We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very easy”
Review of Ibis Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very easy”
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We always use an ibis in most cities as we know how clean and friendly the staff are. The rooms are always clean and for the price we pay, you can't go wrong. There is an NCP walking distance and for £5 for 24hrs it's great value. However, there seems to be an issue with the drains in this hotel and the staff know about it. Our room on the first floor really smelt when we first go in there but we thought it might go away after our evening out. No such luck we came back at 10pm and the room stank. So we called reception and told them and within and instant we got out room changed to the lower floor. Unfortunately once we flushed the toilet it started to to smell again. Bit disappointed but for £30 a night it was so cheap that we shut the bathroom door and chose to ignore it. Bit of a shame. I think it just Cardiff that has the problem as we have never had an issue with other Ibis hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neetski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear 'Neetski1', thank you for leaving your thoughts on here. I am happy that you found our hotel to be good value for money. I was sorry to learn about the smell from the drains. I will check this with my maintenance team. Many thanks for this information. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    515
    238
    78
    60
See reviews for
134
461
129
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Excellant receptionist ( Spanish I think ). Room was clean and functional at a good price but as next to the train line with trains thundering past all night it was very impossible to sleep. However, when I complained next morning I was advised that if I book again to ask for a room at the front ( should have told me that before ! ).

Room Tip: Book a room away from the train lines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear 'Sharon d', many thanks for taking the time and writing this review. I am happy that you fount our receptionist to be excellent and rooms to be functional. I am sorry to hear that there was noise from the railway all night. I will double check that as they normally do not run at night - at least never have been until this review. Many thanks for this information. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stopped here for 2 nights to enjoy a pre-Christmas shopping trip to Cardiff.
Welcomed by a very friendly girl on reception who also explained where to park our car. The hotel is a 2 minute walk to the main shopping area and there are plenty of eating/drinking places within walking distance.
We did not encounter any problems with noise and found the bed to be very comfortable. Very limited choice of tv channels but we didn't come here to watch tv. The only problem was in the bathroom where the soap dispenser in the shower was empty. Surely this should be checked daily. This was rectified immediately after we reported to reception.
We had breakfast at the hotel and thought that there was an excellent choice. Of the cooked choice I thought the scrambled egg and bacon had been left out to long, in particular the bacon tasted and looked like it was stewed.
Overall I would definitely stay at an Ibis again based on the value for money alone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear 'Timat22', thank you for taking the time and leaving your feedback on here. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Cardiff Centre hotel and hope that the Christmas shopping went well too. I was happy that you found our Team to be helpful but was sorry to learn that the shower gel was empty on your arrival. Thanks for this comment, I will pass it on to the houskeeping department. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff

Property: Ibis Cardiff
Address: Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free WI-FI throughout, a 24 hour reception, the Ibis Cardiff hotel boasts an ideal location in the centre of the capital of Wales. Only 500 m from the railway station and 20 km from the airport, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Cardiff Castle, the shops of Saint Mary Street and the Millennium Stadium. In order to get the best car park rates, please make sure that you come to the reception first (there is a lay-by area where you can leave your car), so that you can do the check in and leave your bags. We will then explain you how to get to the car park we recommend, at £5 for 24 hours, and it's just 3 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ibis Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Ibis
Ibis Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing