We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different and delicious!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1 Malaysia Cuisine - CLOSED

1 Malaysia Cuisine
Cuisines: Malaysian, Asian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Seating
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Different and delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Four of us went here about a week ago, and non of us had tried Malysian food before. The guy who served us was very friendly, and the food was delicious. The portions were enough to leave us feeling full but not stuffed, and the prices were reasonable.

Will definitely go back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional Malaysian Cuisine and Unique to Cardiff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Went for another lovely meal at 1 Malaysia again last night. High quality and well priced Malaysian cuisine (3 courses and drinks for two <£45). I am a big fan of Malaysian food which I think takes the best bits of Thai with added depth of flavour and subtle heat. The style of cooking is something I would like to see more of in South Wales and I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. To the owners- Keep up the good work this place needs more recognition!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Although never having been to Malaysia have been to other Asian countries so have tasted 'the real thing' before and for a small and reasonable restaurant in Cardiff then I would recommend this place to anyone. The owner was also our waiter and he was very nice, helpful and chatty, which made you feel like a 'regular' and very welcome. Food was very good, plentiful and reasonably priced depending on what you had. Two starters and mains, large wine and soft drink for £36 and a lovely feeling of having had a lovely meal in a lovely little restaurant. Would definitely go back there again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank GowerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Malaysia Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We decided to try this restaurant before a show at the St David's Hall as it was close and the menu looked interesting. We were not disappointed.

A nice friendly greeting when we entered, once seated we were served with humour and good advice on drinks and dishes.

Service was fast and the meals arrived promptly, just what you need when you have a show to go to, but having said that there was no hint of being rushed at any time.

Food was excellent and we will surely visit again.

Menu, more information and photos on their website;

http://www.1malaysiacuisine.co.uk

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WaliserZauberer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice to have a truly asian taste in cardiff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

stumbled across this restaurant whilst shopping around cardiff, the staff were very friendly and recommended some wonderful dishes, namely the beef rendang and the nasi goreng (i think that's how they were spelt). Although i couldn't really pronounce the dishes, the taste was more than enough to make me ask for a takeaway and I'll definitely be going back on my net visit to cardiff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1 Malaysia Cuisine also viewed

Cardiff, South Wales
Michaelston-y-Fedw, Cardiff
 
Peterston-Super-Ely, Cardiff
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing