We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“1st time”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Never been to a premier inn before
Very surprised much better than a travel lodge in my experience
The person who greeted us was ok but a bit stressed ,the night staff and the following morning staff were very helpfull and frendly
Our room was very clean and welcoming ,tea and coffee ,bath room very clean
The inn is in a great location 10-15 mins walk to centre of cardiff

Room Tip: If you want a good location and a good nights sleep this is the one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    303
    100
    27
    15
See reviews for
292
252
25
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a great weekend in Cardiff, staying at the Premier Inn, Keen Road. Very helpful receptionist, clean room, comfy bed. Ideal walking distance of the city centre 10 mins, and Cardiff Bay 25 mins. Next door is a Brewers Fayre offering breakfast, lunch and dinner. Nice relaxing atmosphere and good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartMMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I were attending a show in Cardiff and wanted somewhere local to stay. We stayed here previously and as it is free parking and we had a perfectly good stay before we decided to stay here again.
Like with other Premier inns I have stayed in the rooms are clean, modern, tidy and comfortable and have the basic things you would need for the night.
When we entered the room we smelt quite a strong smell of paint but left the window open for a bit and it was fine when we got back to the room later that night. It was also hot in our room but they did have a fan which cooled us down. Our room was facing out onto a main road which was a bit noisy with the traffic, It was fine for us as we our heavy sleepers and don't get disturbed but for light sleepers I would recommend asking for a room away from the road.
The staff we came across were friendly and helpful.
This hotel is ideal as parking is free and you can walk to the center in less than 15 minutes and we got a taxi back for only £4.
We didn't eat here but there is a pub/restaurant next door that serves breakfast and meals throughout the day.
We will be returning when staying in Cardiff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chen873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very friendly helpful staff,rooms very comfortable and clean,good pub right next door,breakfast in pub well worth booking when cheching in to hotel.Good location as it`s only about a fifteen mins. walk into Cardiff and taxi back is only £4.60.Will be staying here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megjazzStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Little hard to find but using sat nav and knowing you are looking for a sign into an Industrial estate helps! (Brown signs say Ocean hotel which is the pub next door,). But don't be put off, although not in centre the benefits are good- free parking, quiet rooms, brilliant breakfast in Ocean pub opposing entrance (definitely worth pre-booking advance breakfast rate) and is served till 1100 on weekends and with check-out at midday it means no pressure for families who find earlier check times a pressure. Filled up on large breakfast, kids eat free, and didn't lunch! Rooms are clean and bathrooms fitted well and also clean if sparse. Coffee/tea making facilities and large screen TV mean it is comfortable too. We told them in advance we had two children and they made up the beds in advance (unlike one other national cheap chains!).
Helpful staff and just three mins from Cardiff Bay wide choice of eating places, Families should not miss a visit to the free Museum of Welsh Life, free entry but £3.50 parking, and mainly outdoors, and kids pronounced it best day of the year. just fifteen mins away for hotel. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a really quiet room ask for one that does have a window out on to car park side. We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ascsroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend away in Cardiff, used this hotel as was just outside city but very easy to get into. Never had a bad experience in Premier Inn and again was fantastic. Free car parking was a major plus. We drove in and parked for £5 for 24 hours, loads of parking around too. Hotel was very clean and tidy, like all Premier Inn's. Big comfortable bed and lovely spacious room. View wasn't great but that didn't matter to us as spent little time in hotel itself. Overall a very nice stay and will go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFCBPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This Premier Inn is just in the right location for a long weekend break, excellent place to stay just outside the city. Free Car parking. Taxi's to and from the city centre approx £4:50 each way. You can easily walk there my wife and I did; have a few drinks and taxi back. All the staff very friendly and helpful, room 54 spot on, Bathrooms very good, Bed nice and big and comfortable all round we had no problems at all. The food was very good in the restaurant and the sizes also. A big thanks to all the staff, I hopefully will be back again later this year :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#12 of 73 in Cardiff
2,111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel
Address: Keen Road | East Moors Industrial Estate, Cardiff CF24 5JT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#15 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take time out at the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff City South. Half way between Cardiff Bay and the city centre, with free on-site parking, you'll be well placed to make the most of every minute in the capital. Travel through time and space at the Doctor Who Experience. Lose yourself in the hundreds of shops, bars and restaurants. Catch every second of the action at the Millennium Stadium, SWALEC Stadium and Cardiff City Stadium. Then, whether you've been battling daleks or hunting bargains, relax in our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and comfy beds. Directions: M4(J33) onto A4232, follow signs for city centre. A4234 take sign for Splott, at roundabout take 3rd exit. At 2nd roundabout (magic roundabout) 2nd exit then the 1st right, then 1st right again. Next to Ocean Park Brewers Fayre. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events Millennium Stadium Events Cardiff Castle & Tredegar House Cardiff Central Train Station 1 mile Cardiff Airport 17 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing