We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay, good & hygenic hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff
Ranked #24 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay, good & hygenic hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

There were four of us staying in two double bed rooms having reserved them the weekend before. Once we were there we paid for our rooms and were informed that check in & out was at 12:00PM midday. We gave our luggage to the hotel who stored them in the staff room free of charge whilst we roamed Cardiff City Centre and later checked in.

The reception is open 24 hours a day and the staff are very helpful and efficient; we forgot some toiletries but after asking reception it was solved right away. The rooms themselves at first seem a little dull and quite plain. We stayed on the top third floor where we got plenty of natural light, the windows open too but there's a wire restriction which means you can't open it all the way.

The bathroom was extremely clean as was the rest of the room. The shower, toilets and sink were spotless and the floors were free from any dirt. The bathroom as a pseudo-wood floor which ensures you don't slip whilst the rest of the room has carpet. The rooms are cleaned everyday and towels replaced; the cleaners are very polite and do their job thoroughly. The air conditioning in the room was very nice and worked both morning and throughout the night.

All in all Ibis was an excellent hotel with superb staff. The only let down was that some nights it was very noisy with a bar full of people nearby. But this is solved by simply closing the window and you can no longer hear any street noise outside. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The top floor has a great view of the City Centre and are the brightest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JmTng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear 'JmTng'. Many thanks for taking your time and leaving your thoughts on here. It is always a pleasure to read positive feedback. I will certainly pass your comments to my Team, who will be delighted to know they did good job. Me and my Team look forward to welcoming you in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    505
    236
    78
    60
See reviews for
133
455
127
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

I stay in ibis hotels regularly and find them to be great value for money and a good place to stay. This hotel is the exception. I had to change rooms as mine was missing a toilet handle. I asked them to take my bag to my new room as I had to get to a meeting and to call me with any issues. They refused to move my bag which meant I had to go find it myself after a long day and were unapologetic about not helping with my request. When asked for an iron was told that it is company policy not to take things to rooms and that should go to the second floor to find it (when dressed in towel). The bathroom is not clean and has not been stocked. Carpets are dirty looking. Hugely unimpressed. Unfortunately am booked in here tomorrow too. Going to rethink booking at these hotels so often.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EmmaJCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear 'EmmaJCole' Thank you very much for your feedback. In the first instance, may I offer my sincere apologies for the poor service you received on this occasion. Please be assured that this is not a true reflection of the high standards upon which Ibis prides itself. I noted your comments and discussed all points with my Team. I appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is my hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

The overall impression of the faculty was poor. My room smelt and was very tired and in need of updating. There was no parking being directed to an NCP car park some distance away. Not good when you have more than one bag and a suit carrier.. Not good enough in the 21st century

Room Tip: Needs serious renovation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear 'Richard H'. Thank you for leaving your comments. I was sorry to learn about the smell in the room and that decor did not meet your expectations. I will pass your comments to our technical team. Regarding car parking, please note that you can always drop your luggage at the receptio, park your car and then come back to check in. We hope that you will visit us in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

An excellent 2 day stopover at great rate. Hotel clean and fresh and rooms comfortable and well maintained. Breakfast perfectly good value for money and there is a Carvery restaurant within a couple of minutes walk from the hotel serving god food at low rates.

Room Tip: Consider obtaining ibis business card which gives 10% off room and all services
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear 'Steven F'. Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad that your stay was enjoyable and I look forward to welcoming you in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

The service was great the staff were second to none the were great the room was fine the location was good the world cup was on so every were i whet there was football and good food the only thing i did not like was the menu




Room Tip: Sleep button on remote for the t.v
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear 'Phil E', very many thanks for your kind words. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Me and my Team look forward to welcoming you in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, room was clean, bed was comfortable. Food in the restaurant was nice. The bar prices were quite expensive but that's to be expected I suppose in a city centre hotel. The hotel was well situated, short walk to the main shopping areas, bars and restaurants and the millennium stadium and Motorpoint arena.
My only criticism is that the Ibis website was a bit misleading regarding parking as it said parking was available but only in small letters that it was not next to hotel and you had to pay so we had to leave our car on an NCP car park down the road for 2 days. Other than that though we enjoyed our stay and will definitely consider this hotel again when we return to Cardiff.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GREEBOBABE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear 'Greebobabe'. Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our Sweet Bed By Ibis comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future, Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff

Property: Ibis Cardiff
Address: Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free WI-FI throughout, a 24 hour reception, the Ibis Cardiff hotel boasts an ideal location in the centre of the capital of Wales. Only 500 m from the railway station and 20 km from the airport, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Cardiff Castle, the shops of Saint Mary Street and the Millennium Stadium. In order to get the best car park rates, please make sure that you come to the reception first (there is a lay-by area where you can leave your car), so that you can do the check in and leave your bags. We will then explain you how to get to the car park we recommend, at £5 for 24 hours, and it's just 3 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Ibis Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Ibis
Ibis Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing