We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in a Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Ranked #26 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Inside hotel more attractive than outside of building. Disabled accomodation met our needs. Shower/bath arrangement. Lots of grab rails but no bath seat. Room was good size and very clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Booked for our next trip down (Christmas visit) on arrival back home. Bit out of city but easy to find from A48, visible from road - a blessing after 5 hour drive! Breakfast really good and hearty.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

738 - 744 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

Friendly staff on arrival, but loads of young groups of friends up all night partying, letting off fire extinguishers in corridors. Despite repeated complaints,staff did not remove them even though they said they had issued them a final warning. Close to Cardiff city centre, with good parking. Ideal if you don't like to sleep at night!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophtheloaf72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We've traveled quite a lot over the years and have always liked Premier Inns, but this one didn't quite hit it off with us.
First we stayed there for 4 nights and we're sure the bed linen wasn't changed in that time. Having said that, the beds were comfortable and warm enough.

Despite running out of toiler paper we had to ask for a replacement roll from reception as the room service didn't spot the empty one.
We had an evening meal in the restaurant each night and took a glass of alcohol back to the room each night and after being concerned about returning the empties we were told "Don't worry about that, room service will take them" but they didn't and after 3 nights we had quite a collection.

Previous reviewers have mentioned the haphazard service in the restaurant, and we experienced the same thing, and you'd sit on an empty glass for ages and in the end have to ask for a refill. Yes all the staff are friendly, obliging, polite etc etc, but if you're going to be blind to an empty glass, then why are you serving.

It seems that service delivery is a problem here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tassieNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a great revisit to this hotel reception staff and restaurant and bar staff are always so friendly and welcoming.
The value this time was not so good due to a major sporting event. We have stayed on very good offer prices in the past even over Christmas time a few years ago.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I travel to Cardiff about twice a year and due to the location of this hotel with work I have always stayed here. I find this place suits my needs very well. The staff are very good and always enquire if everything is alright or if they can assist you. I find the food, Breakfast & Evening Meal absolutely perfect. I cant really complain. On my last visit here in October 2013 I had room 525. All the rooms are very similar, spacious and tidy. On this occasion I did find one fault which was hair gel/wax stuck accross the headboard. I left a note for the cleaner in the morning and when I returned that evening it had all been removed. This is not the most stunning place you will ever visit, but if you want a good nights sleep, a hot bath and good food, then this place will fit the bill.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellerclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

When we approached the hotel from the road it looks a little like a block of flats, and not a very well maintained one at that. We are a big fan of Premier Inns, particularly the £29 a night special offers and wanted a couple of nights away at half term.
Despite the outside appearance, this is one of the best we have stayed in. The room was warm, clean and comfortable and the reception staff extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful.
Would recommend. Park and Ride from close by is good as parking charges in the City Centre are extortionate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryecroft11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Left a sign for room keeper not to maintain my room but nevertheless entered and changed bed linen and made bed despite specific instructions not to.

Faulty lamp and kettle.

Paintwork on bath coming off, strands of hair found in the bath.

Heating system made regular and loud banging noises for over an hour when we first turned it on upon arrival (11:30 pm). This was not pleasant when we were trying to sleep after a 3 hour journey from Essex.

Heating system had to be explianed by Maintenance officer who arrived 2 hours later.

Did not realise the hotel is off the M4 motorway and opening windows was not an option due to the noise especially in the afternoon and at night.

Also on the third night a distinct smell of marijuana was present when we opened the window. Do Premier Inn not opperate an effective no smoking policy? Getting some fresh air was impossible and the smell of marijuana unbearable.

Vending machine violently shakes drink and caused my fixxy drink to overflow onto my new suit 2 hours before I was due to attend a wedding.

Had to wait over 10 mins for a 'grab and go' breakfast.

Breakfast very steep (£8) with little option for light eaters (like my wife) so she was forced to choose the all you can eat option.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Khalid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#25 of 74 in Cardiff
596 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
4.3 mi away
No photo provided
0.1 mi away
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
#57 of 74 in Cardiff
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel

Address: Pentwyn Road, Cardiff CF23 7XH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $59 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Cardiff, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff North opens up the whole city for you - from prime business locations to top entertainment and sports venues. On a key bus route, you'll be able to zip off for a great day's shopping and sightseeing. Then take your pick from hundreds of top-notch bars and restaurants. Or get in on the live action at the Motorpoint Arena or Millennium Stadium. Whatever you're up to out and about, our on-site restaurant and comfy rooms will be right here waiting. This hotel has 4 meeting rooms, which can hold up to 150 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Westbound - Exit M4(J29) onto the A48(M). Exit junction signposted Pentwyn and take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is 200 yards on right hand side. Eastbound - Leave M4(J30) take 3rd exit North Pentwyn link road (A4232). Take the A48(M) towards Cardiff and exit at the junction signposted Pentwyn. Take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is about 200 yards on right hand side. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events 6 miles Millennium Stadium Events 6 miles Sports Village 8 miles Cardiff Central Train Station 6 miles Cardiff Airport 16 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Premier Inn
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing