We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and miss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Gwystre
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Fantastic location and friendly staff. Rooms are fine but it can be noisy - same as in any City centre I guess. Great breakfast with lots of choice and attentive staff. Bar could be more welcoming/cosy - not somewhere you feel you would want to spend an evening socialising but fine for quick drink and meet up with friends etc.. Ideal as a base to explore Cardiff. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bynwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us, reading your comments I am glad to note the staff really looked after you and you enjoyed our fabulous breakfast.

I certainly hope you will contact us again when coming back to this fantastic city.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    501
    288
    76
    38
See reviews for
188
390
64
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

First my room was facing the castle but on a main road, very noisy all night, I asked to be moved and this was done smoothly, second room overlooked car park and Millenium stadium, that night I slept well, but the room was very small and I could barely pass by the end of the bed. The third night was a nightmare, international rugby match which made the bar very busy with non residents and we waited ages for our meal to be served, 2 out of 4 meals arrived followed sometime later by the other 2, the staff were apologetic but this was poor service, that night the hotel was full and noisy all night, people shouting in the corridors from 12-5.30am which kept me and my colleagues awake all night, only to be told there was a large stag and hen party staying!!! I was surprised that the hotel charged extortionate prices for wifi - not even free in bar areas!!
I would stay here again but I know, being an ex resident of Cardiff there are much better hotels with larger rooms, free wifi also within walking distance of the city centre.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazcloud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
I am sorry that your stay was a little disappointing, and that the Rugby Event overshadowed our usual high levels of service.

The team we have on nights supported by SIA trained personnel are briefed to keep a close watch on any guest who may cause disturbance to others, we shall re emphasise this on the back of your comments.

Thank you for your comments,

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here when going to the millenium stadium for a rugby match, literally 5mins walk to stadium, rooms small but clean and tidy, service in the bar was a bit hit and miss though, it was very quiet as Wales had lost the match , asked for a hot chocolate for one of the kids and was told that they didn't do them, however 5 mins later a different person behind the bar was serving them by the bucket loads, I think we just got a lazy girl, but this does reflect badly on the hotel, rest of the staff were great

Room Tip: Corner rooms are biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owenski37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, it is always helpful to get a detailed insight.

We will use your comments in a proactive way to highlight how a small isolated incident can overshadow what is a very good level of attention to detail form a genuine and caring team.

Your kind comment that the rest of the staff were great will of course be passed on too.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The location of the hotel is fantastic. Just outside my window was Cardiff Stadium. Little more than a half a mile down the road is Cardiff Castle, Cardiff University and The National Gallery. Overall I thought it was a very nice hotel with large rooms and comfortable beds. The only thing that I was disappointing with was the lack of free wifi. Much smaller hotels in smaller cities had free wifi at least in the their lobby.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, and for taking time to leave your comments.

I will pass on your comments regarding WiFi, but was please to note that you had a nice stay and liked our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Dreaming about going to Cardiff, we were finally able to fulfill our wish, but had only a certain budget to our disposal, so we booked the Holiday Inn for two nights.

To get from Cardiff International Airport to the hotel we had different options available: Take the train, the bus or a taxi. We decided to take bus X91, which left at 11.34 (The interval is every two hours) in front of Cardiff International Airport to the Central Bus Station. The journey took around 20 minutes, and the cost per person for a single ticket was 3.90 GBP, ca. 5 Euro or 6.25 USD. We walked from the station around fifteen to twenty minutes to the Holiday Inn.

The location of the hotel is excellent. It's opposite the West Gate of Cardiff Castle and Bute Park.
Shopping, Museums, the river cruise/water taxi and the Millennium Stadium are just a short walk away.

We arrived early. Reception wasn't busy, so we could check in immediately. The check in itself was quick and all important features like restaurant / bar location, was explained to us. Still I couldn't help myself thinking, that the receptionist was disinterested and disengaged.

Our room was located on the 5th floor and overlooked the castle and the river Taff.

The room was medium in size with a small wardrobe, a wall mounted flat screen TV with regional channels, a queen sized bed, a small writing desk, chair, a standing lamp and a small coffee table.

There was also an iron and ironing board and tea / coffee making facilities. The color scheme was brown and blue. The room didn't have a mini bar or a safe. The minibar wasn't a big problem, but we were really surprised and slightly taken aback that there was no safe. Security is very important and a safe a necessity. We managed without it.

The comfort of the room, especially the bed, was great. We enjoyed both sitting together on it and watching TV. A good nights rest was guaranteed. It was very difficult to get up.

The room was a bit cramped, but I understand the reason behind it. The building is from the sixties and belonged originally to Trusthouse Forte. It was then a two star property. The hotel has to make the best out of the situation and meant it good by adding more furniture for the guest's comfort.

The work area of the writing desk was compromised by the tea/coffee making facility, taking away around half of the space, so spreading some documents or placing a larger lap top on the desk wouldn't be possible without moving the tea/coffee making facilities. Having used the desk, though, it was comfortable to sit there and work for a bit.

There was also a 24 hours in room dining menu and an extensive wine list, , a city map, a book called "This is Cardiff" and information about the benefits of joining Priority Club, Intercontinental Hotel Group's loyalty program.

The air conditioning was functioning properly and heating up the chilly room after our return quickly.

Traffic noise was clearly audible from our room. Since we aren't light sleepers it wasn't a problem.

The hair dryer was in the drawer of the writing desk.

The bathroom was small with a sink, bath and shower combination and a toilet. The water pressure was excellent. There were no problems with fluctuations in the temperature or that it was either too hot or too cold.
The bathtub was very comfortable, and even I took long baths.
The amenities were by Duke & Lyle and replaced regularly.

House keeping was attentive, never intruding and respecting the "Do not disturb sign".
We had a very positive experience. We left our room for the last time to check out. On our floor we met the maid, greeted her and she asked if we were checking out. We replied yes, not thinking further about it. We were already in the elevator, when the door opened again. The maid had chased after us, because she thought we had forgotten a brochure, which we didn't need any longer. We were impressed about her thoughtfulness.

As Priority Club Gold members we received a voucher for a free local beer called Brain at the Junction Bar, late check out until 2 PM and a free newspaper, which never materialized.

The late check out was granted without quibble.

The voucher was a good idea. Unfortunately we aren't beer drinkers, so we hadn't any use for it.

The first wake up call requested from the disengaged receptionist didn't arrive either. The second via TV arrived on time.

We didn't use the Junction restaurant and bar or Callaghan's sports pub, but had room service twice. Both, quality and value, were good. We had hot chocolate, toast over baked with cheese, a sandwich made from regional ham and cheese and a "Maggie" pizza. Very tasty indeed. We paid for the first meal ca. 21 GBP (ca. 27.30 Euro or 33.60 USD), for the pizza ca. 14 GBP (ca. 18.20 Euro / 22.40 USD) including tray charge.

The hotel has meeting facilities called The Academy, a business center and an ATM.

Another small note: We followed Tripadvisor reviews the months leading up to our stay and read around two weeks before that one of the two elevators didn't work. It was still not repaired when our stay was over. Sometimes it meant waiting and queuing for the elevator. Not a big issue for us.

Our days in Cardiff flew by and soon it was time for the check out. It went smooth and efficient.

My verdict: Considering this is Cardiff and even though there were a few glitches, we would stay here again, based on the excellent location, comfort of the room, good food and excellent housekeeping.

Room Tip: Get a high room with Castle views, highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyers007Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review and for choosing to stay with us.

Your feedback is most appreciated moving forward in helping us continually improve, I was so please to read how helpful the room attendant was with the brochure, that really underlines what a genuinely caring and passionate team we have here.

kind regards

Richard Platts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was meant to stay here with one other person, on arrival we were informed that the hotel was over booked and that we couldn't stay there. I can't comment on the rooms or anything like that. However, we were offered free parking at the hotel and a free taxi ride to where we would be staying for the night. The hotel receptionist was very helpful in assisting us. However, we were upgraded to a 4* hotel, which was very nice, but the fact that we had booked this hotel for where is it situated had annoyed us. We were also annoyed with the fact we had to pay for a very expensive meal in the hotel, whereas, if we had stayed at the holiday inn we would not have had to pay that much, this was purely the reason why we booked the holiday inn, for its location and cheaper food. This made us never want to stay here again unfortunately.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
I am genuinely sorry we were unable to accommodate your due to an issue with our front office system that unusually left us in a situation where we were over booked.

I am glad my team did all they could in dealing with the situation and did their best for you at the time.

My apologies once again,

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

stayed overnight after a day s shopping good centeral location staff very friendly .room was good funiture looked well worn few black spots around tiles in bathroom .breakfast was very good.and would stay again

Room Tip: choose a room at back as no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review and I am glad to note you found the team to be very friendly.

My self and the team look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to this fabulous city.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,136 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#22 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing