We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Space in the City @ Quayside
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 nights. The apartments are in an amazing location directly opposite the Millenium Centre, they are also an easy 25 minute walk to the city centre. The apartment offered all you could need for a self-catering holiday. Our apartment was very spacious and gave us plenty of room for three people.There is a Sainbury's express directly below the apartments and the area is alive with great restaurants and bars. Our only complaint is lack of parking with these units. We parked in the Mermaid Quays pay-n-display which cost 20 pounds per 24 hour period adding on a further 80 pounds to our stay.
We also had issues with collecting our keys from Chiquitas restaurant at the red dragon centre BUT this was due to the waitress being unsure/disinterested.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huntersnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Space i, General Manager at A Space in the City @ Quayside, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed the apartment.

Regarding parking, we always recommend both in our booking confirmation emails and through responses on this and other review sites that the APOCA Pier Head street car park is the cheapest multi-story public car park at £10 for 24hrs.

Alternatively the are limited surface street parking on Bute Street and Bute Crescent which is pay and display between 8am and 6pm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 244 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in the studio apartment in early October and found it to be ideally situated close to everything with a bus stop virtually outside with buses every 10 minutes to the city. The accommodation was modern clean and quiet and just what we wanted and we will use again. The only criticism we had was the lack of crockery eg 1 cereal bowl and no dish to use in the oven. Otherwise a great stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing in to the courtyard are quieter but probably out of season it isn't a problem anywa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Space i, General Manager at A Space in the City @ Quayside, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Margaret, thank you for your comments.

Just to let you know that you shouldn't have found just one cereal bowl and we have replaced the missing items since your visit. The same is true for the oven tray.

Our team are located only half a mile away at our head office so if there are any issues with your apartment or you have a query about the local area and nearby attractions please let us know as we are happy to help and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in the apartment whilst taking in three operas at the millenium centre opposite. The flat was very well kitted out with everything you could need and it was clean and a quiet location. All in all we couldn't fault anything and will be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MaxP565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Spent 2 nights here in early October. Apartments are very well situated, opposite the Millennium Centre and very handy for the bars and restaurants of the Bay.
Rooms are smaller than expected but were well furnished and very clean.
Arriving out of hours we picked up the room key from the Chiquita restaurant outside the Red Dragon centre, this was all very efficiently handled via email beforehand.
One caveat was the rooms were very hot and stuffy in the night, with no air conditioning I had difficulty sleeping.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kacer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Myself and a group of friends used the apartments as a base for a weekend competing in Tough Mudder (an adventure challenge in the Brecon Beacons). The apartments were fantastic, very clean and comfortable, they had everything that we needed right down to a dishwasher! The view from our balcony was amazing, all the way across Cardiff Bay.

The proximity to the local shops and restaurants could not have been better, and yet there was very little noise at night.

The only thing it didn't have was allocated parking, we were however only a two minute walk from the nearest pay and display, which only cost £12 for 2 days, not too bad we didn't think. It would be really handy if they included directions from this car park tho as we did struggle initially to find the apartments, but the lady on the phone was very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Space i, General Manager at A Space in the City @ Quayside, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Hi James, thanks for your review,

We hope you enjoyed the Tough Mudder event!

Just to let you know that following your and a few other guest comments out car parking and finding the apartment complex from the car park we will be updating our confirmation emails to explain this in more detail.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The apartment was modern, and in pristine condition. It's got everything you need, TV, Wi-Fi, kettle, fridge, cutlery, dishes, glasses, washing machine, oven and a microwave! Great location for the bay and local shops and bars and the train station is a 2 minute walk to hop on to the centre of Cardiff. The journey takes less than 5 minutes! Parking is the only tricky thing but there is an overnight Car Park nearby costing £12 for two days. Walk is about 5 minutes. Overall
great apartment and right opposite the Millennium Centre so definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lefish00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is the second time I`ve stayed in these excellently equipped apartments with A Space in the City in Cardiff. Beats the mundane hotel stay, with a home from home feel. I`ll stay nowhere else in Cardiff, so if on a small break, or on a business trip, these apartments are highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Space i, General Manager at A Space in the City @ Quayside, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thanks Darren for your review and kind comments !

We're glad you agree that staying in a serviced apartment beats staying in a hotel.

We all hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Cardiff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.3 mi away
A Space in the City - Century Wharf
0.9 mi away
Ty Rosa B&B
Ty Rosa B&B
#3 of 47 in Cardiff
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road
0.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 74 in Cardiff
3,392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Space in the City @ Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Space in the City @ Quayside

Address: Bute Street, Cardiff CF10 5AN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Cardiff
Price Range: $88 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Space in the City @ Quayside 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quayside apartments in Mermaid Quay are situated in the heart of Cardiff Bay. Only 50 meters from the Wales Millennium Centre and 100 meters from the bars and restaurants in the Marina. The location is perfect for those looking to take in an Opera or theatre production or simply looking for an ideal base to explore Cardiff Bay and the City Centre.No on site parking is available however nearby parking is available at the APOCA Pier Head Street car park which charges £10 per 24hrs or £14 for Friday and Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Space in the City @ Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Space In The City @ Quayside Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing