We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier Inn Cardiff North”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stay at this Premier Inn every 5-6 weeks. The staff are always friendly, the rooms are clean and spacious. Check in is quick. We have stayed at weekends and there is no problem with noisy guests arriving back in the early hours. This is my favourite Premier Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rumpelstiltkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,088)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

842 - 848 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Really good hotel, excellent value, good breakfast, clean rooms. Very nice, spacious restaurant & bar area to eat and relax. Staff very helpful and friendly. Would stay here again, can't fault it for only £29 per night.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiggy2166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here 18th March 2012. After reading some mean comments about his hotel !! we had a fantastic weekend the staff were warm and friendly and couldn't do enough for us all. We have stayed in many premeir inns but this one topped them all with the staff's commitment to please. I'm not sure what standard some people are used to and some just want everything for nothing. you all do a great job and don't let the negative reviews get you down.....keep up the good work jason and his team.
The look of this hotel off the main road does not do this hotel justice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29paula29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was my first stay at this hotel and I will be returning here again in the summer. On arrival is a larger Premier Inn with 6 floors and does look a little worn. Once inside the public areas were very clean with lots of helpful and friendly staff on hand.

Our room was very clean and comfortable with sliding shutters instead of curtains which I loved (no dusty heavy curtains) but they need to lose the awful dated net curtains. The beds, towels and bed linen are such good quality and again very clean. The hotel was very quiet with no disturbances over the 6 nights I was there.

The hotel has ample free parking - with a coded barrier control system. The location is right next to the park and ride facility which costs just £3 per car for parking and return bus travel to and from the city centre.

The only aspect that let the hotel down was an issue with housekeeping in that items were not replenished and on one occasion our room wasn't serviced at all. Again the reception staff quickly dealt with this for us and ensured that we had all we need for the night and said they would let housekeeping know in the morning. The next day, we got a visit from the housekeeping manager to discuss our experience and to ensure it would be rectified.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and will be recommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

still waiting to hear from this hotel after stay october 12. firstly was overcharged had to pay then request refund of diffrence never got, was shown up requarding my meals as needed gluten free and said was ok came to eat they made a big fuss and embarrased me infront off quests. wasnt shown disabled ramp instead whatch me stuggle with wheelchair than i found ramp. my daughter almost fainted with heat and couldnt eat right, i did mention it but never bothered. the beds was hard and room over heated with no disabled shower , it was clean but staff not nice at all. felt so uneasy we need to go bacl cardiff this year hope to try diffrent one or hope they are better so nervous to try again .
also was in family room but no socket covers evan though single bed next to scoket felt uneasy case daughter accidently put finger in , the hotel dont provide the safty covers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drumveiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments. We would like the opportunity to investigate this matter further, please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Have stayed here a number of times and every time it comes up trumps, for a budget hotel. Staff are just so friendly and can't do enough for you. Very accommodating at check in if you want a specific type of room e.g. quiet. Rooms are standard Premier Inn but beds are comfortable and rooms always clean. Restaurant within has a good range of reasonably priced meals together with starters and sweets if desired. Breakfast is the typical Premier Inn deal, but it is all self service so you can have as much as you like. Also a bar and lounge area. It remains our hotel of choice for the Cardiff University run, being particularly convenient for Allensbank House, about 5 mins further down the dual carriageway, and also the Cardiff Park and Ride. The only drawback is that even numbered rooms face the dual carriageway and there is presumably road noise, especially in summer. Ample car parking.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face the car park and are on the quieter side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahO504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is basically a Travelodge - untidy rooms, uncomfortable bed, noisy etc.

Our main issue was that the radiator was banging all night, as if it was expanding due to the heat, but even turning it off ( and being cold) didn't work, so this kept us up most of the night. Add to this drunken people shouting an stumbling about at various points during the night and you have a very poor night's sleep.

We reported this to reception and were told we should have reported the radiator during the night and they would have sent someone to fix it!! - so we would have had to get dressed and wait around whilst they did that - clearly this is an issue they are aware of so fix it then!!!

The only good thing about Premier Inn is the good night's sleep guarantee meaning you can get your money back when they are poor. We have stayed at 4 PI in the last year and have had a refund more often than not and we are not unreasonable, but if we wanted a cheap doss house we would stay at Travelodge because they don't pretend to be anything else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neclemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
599 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
4.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel

Address: Pentwyn Road, Cardiff CF23 7XH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $59 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Cardiff, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff North opens up the whole city for you - from prime business locations to top entertainment and sports venues. On a key bus route, you'll be able to zip off for a great day's shopping and sightseeing. Then take your pick from hundreds of top-notch bars and restaurants. Or get in on the live action at the Motorpoint Arena or Millennium Stadium. Whatever you're up to out and about, our on-site restaurant and comfy rooms will be right here waiting. This hotel has 4 meeting rooms, which can hold up to 150 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Westbound - Exit M4(J29) onto the A48(M). Exit junction signposted Pentwyn and take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is 200 yards on right hand side. Eastbound - Leave M4(J30) take 3rd exit North Pentwyn link road (A4232). Take the A48(M) towards Cardiff and exit at the junction signposted Pentwyn. Take 3rd exit at roundabout. Hotel is about 200 yards on right hand side. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events 6 miles Millennium Stadium Events 6 miles Sports Village 8 miles Cardiff Central Train Station 6 miles Cardiff Airport 16 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Premier Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Premier Inn
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing