We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night when coming to Cardiff for a gig at the Motorpoint Arena. We were made up when we realised how close it was to town, cause we paid less than half price compared to the City Centre PremierInn.
It has been done up recently and it shows. Everywhere was clean and tidy and the room was brilliant. The bed was comfortable and the shower was very good. It is tucked away too, so there was no noise during the night.
The city centre is literally about a 5-10min walk away so was convenient as hell for us. We got the rooms for a song so you can't really complain.
We also had breakfast at the Beefeater next door which was VERY nice with a good selection of foods available (go for the fry up, it is very good).
Would definitely go back there, it is a little gem.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chazzer1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

731 - 737 of 834 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

I did not expect such amazing service from a budget hotel in Britain. Out Guest representative (Steve) was incredibly helpful.
As well, the rooms were furnished and cleaned to a standard much higher most British hotels.
I will DEFIANTLY be staying at Premiere inn again.

Room Tip: Any room in the hotel will be comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hovan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night, booking 2 rooms to see Dr Who exhibition with my wife and 2 children. There was a mixup with the online booking made via the premier inn website when I was charged correctly, then subsequently received an invoice requiring me to pay for 7 breakfasts instead of 4. This had to be sorted out at reception on arrival - even though I had attempted to deal with it via premierinn direct..
The rooms we had were OK, but were on the side of the hotel facing the main road.The room is very noisy with the window open, but fortunately it was not necessary to have it open as the weather was not too hot. Beds were comfortable and bathrooms were clean. Decor, especially bathroom floor is perhaps a little dated, but perfectly acceptable for a budget hotel.
The TV's were both good size plasmas, but had to get replacement batteries for one of the remotes from reception, which was not a big problem.. Breakfast was good, with very good selection. Had dinner there too, which was OK. Only problem was that there were a couple of occasions when customers from the bar had to be ejected for bad behaviour. This was handled very professionally by the staff. There were also some young people loitering just outside the entrance - perhaps this is a favourite place for them to gather. No complaints though about the quality of the food or service at the restaurant..
I would consider staying elsewhere if it wasn't for the fact that we were specifically here for 1 night only and that it was the easiest location for Cardiff Bay (only 1 mile away and free onsite parking). I certainly wouldn't stay here for the ambience though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mugsy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have just returned from a weekend stay at this hotel, we normally stay at the Cardiff City Centre premier inn but a room was not available on the dates i wanted so we stayed at the city centre south as it said it was still walking distance to town. This hotel was extremely clean, however the room was SO hot we were unable to sleep. There is no air conditioning in the rooms or the corridors. We were in room 32 (ground floor) the corridor leading to this room is like walking into an oven. How on earth the staff can work in those temperatures is beyond me, I feel very sorry for them. I did complain the next morning and the young man on the reception was very pleasant and apologised, he did refund our Saturday night stay and offered us to move to the City Centre on Sunday but to be honest it was too much hassle with packing everything up and moving and moving the car etc so we decided to remain in that hotel (mainly as we only paid £19 for Sunday night, which is what I believe the stay was worth).

The location is in walking distance, however, it is a good 15/20 minute walk and not a place I would like to walk back to at night alone or with other women. As I was travelling with my husband and two children the walk was ok as we werent out late at night, but I did feel slightly vulnerable as the location is on an industrial estate. When we stay at the city centre premier inn my husband often goes back to the hotel with the kids when he/they get fed up with shopping and leaves me in town but none of us wanted to do that with the location and distance to the city centre south hotel. The bay is in walking distance but we didnt walk, we drove our car, when driving there i'm unsure how anyone would walk as the roads looked a little dangerous. On return to the hotel from the bay we took the wrong road and ended up in Bute Street which is not somewhere I would like to walk with my family day or night.

The restaurant looks a bit tired and in need of updating, we had breakfast after the first night and it was OK, but the table felt sticky and there was alot of mess on the floor (old napkins and lots of crumbs and butter rappers) the cleanliness was not the usual standard. We went for breakfast at 8.45am on a Sunday morning which is quite early, however, the restaurant should be clean at all times, it didnt inspire us to want to stay and have a leasurely sunday morning breakfast as we would have liked.

Overall, the good thing about this hotel was free parking, not too bad a location if you use your car or a taxi after dark, the room was spotless, the staff very friendly. Would we stay there again? yes if it was an offer for £19 or £29 but not £79 which is the fee for Saturday night we stayed. If you are going on business yes, but not for pleasure, too far to carry shopping bags and too far for kids to walk, and too far to walk if it is raining.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tud11209011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The room was what we’ve come to expect from a Premier inn, so we were happy. The one exception was the new large TV, better than we’ve had previously in other locations.

Easy walk both into the city and to the bay, both less than 30 minutes so fine for us. If you’re after a hotel with stuff on the doorstep this probably isn’t for you though. We liked the free parking too.

There were a couple of negative points. We were woken up during the night on Saturday night, as it seemed to be a popular location for stag and hen do’s (although no issues with the good night guarantee). The staff also seemed less helpful than we’ve come to expect. These are only negatives as we’ve had some really good stays in premier inns so have high expectations.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank C4rla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed for £66 for 1 night in a double room, with more than adequate, varied buffet breakfast.
2 fans supplied to help circulate the stagnant air as window could only partially open on ground floor with no air con. Very comfy bed and strong shower and quiet room away at end of long corridor. No real complaints as everything worked. Costs only £8.25 for breakfast for non resident guest. Plenty of free parking and only 1.6 miles from Cardiff Bay area. The room was too small to have 2 children's single beds.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just spent 4 nights here; first time in Prem. Inn. Stayed in family room (2 adults, 1 child). Very clean, modern room with large flatscreen, hairdryer and fan provided. The fan was essential, these rooms can get very hot- the thermometer in the room hovered between 24 and 25 deg.c. in the day. We had the window open all the time which also helped- but beware there is a lot of traffic noise if you are roadside, which we were. I've still given 4 out of 5 because in the end they were little things- we still slept well- the beds are comfy with extra pillows provided in the room if needed. The room was cleaned every day and fresh towels provided if needed (we had more than enough). At breakfast (half 6 to half10 during our stay) there was a very good selection; yoghurt, fruit, cereals, croissant aswell as good quality cooked options, all regularly replenished. The staff in the hotel and Brewers Fayre were all friendly and helpful. Location is not the best- perhaps better if you come in a car- however reception more than happy to phone for taxis. Mermaid Quay about 20-25 mins walk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavender05blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel

Address: Keen Road | East Moors Industrial Estate, Cardiff CF24 5JT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#15 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $59 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take time out at the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff City South. Half way between Cardiff Bay and the city centre, with free on-site parking, you'll be well placed to make the most of every minute in the capital. Travel through time and space at the Doctor Who Experience. Lose yourself in the hundreds of shops, bars and restaurants. Catch every second of the action at the Millennium Stadium, SWALEC Stadium and Cardiff City Stadium. Then, whether you've been battling daleks or hunting bargains, relax in our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and comfy beds. Directions: M4(J33) onto A4232, follow signs for city centre. A4234 take sign for Splott, at roundabout take 3rd exit. At 2nd roundabout (magic roundabout) 2nd exit then the 1st right, then 1st right again. Next to Ocean Park Brewers Fayre. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events Millennium Stadium Events Cardiff Castle & Tredegar House Cardiff Central Train Station 1 mile Cardiff Airport 17 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing