We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, stay in the premier inn! ”
Review of Ibis Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff
Ranked #24 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and it was just average, and I can't help feel that for the same price the neighbouring premier inn would be much better. Our room was non smoking but as soon as you walked in it stank of smoke. The corridors are shabby and there were plates of food on the floor which had not yet been cleaned up. The room was basic but clean, the TV was small and only had a few channels. Neither of us could get the wifi to work at all. Location is good for getting into town or taking the train to the bay. I know you get what you pay for but it was a bit of a let down, and could do with a great deal of modernising.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank IM295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments. I will pass them on to the relevant departments. Please note that we do have 24 hour reception on duty that will be more than happy to assist you should you experience any issues. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Excellent location and staff so nice! You can do everything in a walk distance. It is close to Queen street and Cardiff Castle. The accommodation is clean and comfortable the only thing that is not so good is because I had the train's line view, I mean, I stayed in back side of hotel. The wifi worked well and the front desk it was always already to help.
Another good thing about this hotel is so convenient to shopping, there is a big mall and all Queen street nearby, the central station too.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Hugo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Hugo S, Thank you very much for you kind words. I read your review with great pleasure. I will share it with my Team, who I am sure will be delighted. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future, Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I was attending a conference in Cardiff and had to book my own hotel. My budget was not large but I wanted somewhere central. Ibis is a brand I trust as whether in their native France or anywhere else, one knows what one is going to get. This Ibis was as expected. A comfortable bed and a clean bathroom are I guess my prerequistes and these were fine. The carpet in my room had seen better days and the aircon was a bit patchy, but fortunately the temperature was not too warm. Breakfast was great ; tasty sausages and fresh croissant. WiFi was a downer and useless for anything other than checking email, so I ended up using 3g on my tablet. Why do hotels not see WiFi as a priority these days? All in all a good central location from a reliable brand.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zog666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear 'Zog666', thank you very much for taking you time and telling us about your stay with us. I am happy that you experience met your expectations and I look forward to receiving you in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Standard fare hotel, but in central location for Cardiff City and a short drive from Cardiff Bay.
We didn't have their breakfast as there are plenty of restaurants in the St David's centre opposite.

Pros.
Free wifi (travellodge take note)
Central location
Helpful staff.
Cons. No on site parking but short walk to 24 hour car park .However if you intend to take your car out in that 24 hours you have to buy another ticket.

Room Tip: We took room on ground floor which had road noise when window is open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear 'mikbak', thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to receiving you in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Recently stayed here while visiting Cardiff for a concert at the Motorpoint Arena, you cannot get any closer! Price was really good, the room while fairly basic is perfect, a really great nights sleep will be had. It was quiet despite being a Saturday night and the staff where very helpful. WiFi is free and works, just. That is possibly my only complaint but its a very minor one! Ten mins from Cardiff central station as well so perfect for shopping or a night out.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGP83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for you feedback and kind words. It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments. I will share them with my Team and we all hope to welcome you back in the future, Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

we chose to stay here because the hotel is located directly opposite the motorpoint arena where we were going to see Joe Bonamassa. Whilst there are drawbacks the room was clean and well equipped and good value for £45 a double room. It is also close to city shopping, John Lewis and lots of good restaurants. There is free wifi and breakfast is of acceptable standard for £7.95 each - don't expect posh nosh! The drawbacks are that there is an NCP car park opposite which seemed full all the time, although we had already parked nearby in a multistorey. The room was quite warm and airless overnight (there is aircon) so we had the window open and the traffic was noisy. So, absolutely no complaints as you get what you pay for and it was ideal for our stop over. Please note there are 3 Ibis in Cardiff and this is the Churchill Way one!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleinStaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear 'CoroleinStaunton'. Thank you very much for taking your time and leaving your thoughts on here. I am glad that you found our room clean, well equiped and good value. Please note that we recommend to park in the Pellet Street car park as this is the cheapes option at the moment as only £5 / 24 hours. Please ask reception for direction. We hope to see you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a budget hotel and we try to judge it based on the cost, we paid £67 for a Saturday night on advance booking.
We've stayed at other Ibis hotels and rate them highly......
Apart from the comfortable bed the room we had was very tired. It needs a serious refurb.
We wanted to stay reasonably centrally but as a Saturday night was involved kept off the main drag. Agree with other reviews about the nearby night club, it must be bad if your room overlooks it.
The other noise we had to put up with was the overnight work going on installing new lines etc. for the upgrade to Queens St station. Not fun if you are in a room at the back.
Free internet was hardly worth the price. Only worked occasionally and then at a snails pace.
While it was raining I fancied a beer at the bar, but such a dire selection I could not bring myself to have one.
The rest of our visit to Cardiff was fine. Shame about the hotel.
!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis_the_Barman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear ' Lewis_the_Barman', thank you for your comments. I am happy that you enjoyed our NEW SWEET BED BY IBIS! I was sorry to learn that there were other ascpects that did not meet your expectations. I will pass them onto relevant departments in the hotel. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
4.5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 74 in Cardiff
885 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff

Address: Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $56 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free WI-FI throughout, a 24 hour reception, the Ibis Cardiff hotel boasts an ideal location in the centre of the capital of Wales. Only 500 m from the railway station and 20 km from the airport, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Cardiff Castle, the shops of Saint Mary Street and the Millennium Stadium. In order to get the best car park rates, please make sure that you come to the reception first (there is a lay-by area where you can leave your car), so that you can do the check in and leave your bags. We will then explain you how to get to the car park we recommend, at £5 for 24 hours, and it's just 3 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Ibis
Ibis Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing