We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”
Review of Ibis Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff
Ranked #24 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 11, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank madra2112
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

721 - 727 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Didn't expect too much, given the reasonable room rate. Check in staff were friendly, the hotel seemed clean. A bedside table was broken on our arrival in the room and I was surprised that the chambermaids could have missed this. It was very noisy in our corridor, shouting from a group of lads down the corridor could clearly be heard, but it was the middle of the afternoon and it wasn't the end of the world. However, it was very noisy as people returned through the night, and were in the corridor in the morning.
The main concern was when someone was able to use their key card to access our room when we were fortunately sleeping and decent, and then reception phoned our room and asked for a Mr. someone who wasn't either of our names. Then they came and knocked on our door to check our name, despite having given them the printed confirmation details and both our names at check in. Not great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happybubbles13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear 'happybubbles13'. Thank you for leaving your thoughts on here. I was sorry to learn that your visit with us did not meet your expectations. Thank you for letting me know about your problems. I will speak to the relevant Teams in the hotel to make sure it does not happen again. I hope you will give us a chance and visit us in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank MidWalesReturner
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Though I had pre-paid my stay, I was asked on arrival to hand over my credit card. When I queried this and was given no satisfactory explanation, the manager appeared and showed me a set of booking conditions requiring it. I in turn produced the conditions given when I booked, which showed nothing of the sort. (From other experience this seems the latest scam - producing conditions different from those under which one booked.) Eventually the manager apologised for this time-wasting inconvenience. I then went to my room and washed, only to find there was no towel. The room was generally clean and well sound-proofed, and the bed was comfortable. However, the bathroom had an unpleasant smell (possibly the plastic fittings) and the air-conditioning was noisy..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear 'Andrew L', thank you for taking your time and wrting your review on here. I was sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. Thank you for letting me know about your issues, that I can now pass on to relevant Teams in the hotel, so we can prevent from future occurance . Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
361165
Reviewed July 2, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank jo c
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank vivian_griffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
4.5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff

Address: Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $57 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free WI-FI throughout, a 24 hour reception, the Ibis Cardiff hotel boasts an ideal location in the centre of the capital of Wales. Only 500 m from the railway station and 20 km from the airport, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Cardiff Castle, the shops of Saint Mary Street and the Millennium Stadium. In order to get the best car park rates, please make sure that you come to the reception first (there is a lay-by area where you can leave your car), so that you can do the check in and leave your bags. We will then explain you how to get to the car park we recommend, at £5 for 24 hours, and it's just 3 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Ibis
Ibis Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing