We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No air conditioning.”
Review of Ibis Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Cardiff
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southampton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No air conditioning.”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Booked two rooms for ourselves and friends, liked the location and price, the staff were pleasant and helpful and the rooms were what we expected for the price. Within the on line advert for the hotel it boasts 'All rooms air conditioned' and yes each room had the thermostat and controls on the wall, however, which ever way we tried to adjust the temperature the unit would only blow warm air, both rooms were the same, they were obviously preset. To cool the room down we had to open the window, this meant enduring the constant noise of both the nearby railway and traffic, even then the room was too hot. If you like it hot and a comfortable bed then this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Choose a high room to be able to safely leave a window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supertrooper000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We have passed on your comments to the maintenance department to prevent a re-occurence.
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    524
    248
    81
    63
See reviews for
138
473
133
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar, Europe
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Wanted a bed while dropping son off at Uni.
Fit for purpose and close to shops.
Breakfast ok at £7.50 - just make sure you get your money's worth.
Not well signposted and while they recommend the NCP car park some 300m away, there is no linkage between them. Vehicle access to hotel for dropping bags not very clear.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaGibraltar_Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your review, we recommend the NCP car park on Pellet Street, a 3 minute walk from hte hotel. The rate is at £5 for 24 hours.
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I recently stayed at the Ibis Churchill way when a family member was admitted to hospital in Cardiff. I booked the room the day before over the internet for a rate of £42.00 for the night. Check-in was quick with a friendly receptionist who was most helpful.
The room was clean and functional with a sort of ' pod ' shower room which was great. The bed was comfy and I had a good nights sleep waking a couple of times with noises from outside - trains etc...
All in all I have nothing to complain about, for the price it was brilliant!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honky2nks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Many thanks for your comments, we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Good points: We got a decent price for a 2 night stay over the weekend. It is located within easy walking distance of the city centre, restaurants and bars and is straight across the road from the Cardiff arena. The staff were very friendly throughout our stay and the hotel was clean and tidy.

Less good points: The rear of the hotel directly overlooks a railway line so from early morning to late at night you can regularly hear trains. Unfortunately when we stayed they did repairs to the railway line so we could hear noise overnight as well - not the hotels fault but if you get a room at the rear something to bear in mind! To the side of the hotel there is also a bar that stays open until the early hours of the morning on the Saturday we stayed so if you get a room overlooking the bar expect noise if you stay at weekend. We stayed in room 320 and as walked to our room in the early hours of the morning we could hear music through the emergency exit door at the end of the corridor. Thankfully once in the room we couldn't hear noise but rooms at the end would!

The hotel is the same as every other in the Ibis brand - basic hotels. We wanted somewhere to sleep after a night out visiting friends that was clean, not far to walk to and was a decent price. This hotel met our needs so no complaints from us but if you want a quiet place to stay at weekend with more facilities then you are probably best looking elsewhere.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AggyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, and taking the time to put your thoughts on this website. We have shared your comments with the staff, and taken actions.
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in September 2012 as part of a conference package; came by train.
First: the location is very good - most of central Cardiff is within easy walking distance. I found reception / bar staff pleasant and helpful.
Room: adequate size, comfortable bed, but no drawers or cupboards, and little hanging room - all shelves. Carpet a bit shabby. Hospitality tray poorly stocked and not renewed. Didn't try internet.
Bathroom: generally OK, but conspicuous lack of complimentary toiletries (e.g. soap).
Breakfast a bit pricey at £7.50; buffet fairly limited, but of good quality, especially the cooked items.
Would probably stop here again, but would want to investigate the Premier Inn first.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osipovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thanks for your review, we always value guests' feedback.
We hope to welcome you again for your next visit to Cardiff.
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I booked this hotel as the PremierInn appeared to be fully booked. It is a shame that the PremierInn was not available, as I think that I would have had a more enjoyable and comfortable stay.
There are quite a few problems with this hotel, most notably the toilet flushing only intermittently, the air conditioning not working at night, the bedroom kettle not working and the television Internet/movies not working. The ironing room was pretty disgraceful, with stained ironing boards and only one functional iron.
In addition, the staff - with the exception of a receptionist named Petr - were abrupt and rude. I reported the various problems above to a staff member, and was not given any assistance other than to tell me that WiFi was available. I understand that it can be difficult to solve some issues, but a more attentive attitude and perhaps a suggestion of a solution would have been appreciated. This does not reflect the purported '15 minute' satisfaction guarantee offered by Ibis, but that has been my experience in another Ibis recently.
I find it difficult to report benefits to this hotel, save that it is located close to the Saint David's centre and the pedestrian mall. It is a 10 minute drive from the Harbour area. Potential guests should be aware that the parking is a 5 minute walk away.
I am relieved and happy to say that this will be my final stay at an Ibis Hotel on this vacation and probably my final outside of work arranged journeys.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am sorry to hear you were disappointed on this occasion, and we have taken actions to prevent a re-occurence of the items you mentionned.
Regards,
Remi VR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
4.5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#24 of 73 in Cardiff
842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff

Property: Ibis Cardiff
Address: Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free WI-FI throughout, a 24 hour reception, the Ibis Cardiff hotel boasts an ideal location in the centre of the capital of Wales. Only 500 m from the railway station and 20 km from the airport, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Cardiff Castle, the shops of Saint Mary Street and the Millennium Stadium. In order to get the best car park rates, please make sure that you come to the reception first (there is a lay-by area where you can leave your car), so that you can do the check in and leave your bags. We will then explain you how to get to the car park we recommend, at £5 for 24 hours, and it's just 3 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Ibis
Ibis Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing