We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run Down, Dirty”
Review of Ibis Cardiff Gate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ranked #26 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grantham
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Run Down, Dirty”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Well, I stayed here a week whilst working in the local area. The hotel is run down carpet fraying lift not safe in my opinion so best to use the stairs. Generally unclean and not a nice place to be, rooms smelled horrible especially in the bathrooms stayed on the 2floor and the smell from the sink was terrible.
Priced at nearly £50 per night a lot better than this out there and not to the usual standards of Ibis

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonpest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiffgate, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Traveller Simonpest,
I am really deeply sorry that we did not meet your expectations when you recently stayed at Ibis Cardiff Gate. As you can see from many other responses I have given publically our main goal is to provide excellent service experiences and to make sure our guests will return back. I would not wish this to be your lasting memory of Ibis Cardiff Gate and I would like to open a dialogue with you directly. Could you please kindly contact me on daniel.mlcousek@accor.com to discuss your problems further.
When we occasionally get it wrong we always do everything to put it right. I hope that we will succeed in your case.
With all good wishes,
Daniel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    242
    133
    25
    33
See reviews for
112
193
59
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Needing to break our journey to Pembroke from Weymouth we decided to try this hotel. We booked online and found that everything was as we had hoped. Despite it being advertised as a 'budget' hotel we felt that, apart from the scarcity of restaurant facilities, it could give other,bigger hotels a run for their money. The facilities were very good. The room was a very good size and comfortably furnished with the usual tea and coffee facilities. The bed was very comfortable with good, firm pillows. TV was very good. Bathroom was excellent with perfectly adequate toiletries. The breakfast (£7.95) was a good selection of 'all you can eat' both hot and cold. A good selection of most things.
There are a good selection of other eateries at the 'Services' across the road from the hotel.
Required to pay on arrival was new but understandable and did not detract from the overall view that this is an excellent hotel with good service, facilities and access from the M4. If we had not planned a different route for our return journey we would certainly have booked in there again. Thank you Ibis!

Room Tip: All rooms are ground floor so all have a 'Park' view....I.e. Car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuhillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiffgate, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Traveller Tuhillo,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our rooms and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

standard hotel but clean and tidy with comfy beds. straight off the m4 so only 15 mins to Cardiff and competitively priced
also a few small shops and a garage nearby so handy as bar was a bit expensive
all in all a reasonable hotel that meets all your needs

Room Tip: frount ground floor right on car park so maybe a little noise from coming and goings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tosh477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiffgate, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Traveller Tosh477,
Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The hotel is good value for money. However, the cooked breakfast is very poor. The sausages look raw even though cooked, bacon not much better, and the baked beans look liked theyed been out all night

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Helpful?
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiffgate, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Traveller Chipper83,
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this breakfast matter accordingly. Kind regards, Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
2.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
4.5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 74 in Cardiff
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
#56 of 74 in Cardiff
277 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff Gate

Property: Ibis Cardiff Gate
Address: Malthouse Avenue | Cardiff Gate Business Park, Pontprennau, Cardiff CF23 8RA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Cardiff Gate is a budget hotel, located just outside Cardiff city centre. Book the hotel for access to the M4 as well as Cardiff Gate Business Park. The 78 modern guest rooms all have Free Wifi throughout and satellite TV. You can enjoy breakfast or a light meal at Fogg's restaurant or relax with a drink in the friendly bar. There is a meeting room for up to 25 people, and free private outdoor parking available at the hotel. The hotel is perfectly located for Cardiff Gate Business Park, Pentwyn and Pontprennau, and is a 15 minute drive from Cardiff city centre. Cardiff international Airport is 21 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Cardiff Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Gate Hotel Cardiff
Accor Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing