We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lancashire UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent value accommodation”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

New hotel adjacent to Cardiff Central Station. Stayed 3 times on business. Fairly basic accommodation albeit reasonably large, clean modern and very good value rooms - given the excellent location. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Incubator62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Incubator62,

I am delighted you found us 'Excellent Value' and appreciate you taking the time to share your comments on tripadvisor.
We provide good quality 3 star city center accommodation at reasonable prices and I am pleased your loyalty reflects this.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    823
    249
    36
    32
See reviews for
346
706
89
419
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Nice hotel, very central with most staff very polite and courtious. Room was nice and spacious with flat screen television, hospitality tray etc. Very annoying that we were overlooking the railway track and Cardiff Central Station, because at night the noise from passing trains was quite unacceptable. Food and drinks , including coffee is grossly overpriced. Room should have been ready by 14:00hrs but wasn't.

Room Tip: Make sure that your room is not overlooking the Central Train Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Anthony I,

I appreciate you taking the time to leave your review on tripadvisor. As a 3 star city center hotel, with in close proximity to Cardiff central train station, unfortunately some of our bedrooms overlook the train station and the city.

I am delighted that you seem to have enjoyed your stay overall and found our staff to be polite & courteous. If you would like to offer any feedback on way we can improve the service or quality we provide I would be happy to discuss these with you directly.

Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have to agree with another reviewer - RPGs - about the stink from the bathroom. I was also on the 7th floor (725) although the smell wasn't so much sewerage as stagnant water. Still the room was really peaceful once the aircon problem that kept me awake most of my first night had been sorted. It was also spacious and very clean.
The staff are really helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them - even providing a HUGE jug of milk after I asked for an alternative to those horrible little plastic containers of UHT - to go with the complimentary tea and coffee in the room.
A really nice touch was the ice and chilled water machine just down the corridor.
Breakfasts are ok although IMHO £9 for what amounts to a normal cooked breakfast was a bit steep. However, the breakfast chefs are really good, rustling up an excellent poached or fried egg as an alternative to the scrambled egg that appears to be the only egg option in the buffet area ... but you have to ask as there are no signs indicating these alternatives!
The main thing going for this hotel has to be its location: no more than 5 mins walk to the station .. just great.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you're a light sleeper cos the hotel's next to the main railway line...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyDearOldThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear MyDearOldThing,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay overall. As mentioned in another guest response, our maintenance manager has rectified the issue with the drainage on the 7th floor. Thank you for bringing the matter to our attention so we can improve our offerings.
I am pleased you availed of our service of freshly cooked eggs. There is a sign on the buffet above the scrambled eggs advising guests of this option. I will speak to the F&B manager to ensure this sign is made more prominent for future guests.

I appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back.
Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel ticked all boxes for me. I stayed initially for three nights and when had an unplanned second visit to Cardiff, booked in again. On both occassions, the rooms (King & Double - for single occupancy) were a good size, clean, comfortable and modern. Furnishings were tasteful but not overwhelming (great tile design in bathroom). Beds very comfortable with plenty of pillows. All linens - sheets & towels - were snowy white. Great location - next to train station and bus station - but was not disturbed by trains. Couple of minutes walk to the large Cardiff shopping centre. Breakfast was buffet with the hot dishes cooked to order. Price was very reasonable. I will definitely stay at this hotel next visit to Cardiff. (ps.the Great Western Hotel across the road does a great fish & chips (& mushy peas!) dinner for around six pounds

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Colleen710,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and Appreciate you taking the time to share your 5 star review on tripadvisor.

We would love to welcome you back for a return trip to wales.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel room was perfectly fine and clean and the beds very comfortable. Unfortunately, unless you had the air con on, there was a definite sewerage smell from the bathroom. We were on the 7th floor so not bothered by the trains running frequently at all, but our room was opposite the lift and unfortunately, the signs asking for quiet as people were sleeping were ignored by guests waiting for the lifts (only two of them for 11 floors) which meant waiting for the lift at meal times was awfully slow. Overall, the breakfast was fabulous and kept us going most of the day visiting all the fantastic tourist attractions.

Room Tip: High room away from lifts and linen storage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear RPG's,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I can assure you that the smell you encountered in your room is not a normal occurrence and our maintenance manager has worked along side contractors to resolve this matter. I apologise if this issue caused you any discomfort.
I hope I can welcome you back in the future so we can, in some way, restore some faith in our hotel. If you are planning a return trip to Cardiff please contact me and I would be delighted to handle your reservation personally.
Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

As 5 friends we spent 3 nights here. The rooms were clean, comfortable, modern and quiet (on the 10th floor). The breakfast was very good with a reasonable choice, and freshly cooked eggs.The food in the buffet was regularly refreshed and always well topped up.
The location couldn't be better. The station was just 2 minutes walk, and the shops and restaurants not much more.
The staff were friendly and helpful but could have been a bit better informed, and at times more staff on reception would have helped.
Also, as it was our 1st time in Cardiff, we would have appreciated more tourist info. There were information leaflets in reception but some were out of date, and the leaflets we wanted (re. the sightseeing bus, Mermaid Quay etc.) wasn't there.
Overall we were really happy with our stay here and would return if in Cardiff again.

Room Tip: Higher is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L8870PScarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear CarolJohnson49,

I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and am delighted you enjoyed your stay overall. The information stand at reception is provided to the hotel by the local Tourism Marketing Company and we do not restock the booklets ourselves. I will contact the company and advise them of your leaflet recommendations and hope their selection improves for future guests.

I hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The rooms were ok but the food was awful. Coach parking was not available leaving no where to pick up passengers and load cases. The coach had to be parked about 5 miles away from the hotel. If your going to this hotel don't go as part of a tour group.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Teresa L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on tripadvisor. I am disappointed to read you did not enjoy your evening meals with us. We are constantly looking to improve our offers and welcome all constructive feedback. I would appreciate a more elaborate explanation of what you did not enjoy about your meal. You can contact me directly and I would be happy to pass this information onto the relevant managers.
As with any city center hotel we do not have our own coach parking but are located minutes walk from the nearest parking bays. There is also a loading area at the back of the hotel to allow a 20 minute standing time for passengers to get on & off the coaches. These details are communicated to all tour operators prior to arrival to ensure a smooth arrival and departure.

Once more, thank you for your review.
Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,078 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff

Property: Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Address: St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (Formerly Clayton Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff, in Cardiff city centre opened on the 16th May 2011. Principality Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Clayton Hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•View Restaurant and Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 7 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing