We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis - OK”
Review of Ibis Cardiff Gate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Ibis - OK”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here so close to a client the next morning due to weather. Arrived 10pm ish but was made welcome. Booking in process was simple and quick. Directed to room using the lift. Standard motel type of room with double bed, desk, TV and en-suite. Slightly dated but no complaints. Good night sleep with a simple check out.

Room Tip: Get a room as close to louge area so you get the wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiffgate, Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Ibis Cardiff Gate and I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Kamilla Robak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    234
    132
    25
    33
See reviews for
111
188
58
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FRANCE
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is supposed to have a bar but this is not so. It has been here some time so I do not understand why a bar is still at the 'application' stage. No soft drinks on sale but coffe is readily available.
Breakfast is far too expensive at £7.95 and the cooked food is unacceptable. Better to choose the all-day breakfast at the nearby Toby Inn £3.99 !
Room clean and bed very comfortable. However the TV went down with the snow and until the assistant manager arrived no-one had the inclination to cure the Sky Box reception - or call maintenance. Recompense was a free breakfast but see above for the quality !
The price we obtained well in advance was very good and better than Premier Inn.
The staff, all East European, were very pleasant but there was no sign at all of a hotel manager if problems arose.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor but not at the front since vans back up to the windows at night and leave their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANSICARIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiffgate, Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to comment. We appreciate all feedback. Please accept our apologies and be assured that we are looking into the matter. Kind regards, Kamilla Robak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed one night at the Ibis on business, I was welcomed by a very nice man on reception. I found the room to be warm, and very comfy the shower was brilliant, the bed was perfect I slept very well.
The tea and coffee facilities were good I paid very little considering the high quality.
I would stay again and be happy to reccomend.
I had dinner at the toby carvery over the road very good value and also welcoming with a real fire going and very friendly staff. All in all good trip for a lady on her own felt very safe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehousekeeper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiffgate, Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Ibis Cardiff Gate. I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Kamilla Robak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

For the price this was a good hotel meeting my requirement to stay somewhere local while working in Cardiff.
Car park could do with better signage and lighting on dark wet evenings.
Hotel is clean and the bed was the best I have had in any hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwindonNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiffgate, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear SwindonNigel, thanks for taking the time and leaving your thoughts on here. I am pleased that you found our hotel to be clean and that you had a good night sleep on our comfortable bed. Thank you for your comment regarding lighting on the car park - my maintenance team will have a look into that. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
2.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
4.5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#23 of 73 in Cardiff
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.8 mi away
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
#51 of 73 in Cardiff
269 reviews
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff Gate

Property: Ibis Cardiff Gate
Address: Malthouse Avenue | Cardiff Gate Business Park, Pontprennau, Cardiff CF23 8RA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Cardiff Gate is a budget hotel, located just outside Cardiff city centre. Book the hotel for access to the M4 as well as Cardiff gate Business Park. The 78 modern guest rooms all have Free Wifi throughout and satellite TV. You can enjoy breakfast ora light meal at the Café or relax with a drink in the friendly bar. There is a meeting room for up to 25 people, and free private outdoor parking available at the hotel. The hotel is perfectly located for Cardiff Gate Business Park, Pentwyn and Pontprennau, and is a 15 minute drive from Cardiff city centre. Cardiff international Airport is 21 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ibis Cardiff Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Gate Hotel Cardiff
Accor Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing