We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Appartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Space in the City @ Quayside
Dorset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Appartments”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The appartment was very pleasant within a great position, convenient for City (short drive) and attractions. Unfortunatelly it took us a while to find the appartments as the picture is of the opera house not the appartment block which is very misleading (possibly showing them above Sainsburys would not be so impressive). You must inform A Space in the City of your time of arrival as there is no reception. Unfortunatelly I had not recieved the email informing me of this and it resulted in us wondering around in the dark and rain trying to gain entry for an hour and half. There is no parking on site and the car parks are expensive so budget for this. Once in the appartment, all frustrations melted away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mcsnobbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    62
    12
    10
    8
See reviews for
59
93
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nice clean apartment, good facilities, excellent location near restaurants, bars, attractions and transport. Lack of bedside or coffee table was slightly annoying - but upturned wardrobe drawer was a good substitute.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at a space in the city. Right on Cardiff bay with plenty of local amenities. Tesco and Sainsbury are right on your door step so you can stock your fridge and freezer. Cardiff run a no plastic bags rule - so the apartment provide you with a few strong bags for your shopping. Very clean apartment with a tv and free view. Plenty of tourist info in the room to help you enjoy your stay. Ample storage space and the bed was very comfy to sleep in.
My one point would relate to finding the apartment ( it is literally a door and bit hard to spot when you are driving around) and parking. They do suggest an ncp close by but there are a few side streets you could park on for free and also the mermaid quay car park is close.
All in all a great stay and would definitely revisit.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor with a balcony bit...to another balcony but it was peaceful and if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MMM1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Space i, General Manager at A Space in the City @ Quayside, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed the apartment and your time in Cardiff exploring the City!

To clarify for those that may read this and wonder where best parking is, the NCP car park in Mermaid Quay is on the expensive side (up to £26 for 24hrs parking) which is why we would suggest to park in The Pierhead Street car park a few minutes walk away which costs from as little as £10 for 24hrs. Parking in this car park and walking over to the apartment complex is the best way to check-in for minimal disruption.

The nearby surface street parking is limited to a maximum stay of 6hours for about £3.60 at the time of replying with a no return policy within 2hrs of the expiry of your ticket.

I hope that this response helps!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The appartment was very nice and well decorated throughout, with good access to Cardiff Bay. Unfortunatly there was a problem in the en suite of the main bedroom, there was a disgusting smell, which I think was standing water somewhere in the pipes. As it was over a weekend there was no one about from a space in the city to report this to. So unless they have sorted out the drains, I wont be staying in this appartment again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Space i, General Manager at A Space in the City @ Quayside, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are sorry that your weekend away was impacted by this issue.

On investigation we have been informed that the has been a blockage in one of the soil pipes that connect to a few of the apartments. This has now been cleared and the smell you have reported has gone.

We are open on Saturdays and have a 24hr emergency number provided to all guests with your check in letter to call us when the office is closed. If you do return to Cardiff or wish to stay in Swansea I'm sure you will have an apartment that lives up to your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I booked a two bedroom apt for two days. Spacious room and good supply of utensils in the kitchen. The deco is homely. Our apt is next to the main street and no balcony. a bit noisy even at night. Walking distance to Cardiff Bay facilities and dining places. Only downside is not easy to find by car as there is no signage. Need to research first. The customer service lady Daisy is very nice and kind. She is patient in guiding us to find the place on the phone and finally come out to pick us up under the rain. Just the weather is not helping ....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dho123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Space i, General Manager at A Space in the City @ Quayside, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We are glad that you enjoyed the apartment but maybe not the weather !

We are updating our booking confirmation emails to provide clearer instructions on where to park to help guests find the best locations to park on arrival.

The APOCA car park call The Pierhead street car park is only a few minutes walk and being a large 2000 capacity car park has on site security and only charge £10 per 24hrs (assuming your leaving your car for the day) or £14 for Friday and Saturday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaounde, Cameroon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very clean, well equipped and modern apartment, right across the Millenium Center in Cardiff Bay. We arrived a bit late, but having called in advance, we could pick up the keys at a designated area without any hassle. There was a Sainsbury store right down the building the apartment was in, which was convenient. Within walking distance of everything in Cardiff Bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jpv0yageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The 2 bedroom apartment was clean and spacious with a nice balcony connecting both bedrooms and a good view to boot. The best part about the place was the location, right opposite the millennium centre and our timing meant we got to experience the Cardiff Bay Beach that was setup for the summer. Parking was just a 5 min walk. Very convenient for my wife and I with our 2 children.Overall a very pleasant experience and we would definitely stay here the next time we are in Cardiff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DominicSavio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
0.0 mi away
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,793 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Space in the City @ Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Space in the City @ Quayside

Property: A Space in the City @ Quayside
Address: Bute Street, Cardiff CF10 5AN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — A Space in the City @ Quayside 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quayside apartments in Mermaid Quay are situated in the heart of Cardiff Bay. Only 50 meters from the Wales Millennium Centre and 100 meters from the bars and restaurants in the Marina. The location is perfect for those looking to take in an Opera or theatre production or simply looking for an ideal base to explore Cardiff Bay and the City Centre.No on site parking is available however nearby parking is available at the APOCA Pier Head Street car park which charges £10 per 24hrs or £14 for Friday and Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your A Space in the City @ Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Space In The City @ Quayside Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing