We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed there with my wife last December (but didn't really have the time to post a review till now!) It's really amazing how convenient this hotel was on our travel around Cardiff City. Walking distance to Cardiff Castle (a magnificent sight from the tower, even in the rain), mall, and the market. The food's a little fusion between east and west (I remember a portion of our dinner: satay with a twist). The room's extremely clean and comfortable. All in all, a value for money stay in the city!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear By K,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor. I appreciate you taking the time, as the saying goes "better late than never"
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and love the photos you have posted.
I hope you will stay with us again.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,628 - 1,634 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night for my birthday and really enjoyed it,the reception staff were really friendly and very efficient and kindly upgraded us to a lovely room with great views.the room was large,bright and very clean with a very comfortable bed.the only slight let down was the shower it was very weak but plenty of hot water.the hotel is right above the train tracks but we didn't hear any noise.we went down for breakfast today and found it very tasty and a large selection of full English and continental.we would defiantly stay here again.ps it's less than a three minute walk from the train station or bus station

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andybCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear andybcardiff,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review on tripadvisor. We pride ourselves on our customer service and I am delighted you experienced this first hand.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were a party of ten women, having a college reunion, after 42 years of not meeting up. From the outset, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, from the initial booking by internet and phone. the reason i chose the hotel was its proximity to the railway station and the reasonable price of rooms. The hotel exceeded our expectations. Members of our party came from Barbados, London, Essex, Wales and Cheshire. We were all delighted by the choice of hotel. The rooms were clean and had all the amenities we needed, the bathrooms were well-designed and immaculate. All the public areas were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice. Most of all, the staff were really helpful. All the bar and restaurant staff went out of their way to help us, by taking photos of the group, chatting with us and putting up with our laughter and noise! I would wholeheartedly recommend the hotel for a visit to Cardiff centre, as it was near to many restaurants, bars and shops. All are in easy walking distance. It was a perfect venue for our long-awaited reunion!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank wendydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear wendydee,

I am delighted you had a successful reunion during your stay at the Maldron Hotel Cardiff. I am pleased to hear the team in some way assisted with making your event an enjoyable one.

I appreciate your excellent review and recommendation and hope you do not leave it another 42 years before your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent 2 nights here in June.very nice room with all the amenities.great tv and plenty of plug sockets. The hotel is at a stone's throw from the train station so it is very handy handy to walk to. There are spare pillows,hairdryer but no mini bar.

I seem to remember paying for breakfast but hotel had no knowledge of this so had to pay for it. The bar area is nice although it did smell strongly of the grill. Will definitely recommend it for value.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear norgroves,

I am delighted you found us to be good value for money and appreciate you taking the time to share this on tripadvisor.
I will have our maintenance team investigate the grill smell from the bar and get this rectified.

I hope to welcome you back to Cardiff in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very Close to the Main railway station and main shopping area the hotel has a good restaurant and bar, though quite close to the railway line the rooms are comfortable and QUIET, if you are going to Cardiff for Rugby it is near to the stadium. If you are new to Cardiff and are there for a few days do make the effort to go to St Fagans (Bus near by the hotel) its FREE to enter and will give you an insight into Welsh History from Farmhouses, Churches, Miners institutes thru to a Woolen Mill.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Datasouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear datasouth,

I appreciate the time you have taken to post your comments and photos on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We arrived in Cardiff by train, and The Maldron is literally a one minute walk from the Central station. Our first impression was a pleasant reception area, helpful staff, and obviously very new and sparkling clean. Our room on the 11th floor gave us very impressive views with no traffic noise, and the air-conditioning system is practically silent, and it gave us a cool oasis during the two hottest days of the year. We had ample space being a couple in a three bedded room, with a smart bathroom and excellent shower. The breakfasts were excellent, and the first impression was that the breakfast room was a little chaotic, but strangely it seems to work. The food on offer was extensive, and best of all, it was completely self-service including the tea and coffee. We find most hotels serve you the drinks as soon as you arrive in the breakfast room, and by the time you want to drink it, they have gone cold. The only criticism would be the baguettes were a little underdone, ranging on the stodgy side, but there was plenty of alternatives, plus a good selection of fruits, cereals and yoghurts, with a cooked breakfast on offer also.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheshirecat046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Cheshirecat046,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay overall.
I will bring your comments to the Head chef who will review our breakfast quality to ensure we are constantly improving our offerings.

I am delighted you will consider staying with us again on your return trip to Cardiff.
Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My sisters and I are just back from a long weekend in Cardiff. We were very pleased with the hotel. It's in a great location - just a few hundred yards from Cardiff Central railway station and very close to the main shopping area of Cardiff.

The rooms are very clean, the hotel provides free Wi-Fi. We found the beds really comfortable and although the hotel is right beside the railway, we found that it didn't disturb our sleep.

The staff were really friendly and very helpful and were able to answer any questions we had. Bag storage on the final day was fantastic! We are already planning our return trip to Cardiff and will likely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siobhanmccluskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear SiobhanMcCluskey,

Thank you for your generous review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return trip to Cardiff.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.7 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff

Address: St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (Formerly Clayton Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $65 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff, in Cardiff city centre opened on the 16th May 2011. Principality Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Clayton Hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•View Restaurant and Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 7 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing