We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff were excellent and breakfast in our B&B deal made this a fantastic stay. Sting like way too many centrally located hotels ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Staff were excellent and breakfast in our B&B deal made this a fantastic stay. Sting like way too many centrally located hotels ”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms and you might be lucky to get a Cardiff castle view (you'll need a room on the 5th or 6th floor... numbers 504-510 or 604-610)

If you get breakfast, it's pretty substantial if you want it. Cooked English, loads of fruit, yoghurt, breads, cereals, cakes and pancakes choices. I was surprised... making it more 4 star on breakfast alone. Fill up you won't need to eat until supper time.


Biggest bugbear by our friends was everyone complaining about WiFi charges. Even computers in the lobby weren't free yet Novotel chain we'd recently stayed in at least put 2 public use PCs in their lobby, free of charge. Not this place.

I pointed out this was not unique to this hotel chain and to seek out travel forums to whinge about this now huge world wide annoyance when rooms aren't cheap; but coffee shops, fast food chains give this WiFi free with a coffee, so why not free with high price B&B rate mid range hotels ?

Yeap Holiday Inn chain is like other high end hotel chains charging extortionate amounts for WiFi. Two friends compare this to charging for showering. With their laptops they consider WiFi a business essential now.


Our room was good, albeit bathroom tiling a little tired but room newly refurbished. Very Welsh accented receptionist staff we're great.

VALUE is only marked higher as we got a good B&B deal.Without a good deal it would a very expensive stay so your expectations might be higher especially to be charged for parking & Wi-Fi. I was just happy breakfast more than made up for things.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OpenmindedAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am glad that the overall value and staff made a great impression.

Of course feedback re the WiFi is helpful, and certainly we shall ensure your comments are communicated during our ongoing review process regarding our WiFi.

Thanks once again for your comments and indeed choosing our hotel to stay in when in Cardiff.

kind regards

Richard

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    484
    278
    71
    35
See reviews for
177
371
64
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for business purposes. The main plus of this hotel is its location, as it's right in the centre. The staff are all helpful, polite and friendly, which is to the hotel's credit, and the place is clean.

That's about as positive as I can get.

Why? Because if I'd paid to stay here, I'd have felt ripped off. My room, although clean and adequate, was no better quality in terms of fixtures and fittings than a Premier Inn. The bathroom was cramped, dated and didn't even have a proper shower over the bath. The water pressure wasn't brilliant, either.

Having to pay for wifi and parking - and premium prices too - is nothing short of criminal for guests who'd already paid Holiday Inn's room rates. There are plenty of hotels of an equivalent finish which offer free parking.

We had dinner in a conference room. We weren't given any choices and the food was largely dry and inspriring. Breakfast was better, though not significantly so.

If I were to be staying in Cardiff for pleasure, I'd save my money and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CinnamonGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about our team.

I am sorry you felt the value was not what it should have been, we always aim to place good value realistic competitive pricing in what ever we do.

Reading your review regarding the dining, the only time we have used a conference room for dinner were for set conference dinners , in which the organisers opted for a set menu choice in advance. My apologies that the quality was not what it should of been for your meal.

I am sorry these aspects left a negative impression, as well as the car park charges, which on checking was largely in line or under our competitors.

Thank you for your comments

Richard

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed with my wife for one night in this hotel and was not disappointed.
The double room was spacious, clean and had all amenities. The hotel itself was very clean. The staff very friendly and the restaurant was excellent, with very attentive but unobtrusive staff.
Situated right next to Cardiff Arms Park, with hte castle across the road, it is in a very convenient location.

Room Tip: If I had one thing to 'moan' about it is that there is no free parking. £10 per day is the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spiritualists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Lovely to read how well the team have come across and provided great service while you were here.

We have a fabulous city and our position is perfect to enjoy it from, I am really glad you enjoyed your time with us and I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards

Richard

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have travelled to Cardiff on business several times and this is my favourite of the hotels I am put in. It's location cannot be beaten right opposite the castle and Bute park where you can take a great walk beside the river. The service at the hotel is always friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and tidy. The buffet breakfast is always good. My main gripe is the cost of the Wifi which is prohibitive (and I do think they could run to a biscuit with the tea and coffee making facilities in teh room ).

Room Tip: I always ask for a room facing the castle as I like the view but a high floor is good so you get les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bullykitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are really glad to be your favourite when visiting Cardiff, I have taken note of your comments and will raise the points as I do with all customer feedback.

Really glad to see how well the team are rated in your review, I shall pass on your kind words.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

kind regards

Richard

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have stayed here twice now, both times we parked easily and were able to check in early. We had a room overlooking the river and stadium ( and car park) which was quite nice but towards the front I'd imagine there could be nice castle views.

Breakfast was a little disorganised but more than adequate fare.

Room was nothing special, but clean and comfortable, perfect for a short break.

Within 5 minutes you have shops, bars, stadium, river, castle and parks- what more could you ask for a location!

Often there are some good deals to be had here, highly recommended if you can get a good deal. If you want a little more luxury I'd look at Park Plaza or Holland House.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manda1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, and indeed choosing to come back and stay with us again.

Customer comments are always valuable in our journey as a team to deliver a great customer experience, and yours will assist us in this process.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Cardiff

kind regards

Richard

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A typical Holiday Inn offering, which we rely on as we use them whenever we can. Clean, comfortable bed (two singles zipped together to give Super King Size!!) and all the usual amenities. My only adverse comment would be that the bar and restaurant were a tad on the cool side on the evening we spent there. Great view over Bute Park and Cardiff Castle from our bedroom window on the 3rd floor facing onto Castle Street. The Millenium Stadium is right behind the Hotel so it is probably noisy on match and gig nights. The breakfast was, as ever, very good with plenty of choice and tea and coffee refreshed by helpful staff. We chose to have the Indian buffet on the evening that we ate there and it was excellent value for 2 courses, including a drink each, at £14.95. Easy to walk to most of the City Centre from this hotel and car parking on site.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us , and post your review on here.

I am glad you had a great stay and the team looked after you so well, coupled with some good value offers, it sounds like you had a good time.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed at the hotel on the weekend of the 1st march for my friends stag weekend. A nice clean well maintained hotel, we never dined at the hotel. But for location and comfort for a good nights sleep (which wasn't much due to the late night partying) perfect for everything Cardiff has to throw at you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cozza76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I am glad that you have recovered from seeing the social highlights of Cardiff to post your review, and it was nice to note you had a good time.

I wish your friend all the best in his upcoming marriage celebrations.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,986 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#22 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing