We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice appartement but terrible chech-in” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Space in the City @ Quayside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Space in the City @ Quayside
Certificate of Excellence
oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice appartement but terrible chech-in”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

My taxi driver did not find the entrance because there is no street number on the address.

I came to a closed door with no information what so ever on how to access my prepaid appartement. No reception, no information - just nothing!

I managed to find a telephone number in my papers, and there was an auto-reply telling me that the service was closed, and there was a emergency number I could call.

I finally reached through to a call centre. They said I had to go to a restaurant and get the key. They could not tell me where that restaurant was! It was late sunday nigjt, raining, and I was carrying heavy luggage and had no key. They were unwilling to give me a description of how to get to the restaurant. When I asked how this procedure would run normally, they simply said "I should have got an information package". When I asked about directions they did not manage, although I asked if they could check on google maps.

When I got home I found this information package in my spam filter. The same happened to my colleagues who arrived the next morning.

I was surprised about the unwillingness to help me out in a difficult situation that they had put me in. They also caused me quite a bit extra on my telephone bill.

Had to walk around in the area with my luggate and ask people on the street to guide med to the restaurant which had the key.

The rest of the stay was OK, but of course it took quite a while to accept this unfortunate check-in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank ragnhildOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Space i, General Manager at A Space in the City @ Quayside, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We are disappointed that you had a poor experience when checking into your accommodation. I have emailed you privately on this matter if you wish to discuss this further. We do contact customers after you have made your booking and prior to arrival to confirm your arrival time and to check you have received your confirmation email with check-in instructions.

If you would like to speak with me directly to discuss your experience further please reply to my email and I will call you at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    59
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
54
89
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay in number 16. Location is brilliant - opposite the Millennium centre with plenty of bars, restaurants and a cinema on your doorstep, and handy bus links to the city centre. Check in was straightforward and friendly with someone meeting us at the apartment within 10 minutes when we called to say we'd arrived. Apartment was lovely - warm, clean and comfortable with everything you'd need - I've stayed at apartments before which don't provide things like washing up liquid and toilet roll so it was great to have these things provided. There's a Sainsbury's at the bottom of the building which was really handy for supplies. The only downside is the parking - however there is a secure public car park just 5 minutes walk away and at £10 for 24 hours it's pretty good value and we didn't begrudge paying it to stay in such a great location. Would stay here again without hesitation!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed 2 nights. It was simply everything I could have wanted for a stay in the Bay (and that rhymes !!).

Couldn't be more convenient, excellent facility, very comfortable and great value. The team who took the booking and met me on reception were very helpful and prompt. I couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank martin3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nice apartment, always good to have a bit more freedom in an apartment rather than a hotel room.
Helpful friendly staff available via phone.
Very close to the theatre and walking distance to centre of Cardiff. Plenty of restaurants on doorstep in Cardiff bay
No reception area
Parking a short walk away but reasonably priced

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed in this serviced apartment with my wife and our little princesses..
The apartment is superb, you feel the luxury of a 5 star hotel,, and the intimacy of your own home.
The neighborhood is amazing; quiet but with tens of activities to indulge yourself in: cinema, theater, mini markets, local shops, cafes, restaurants, fastfood... and lots more..
The staff were very cooperative and helpful (and multi-linguist) .. communications with management were easy.. and they respond promptly..

"THE BEST EXPERIENCE EVER"

Majid

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Majid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Space i, General Manager at A Space in the City @ Quayside, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Majid,

Thank you for your review, we are very happy to hear to you and your family enjoyed your time in Cardiff and found the accommodation suitable for your needs.

We do hope that you return to Cardiff again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

A comfortable and enjoyable stay in a fantastic location. A well equipped apartment with everything you will need for a short stay in Cardiff. The apartments are located in the centre of Cardiff Bay so amenities and shops are very close by. I would definietely recommend this!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mittzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Myself my wife and daughter spent a long weekend in Cardiff at A Space in The City whilst visiting our son who is at university here.

We booked it in preference to a hotel as we wanted the space and the freedom of an apartment whilst still being in the heart of the city. This meant that not only were we able to save money by self catering but we were also able to treat our son to an evening in a fresh clean bed (as opposed to the tip that his room at halls had become!) but my wife was also able to wash all his clothes for him!

The apartment is centred right in the heart of the Cardiff Bay so we were surrounded by restaurants and being directly above a small Sainsburys meant stocking up was a cinch.

The apartment is done to a very contemporary standard and was spotless when we arrived. Despite being on a busy road the double glazing filters out the worst noise. The bathrooms had perfect showers/baths with plenty of power and hot water.

Only slight minus point was that it was a bit difficult to find as there was no obvious sign on what is a small door to the side of Sainsburys and the sat nav takes you to the other side if the square. That said a quick phone call to the staff soon had us there. Only other point is that parking is only available at the nearby multistories so your costs start racking up a bit,

All in all though a near perfect base for visiting Cardiff, which I felt was better value than some cheaper hotels. Would definitely consider staring again.

P.s as a keen cook the kitchen utensils were a bit basic. Could have done with slightly more up market pots and pans. But that's just me being picky

Room Tip: Try and book facing the Millennium Centre which looks impressive especially at night and might be sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Space in the City @ Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Space in the City @ Quayside

Property: A Space in the City @ Quayside
Address: Bute Street, Cardiff CF10 5AN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — A Space in the City @ Quayside 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quayside apartments in Mermaid Quay are situated in the heart of Cardiff Bay. Only 50 meters from the Wales Millennium Centre and 100 meters from the bars and restaurants in the Marina. The location is perfect for those looking to take in an Opera or theatre production or simply looking for an ideal base to explore Cardiff Bay and the City Centre.No on site parking is available however nearby parking is available at the APOCA Pier Head Street car park which charges £10 per 24hrs or £14 for Friday and Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A Space in the City @ Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Space In The City @ Quayside Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing