We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
UK
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“An Excellent Stay”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night and found the staff helpful. The room was clean and in good condition however the bathroom was a bit small.
The breakfast was very good. A lot of varieties and tasty.
The hotel is directly opposite Cardiff Castle and within a few walking paces of the town centre. A lot of pubs and restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yash2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Its nice to hear you had an excellent stay and found the staff so helpful.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    495
    287
    73
    36
See reviews for
181
383
64
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nice hotel in the centre of Cardiff, ideal for visiting the cricket stadium and castle. Car park very good. Near the centre of Cardiff for shopping. The room was good with all the normal facilities. We would stay at this hotel again when visiting Cardiff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Cardiff, and I am glad you found all our facilities and location to your liking.

We are situated in a great spot near the cricket ground, just a short stroll through the park, and we hope to see you return next time you attend a match there.

best regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham Uk
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I recently took a friends daughter to Cardiff for a university open day. As the start was early we stayed at the Holiday Inn the night before. There are parking facilities at a very reasonable day rate (£10 for 24 hours). The view from the window of Cardiff castle grounds was lovely.The room was clean and quiet. We were within easy walking distance of a number of restaurants, the university and the shopping center. There was an excellent choice for breakfast and the staff were all helpful and pleasant. At £98 for a twin room I thought this was good value for money and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariacampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Cardiff when visiting the University recently.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, and I do hope we have the pleasure of looking after you again if you have the need to stay in the city.

Best wishes to your daughters friend with her chosen University.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stay at this hotel quite often as work books all my hotels but i can assure i will never return again to this place and will be advising the travel team not to use this hotel any other members of my staff. Normally the service in this hotel is fantastic but the rude nature of the so call night manager has totally put me off. I arrived in the hotel the hotel at around 1145 one night as my train had been delayed getting into cardiff. I hadn't eaten all day so just wanted to get in and have a quick bite to eat before bed. Now this is when all the problems started. When i checked in i asked if i cold get a drink and a sandwich and just relax in the bar before heading up to bed but i was told "No you can't eat or drink in the bar due to the licensing policy and that i need to call down and order via room service" So i done this and just thought that their food and drink at night had to go through a different person. When i pressed the room service button on the phone i ended up speaking to the same man who checked me in. So i decided to order anyway and was told that room service would take around about 45 minutes.This totally shocked me as from what i saw when i checked in it was pretty quite. I then asked if i could order and pick the food and drink up from reception and eat it in the bar again i was told no so i asked if it was brought to my room could i bring it down and again i was quite rudely told No it's against the licensing policy. At this point i couldn't really be bothered to argue so i asked to speak to a manger and the man on the phone informed me he was the night manager and he was in charge of the hotel. I used to work in the licensed trade not so long ago and i find it very hard to believe that the council have imposed a licensing condition of not being able to eat or drink in the hotel bar. The next day on my return to the hotel i went and spoke to another gentleman on the front desk to inquire about this and he seemed genuinely shocked that i couldn't have something to eat in the bar the night previous. We then ended up speaking to the other young lady working with him and they both agreed that i should have been allowed to eat and even said it was a company policy to allow people to have any menu anywhere. They said they would speak to the reception manager about this. It's just a shame that the information the afternoon staff had wasn't passed onto the night staff about an menu.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ukbsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I am so sorry at the way one of my team has acted, and can assure you in no way this is how we wish any of our guests to be treated.

There is no such policy, and I am mystified at the comments made to you, but please have my assurances we will be taking up this matter with all individual(s) concerned, to ensure they are totally aligned with the level of customer service you should expect, and that the rest of our team delivers.

I have sent a personal message via Trip Advisor asking please for you to contact me to assist in rectifying this situation, and to offer my apologies in person.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I think this is probably our 8th visit since 2001 each year we are always amazed at the attractions near the hotel check in was problem free. The first night we used so points for a free night added on to paying guest we never thought about checking out even though we were staying in the same room we later found out we probably should have done. on the system our room were in was showing up as empty you can guess what's coming next indeed it was 0100 when a chap entered our room just checked in don't know who was more surprised the chap who just booked us or the poor sole on reception who booked him in. No real harm done it makes a change from the fire alarm going off a midnight silly o'clock I have a felling I have been overcharged for the room will hopefully get to the bottom of it big thanks to Justin for always being cheerful and of course the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulus1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments, and I was glad to learn that overall you had a good stay with us.

I am concerned naturally about the mix ups and wish to ensure these are now rectified.

I have sent a message to you via Trip Advisor, asking for contact so I may look at these personally for you.

Thank you for your continued custom and I look forward to speaking soon.

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night at this hotel.
Great location, good breakfast, good bar prices. Have to say though the shower was very poor and water came out in various directions.
Car park seemed quite expensive, but again for a city centre is probably about right.
Would I stay again? Yes I would

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rossandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, and I am glad you had a good stay with us.

I am sorry about the water pressure in your shower, I have sent you a message via Tripadvisor, in order to gain some more details to ensure that we have rectified this problem.

I appreciate your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great hotel in the centre of Cardiff, staff are very friendly, rooms are great, only downside is no swimming pool. We stayed here for 2 nights in June 2013, 2 adults 2 under 11 year olds in a family room.

PROS - close to DR WHO exhibition and experience
- close to Cardiff Bay
- friendly staff

CONS - No swimming pool
- Service in the dining room in the evening is very slow

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with us.

Your constructive comments are really appreciated, as we may not get it right every time, and it is important to learn from our guest experiences.

I am glad overall you had a great stay, and I do hope that you visit again soon to this fabulous Capital of Wales.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,079 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,080 reviews
1.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#22 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing