We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Space in the City @ Quayside
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is the second time I`ve stayed in these excellently equipped apartments with A Space in the City in Cardiff. Beats the mundane hotel stay, with a home from home feel. I`ll stay nowhere else in Cardiff, so if on a small break, or on a business trip, these apartments are highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Space i, General Manager at A Space in the City @ Quayside, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thanks Darren for your review and kind comments !

We're glad you agree that staying in a serviced apartment beats staying in a hotel.

We all hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Cardiff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for A Space in the City @ Quayside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 243 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

Beautiful studio flat perfectly located opposite the Millenium Centre. Reasonably priced car park a 5 minute walk away. The Quayside is scenic, and there are so many restaurants and cafes, you are spoilt for choice. Cardiff City a 5 minute bus ride away, or a 20 minute walk. If you want to venture further afield there is an excellent train service from Cardiff Central. We loved it and will certainly book again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BGS321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We arrived after hours so we picked up our keys from a nearby resturant. Finding the apartment was fine as we had some knowledge of the area. The parking was a bit of a mission but we figured it out in the end. Costs around £10 for 24 hours parking. Only problem is if you have a few bags you have to cart them from the car park to the apartment. Apartment it's self was good, faily good space but not as much as was made out by the company. Some of the lights flickered for a few mins before coming on and the kitchen light (under the coubards) didn't work until I tapped them with a spoon!! Couldn't figure out how to use the washing machine and couldn't find instructions, turns out you have to wait about 5minutes before you can open the door after its finished, sent it on another 3 spins before we figured that one out. Cooker was a bit dodge, turned it on for 10 minutes and it was still cold until we turned the heat up from 200 to 250.the phone supplied was covered in another ladies make up, room was too hot to sleep and our Internet was off for a day until we called the company. We tried to empty our bins but found our selves waing around where the bins were suppose to go clueless, along with some other guests so we just had to keep the smelly bins in the room. We rang up to pay the extra £20 for a later check out and got told someone would call us back. No one called us until we called the morning of out check out to be told we couldn't check out any later. Oh, and we found a porn film which was left in the DVD player ... We threw it away so apologies to the person who left it there but it's now in the bin. Cleaners might need to check the DVD player in future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BJ8990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Space i, General Manager at A Space in the City @ Quayside, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

We are sorry to hear that you had a few issues that have led to disappointment with your booking with us.

We aim to provide you with apartments and an experience that at the very least meet your expectations and it appears we could have done more in this respect.

Our maintenance team have replaced the bulbs you have mentioned where needed. The washing machine instructions our located in the Guest information folder which is located on the dining table. The oven we have also investigated following your comments.

I'm a little unsure on a few of your comments so would be grateful if you could contact us direct if you have the time so we can clarify and investigate them. And we have now added to our cleaning teams check list to check the DVD player as you have suggested.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We all enjoyed our stay in cardiff bay, space in the city was a really nice place to stay. Lovely rooms and everything you would need for a stay in the city. Hopefully will go again before Christmas. To have a shopping weekend .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank myearsache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

If they don't mention it in the instructions take note- parking is 10 mins walk away and £10 per 24 hrs. We changed rooms 3 times until we found a decent apartment. They were decorated and furnished ok, but the pans were awful for cooking. The wii was a nice addition - with Netflix and bbc up layer - but we couldn't play anything all the way through as we kept getting 'not enough bandwidth' messages!! Trying to power a few iPhones and iPads on the wifi made it slow too. The beds looked huge, but they were actually 2 singles pushed together - a great idea but they needed a kingsize mattress toppers or similar to make it comfy as one big bed in our opinion. The location couldn't be faulted though - the bay is gorgeous and it's literally on your doorstep.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gnorouzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The appartment was very pleasant within a great position, convenient for City (short drive) and attractions. Unfortunatelly it took us a while to find the appartments as the picture is of the opera house not the appartment block which is very misleading (possibly showing them above Sainsburys would not be so impressive). You must inform A Space in the City of your time of arrival as there is no reception. Unfortunatelly I had not recieved the email informing me of this and it resulted in us wondering around in the dark and rain trying to gain entry for an hour and half. There is no parking on site and the car parks are expensive so budget for this. Once in the appartment, all frustrations melted away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mcsnobbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nice clean apartment, good facilities, excellent location near restaurants, bars, attractions and transport. Lack of bedside or coffee table was slightly annoying - but upturned wardrobe drawer was a good substitute.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
0.5 mi away
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
#12 of 74 in Cardiff
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,146 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
3,856 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Space in the City @ Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Space in the City @ Quayside

Address: Bute Street, Cardiff CF10 5AN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Cardiff
Price Range: $83 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Space in the City @ Quayside 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quayside apartments in Mermaid Quay are situated in the heart of Cardiff Bay. Only 50 meters from the Wales Millennium Centre and 100 meters from the bars and restaurants in the Marina. The location is perfect for those looking to take in an Opera or theatre production or simply looking for an ideal base to explore Cardiff Bay and the City Centre.No on site parking is available however nearby parking is available at the APOCA Pier Head Street car park which charges £10 per 24hrs or £14 for Friday and Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Space in the City @ Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Space In The City @ Quayside Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing