value for money.

Room Tip: The upper floors have lovely far reaching views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your review, and I am so glad you enjoyed your 'Treat' of a stay.

It is lovely to read how well the hotel suited your needs and combined with how the team looked after you that makes a great stay.

Thank you for choosing us and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

kind regards

Richard Platts

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here with a friend for one night on a weekend in February. I've stayed at this hotel before and so when we wanted a base for a night out in Cardiff, it seemed a good choice.

Location-wise, you're right in the heart of the city (2 min walk to St. Mary's Street for bars etc., another 2 mins further to Queen St for shopping) - we arrived at about 4pm on a Saturday and managed to get one of the last spaces in the car park out the back. They aren't the biggest spaces and the camber down to the car park isn't great (not exactly sure how someone had got a Lotus Elise down there!) but it was all fine. Check-in was quick and I was recognised as a Priority Club member by the receptionist, who was pleasant.

We were given a twin room on the 2nd floor - was a good sized room but didn't exactly have the best view in the world (see the photos) but then we were only really using it as a base. The room had a desk, flat screen TV, tea & coffee making facilities, iron (but no ironing board), two chairs & a small coffee table and good sized hanging space. The beds were really comfy and the bedlinen and room itself were all clean, although as others have said the rooms are a bit tired.

The bathroom was a good size too - there was bath with shower overhead and there was plenty of hot water and good water pressure.

We didn't hear any noise from any of the adjacent rooms at all and slept well. We arranged with reception to have a late checkout (til 2pm) but unfortunately, the maid entered our room at about 9 and again at 12 (the deadlock wouldn't work - like I said, the rooms need updating) and this tainted our stay a bit. It's nice that they're rolling out free wifi to Priority Club members but I did get a weak 3G signal in the room.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay (other than the maid!) as it represented really good value for a twin room in a central location and we'd consider using again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLush101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you very much for you review on our hotel following your recent stay. Thank you also for choosing us to stay with for your mini city break.

Your comments are most valuable to assist us in maintaining our high standards, and some of the points you have raised we will certainly look into.

I am glad that the team recognised your IHG Rewards status , and yes shortly the WiFi will be available at no cost to all our members, I was also pleased to note that overall your enjoyed your stay.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this holiday lots of times, whilst the rooms are a little tired and in need of an upgrade, its clean and warm. Bar area and food are nice, staff great.
Perfect location for the city centre and and sports event you are attending

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Dave_B_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
I am very pleased to hear you had a comfy stay with us and found the staff great which is our pride of course.

Thank you for the feedback re the room condition, and you will be pleased to learn that we are continuing with room refurbishments as the year progresses.


Thank you for choosing us to stay with , and I look forward to welcoming you back.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#22 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing