We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central but peaceful”
Review of Ibis Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    524
    248
    81
    63
See reviews for
138
473
132
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Ibis offers a standard package that can be relied on and is very good value for money. If this was a very special occasion, perhaps I would go to the Hilton or Holland House etc in Cardiff. However, when we just need a place to rest the head, you can't fault the Ibis. Consistent service and rooms etc. Always good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear 'Mike S'. Many thanks for your kind words. It is always a plesure to receive positive comments. This will encourage us to work even harder. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed for one night (mid-week). The bed was very comfortable, it was quiet (even though the railway line was 100 yards from our window). Bathroom was immaculately clean and shower cubicle was a decent size. Breakfast was good, plently of choice and good quality. Excellent location for going to a gig at the the CIA (Motorpoint) as it's just round the corner. Would definitely stay there again as we thought it was good value for our money.

Room Tip: We had room 215. Overlooks railway line but that's was fine as oyu can't really hear the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lobstercrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear 'lobstercrumble', thank you for your feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed our NEW SWEET BED BY IBIS and that you liked our FULL BREAKFAST BUFFET!! Me and my Team are delighted that your stay was good and we all look forward to receiving you in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having stayed here once before we thought we would book again as we were going to a concert in Cardiff. Last time we didn't have any complaints but this time we noticed that the standard had gone down hill from the moment we arrived. The reception area looks dull and lacks any atmosphere and when we arrived there was the most dreadful smell. The receptionists did not have English as a first lanaguage and it all seemed very disorganised.
Our room, on the first floor was clean and tidy but the bed was dreadful - they say they have changed their beds - bring back the old ones, could hardly move in the morning the bed was so uncomfortable. On returning from the concert at 2245 the noise in our room from the cafe/bar across the road was deafening - not only could we hear every word of the songs but also every word when they were announcing them. Beware as this goes on until around 2330 on weekdays and well after midnight at weekends. We asked if we could move room but the hotel was full and the person who answered the phone was not in the least bit interested. When we were asked on departure if we had had a nice stay and we said we hadn't all we received in reply was "Oh!". There are plenty of other hotels in Cardiff with equally good locations, stay there instead. We shan't be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the hotel to the Gwdihw Bar/Cafe as it plays very loud music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaysabroad100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for your feedback. I was sorry that you stay did not meet your expectations. I will pass your comments to relevant departments in the hotel to see how we can improve. We hope to see you back and have hassle free stay. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in the ibis for one night only very clean and quite it's a great location right in the centre of town. We could see the trains from our room but could not hear them.we will use the hotel again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol i I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear 'Carol i I', many thanks for your nice words. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
4.5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#24 of 73 in Cardiff
842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff

Property: Ibis Cardiff
Address: Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free WI-FI throughout, a 24 hour reception, the Ibis Cardiff hotel boasts an ideal location in the centre of the capital of Wales. Only 500 m from the railway station and 20 km from the airport, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Cardiff Castle, the shops of Saint Mary Street and the Millennium Stadium. In order to get the best car park rates, please make sure that you come to the reception first (there is a lay-by area where you can leave your car), so that you can do the check in and leave your bags. We will then explain you how to get to the car park we recommend, at £5 for 24 hours, and it's just 3 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Ibis
Ibis Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing