We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit gutted this time round :(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A bit gutted this time round :(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We always aim to stay here every time we visit my family in Cardiff, but this time the stay was really poor. We'd already had a bad day; visiting Cardiff to see my poorly mum, plus we broke down on the motorway! argh! Every room we have ever been given has been spot on. Very clean, cosy and well furnished out... Nothing bad to say about the actual room. The lady on reception was chatty and booked us in quickly. We were placed in the side building rooms (over looking the bar roof, really noisy systems!). Around midnight, we were woken by loud pitter-patting of water. It was raining really heavily, causing water to run directly onto the outside plastic frame of the window. It was surprisingly very loud! We managed to get to sleep - then at 3:15am, the fire alarm went! (VERY annoying, due to the fact this happened the last time we stayed here in Dec!) we were evacuated to the car park, freezing cold. Around half an hour later, we were allowed back - like last time, no reason for the evacuation. A member of staff then told everyone the "fire alarms were faulty" and if we spot a fire "to dial 999". Got back to our room, nearly 4:00am. We were then unable to get back to sleep due to very rowdy kids in near rooms laughing/slamming about. It didn't help that our room was right next to the floor entrance. Slam! Slam! Slam! - we didn't bother ringing or going back down to reception, being that they had just evacuated a whole busy hotel, they probably had enough to deal with! - we just wanted some sleep :( We left to go see mum at 10am. We were hoping to speak to the reception on the way out, but they were very busy (could hear people very unhappy). Didn't want to keep mum waiting for her appointment, so we left. Have sent them an email as, to be honest, feel a bit gutted that we had paid nearly £70 for the room. I really like Premier, always have - but didn't have a good night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshBunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    340
    132
    44
    23
See reviews for
349
278
41
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Really clean rooms great atmosphere in the bar and restaurant area. Staff are really friendly and always happy to help. Hotel is 4 miles from the city centre and there is a bus stop just up the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have needed to stay in Cardiff for a few weeks and found the Premier Inn in Pentwyn (North Cardiff). My first thought were how easy it was to get to. Being only a few minutes drive from J30 of the M4 it was great and I didn't get snarled up in the Crdiff traffic. The staff are courtesous and helpful and the restaurant staff have been very polite and helpful. The rooms are very good and comfortable with everything you need. The restaurant menu has a wide selection and so far every meal I have had has been very good and well priced. Considering this s 3* hotel I think it is very godd, well worth the money and I would be happy to revisit. The only thing lacking is things to do, There is a pool table and that is about it - not much use if you are on your own,. A gym would be an asset. WFI is 1/2 hour free then you need to pay £3 for 24 hours, I think in todays world WiFi shodul be a standard but that is my view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is my second time of staying at this hotel. This time my extended family and I (8 of us) stayed at this hotel over Easter. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. The situation of the hotel was perfect for us as we were visiting my son at Uni and it was only 10 minutes from his student house.

Would recommend this hotel every time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over Easter 2013. The hotel is clean Staff helpful,large car park, Park & ride handy to get into Cardiff for a very cheap day out. Food good. Nothing going on in the area at night.

Room Tip: Requst a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterLANCASHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I use Premier Inn regularly because you always know what you are going to get. Clean and comfortable. This one is situated in a great position to get to many places like the Brecon Beacons and Cardiff centre etc. It has the feel of a large expensive hotel but at what can be an incredibly cheap rate. Cannot fault it!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for Easter with my 8 year old son - the staff were friendly, attentive and helpful both towards my young son and when I sought assistance. Breakfast is good value but bar is dead. There is a swimming pool nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
4.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
3.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Address: Pentwyn Road, Cardiff CF23 7XH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Cardiff, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff North opens up the whole city for you - from prime business locations to top entertainment and sports venues. On a key bus route, you'll be able to zip off for a great day's shopping and sightseeing. Then take your pick from hundreds of top-notch bars and restaurants. Or get in on the live action at the Motorpoint Arena or Millennium Stadium. Whatever you're up to out and about, our on-site restaurant and comfy rooms will be right here waiting. This hotel has 4 meeting rooms, which can hold up to 150 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Westbound - Exit M4(J29) onto the A48(M). Exit junction signposted Pentwyn and take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is 200 yards on right hand side. Eastbound - Leave M4(J30) take 3rd exit North Pentwyn link road (A4232). Take the A48(M) towards Cardiff and exit at the junction signposted Pentwyn. Take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is about 200 yards on right hand side. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events 6 miles Millennium Stadium Events 6 miles Sports Village 8 miles Cardiff Central Train Station 6 miles Cardiff Airport 16 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Premier Inn, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Premier Inn
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing