We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Cardiff
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,271)
Filter reviews
1,271 results
Traveler rating
276
563
270
88
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
563
270
88
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmotorpoint arenacity centreroom was cleanrailway linecar parkthe motor point arenaexcellent locationgreat showershort stayqueen streetfew minutes walkexcellent value for moneygood nights sleepdecent sizewould stay againtea and coffeestayed for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
790 - 795 of 1,271 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great location but badly let down by poorly trained staff and lack of management organisation. The hotel public areas lack any atmosphere. The kitchen is undermanned ..." the chef is already preparing six meals ... I'll ask if he can take any further orders!!"....and quality of food is poor.The bar is very poorly stocked and trainee server unable to understand English or Welsh. Housekeeper seemed overworked hence rooms not properly cleaned or stocked.

Room Tip: plenty more better hotels in area.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowling-Greeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking your time and writing your comments here. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. I will address your concerns to the relevant departments. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel was located at a great location, was walking distance from the town, Cardiff Castle, Millennium football stadium, SWALEC cricket ground and even a short taxi trip from Cardiff Bay. With a little walk from the hotel, you have 2 Tesco’s near you & 1 Sainsbury. A great little Thai restaurant called Thai house on the right hand side as you leave the hotel. The hotel has very friendly staff that helps you at any time of the day, the rooms are a standard sized room, with a very clean ensuite. Out of all the days we was here, only once was our room not cleaned, which I was not happy about as the staff even had asked me shall she return in 10 minutes as we was off to visit Cardiff Castle, on our return the room still had not been cleaned. Apart from this little hiccup the room was always tidied and we had new amenities put in our room each day and I did have a good sleep for each of the nights I had stayed here. For the price I would stay here again if I come to visit Cardiff.

Room Tip: Cant say as I had only stayed in 1 room
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iqs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear 'Iqs S'. Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to learn that overall your stay with us was enjoyeable. But I was sorry to hear about the other day that your room has not been serviced. I will pass this comment to my housekeeping Team. Thank you for letting me know. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

stayed for one night bedps very comfortable staff friendly great location breakfast not great but ok pubs in walking distance lots going on every whare in cardiff whent to cardiff city to see bon jovi

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear 'kevin536'. Thanks for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Cardiff was great. I hope to see you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Room is very spacious, bed is soooo comfortable, breakfast was full English and you could have as much as you wanted but it was only just warm, which was a shame because everything else was top notch. We stayed here because we were going to the New Theatre to see a show. The hotel was only a few minutes away from the Theatre and all the night life. I would definately stay here again but probably give breakfast a miss.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear 'lynne b'. Thank you very much for your comments. I am happy that you enjoyed our NEW SWEET BED BY IBIS! But I was sorry to hear that the breakfast did not meet your expectations. I will speak to the Team on duty that day in person. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Chosen as it was very close to the motorpoint arena (or whatever it's called this week) and fulfilled expectations well. Modern, clean, all you need from a budget hotel. If you're bothered by train noise then get a room on the Churchill Way side.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank GazzatheGrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear 'GazzatheGrumpy'. Thank you very much for the time and feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you in the future. Kind Regards, Jacek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews