We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Plan Cafe

The Plan Cafe
Ranked #217 of 1,215 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One of The Independent's top 50 coffee bars in Britain; fantastic fair trade coffee; organic, vegan, veggie, and gluten-free menu items; excellent breakfasts and lunch.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is my favorite place to eat in Cardiff.

Food is fresh and made on the day. I often ask for something that isn't on the menu and they're very happy to make it. It's a tad on the expensive side, but you get what you pay for.

Quality food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eatingincardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    97
    36
    20
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
332 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“very poor lunchtime snack”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had not been here for quite a while and decided to give it another try for a lunchtime snack, it was a mistake! The food took ages to arrive apparently it was all cooked to order, if it was the order was placed a few days previously as I have rarely seen such sad limp veg and a Broccolli soup of such a horrid grey green colour, would not bother wih this place there are many better cafes in Cardiff centre

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachsiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I visited plan on my own one lunchtime i had a lovely greek salad. Service was efficient and friendly i enjoyed

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing - again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I used to be a fan of this cafe and had the same meal there many times. The last once or twice it hasn't been as good as it used to be and I tried it again today for what will be my last visit. I always order the aubergine and chickpea curry which comes with popodom and chutney. On my last two visits I've had to ask for the popodom and chutney and on one occasion they still didn't turn up. Over time the portion of curry has shrunk so the meal is mainly rice and today it didn't have any flavour, was really bland and watery. I do wonder if there has been a change of owner because the deterioration in both service and food is evident. It used to be very popular, especially round lunchtime, yet at 1.00 today I had my choice of tables both downstairs and up. Tells its own story.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bearey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good independent cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had afternoon tea with scones. Good large pot of tea for two, tasty scones, although the amount of jam served was meagre - we were given more without any fuss though. An excellent alternative to the high street coffee shop chains.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ajk0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plan Cafe also viewed

Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 
Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to The Plan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing