We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay and cheap!”
Review of Ibis Cardiff Gate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ranked #26 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for the Olympics period. Very cheap rate, good service and clean rooms. Shower with good pressure and conf bed.


Be careful with car parking as it gets crowed if you go back to the hotel late night. Not recommended if you don't have a car as it is far from city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiffgate, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thanks very much for posting your comments on here. Me and my Team appreciate your kind words, Best Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 590 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed at an Ibis Hotel in France about a year ago and decided to try one in the UK as I was visiting Cardiff. The hotel was quite up to date, was clean and the breakfast although pretty basic wasn't any poorer for that. The room was clean and well laid out, with a good shower area.
During the second evening some younger female guests were quite noisy but maybe this can't be avoided sometimes in a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebird44954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiffgate, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Many thanks for your feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regrds, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cardiffgate, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judithkay32
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cardiffgate, Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Having tried to sleep in a room at this hotel last Saturday night (25th August 2012) and being met with a very loud constant humming noise in our room which drove us insane and having been advised by reception staff to "have a drink of hot chocolate" to help drown out the insane noise, we left at 2.00am in the morning to drive all the way back to Birmingham. No explanation and very little customer service., What a joke. Will never stay there again and would not recommend it to anyone. £89 for the night what a rip off.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezpedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiffgate, Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us at Ibis Cardiff Gate
I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously.
We are looking into the matter, Meanwhile feel free to contact me to discuss this further.
Kind Regards
Faris Thowfeek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colnh2000
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cardiffgate, Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

It is August bank holiday weekend 2012 and we thought it would be nice to go somewhere different for a night, so i hunted around for somewhere that allowed one night stays but also was dog friendly and the Ibis in Cardiff Gate had a night available for £39 that was room only but breakfast could be purchased separately for £7.50 which we didnt have. Also there wasn't any charge for the dog which makes this dog owner very happy.
The hotel had a reasonable sized car park and the lady on reception was very welcoming she asked us if we were ok with a room on the ground floor and once we had paid she gave us the key and off we went to dump our stuff.
The hotel is about 7 miles out of Cardiff centre and i would recommend you use a satnav as it is very easy to get in the wrong lanes or go totally wrong in some places.
The room was spacious no stepping over the dog when trying to move around the room. The rooms interior and furniture was basic and a little out of date but perfectly functional and clean. Bed was a double and had a mattress topper i only spotted this as there wasnt a valance sheet on the bed and i thought this was odd. two pillows on the bed and quite a thin duvet. In the room the was a dressing table, open hanging storage and a draw unit which had the tv on it and the tea making facilities.
The shower room was clean with two smallish towels and a shower mat. There was a wall dispenser for soap in the shower and at the sink and the shower was quite powerfull and would go very hot if you like a really hot shower. My only criticism would be the carpet was quite stained near to the bed and this could be off putting to some people. I probably figured they put you in that sort of room if you have a dog in case they make a mess....must say my dog is very well behaved 99% of the time thank goodness. For a very good price we had a good nights stay at the Ibis and i would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: plenty of rooms in this hotel so i you don't like the one you are given i would say ask for a di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank numee28Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiffgate, Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Cardiff Gate.
Kind regards
Faris Thowfeek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
0.8 mi away
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
#56 of 74 in Cardiff
284 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
4.5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 74 in Cardiff
1,213 reviews
8.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff Gate

Address: Malthouse Avenue | Cardiff Gate Business Park, Pontprennau, Cardiff CF23 8RA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $40 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Cardiff Gate is a budget hotel, located just outside Cardiff city centre. Book the hotel for access to the M4 as well as Cardiff Gate Business Park. The 78 modern guest rooms all have Free Wifi throughout and satellite TV. You can enjoy breakfast or a light meal at Fogg's restaurant or relax with a drink in the friendly bar. There is a meeting room for up to 25 people, and free private outdoor parking available at the hotel. The hotel is perfectly located for Cardiff Gate Business Park, Pentwyn and Pontprennau, and is a 15 minute drive from Cardiff city centre. Cardiff international Airport is 21 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Cardiff Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Gate Hotel Cardiff
Accor Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing