We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for train spotters!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel is about a two minute walk from Cardiff Central station. It is a new skyscraper and we were on the top (11th) floor with a floor to ceiling window looking across the town and Cardiff Bay.
The room was clean and modern and comfortable.
Apart from a grumpy receptionist who checked us in everybody was really friendly and helpful.
There is free WiFi across the hotel/ Breakfast was a self-service buffet and lunch was really delicious.
There are trains coming past quite frequently but the double glazing kept it all quiet.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Songbird1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Songbird1954,

Thank you for taking the time to upload your photo and review of our hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and took pleasure in a touch of train spotting.

I am disappointed you did not experience our excellent customer service on check In and I will address this with our Front Office Manager to ensure action is taken to prevent another occurrence. You can see from other reviews that your experience was a one off.

I hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,692 - 1,698 of 2,213 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Arrived early morning and tried for early check in. Unfortunately no rooms available except a smoking so we waited until the regular 2pm checkin. Reception staff were incredibly friendly and offered to look after bags as well as complete pre-checkin process. Collected the keys later in the day and felt almost as though they were expecting us (was a very friendly welcome)

The rooms are clean, modern and quite comfortable. They're a little small, but certainly enough room for the double and single bed we had in ours. Bathroom was great with both shower and bath.
Simple tea and coffee facilities, iron etc - all you would expect in the room. Room service seemed basics but there are so many amenities near by that I doubt many people would use it.

Overall a very good stay and would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britsinvade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Britsinvade,

Our reception team pride themselves on their excellent customer service record and I am delighted you experienced this first hand.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Modern, clean accommodations with a very friendly staff. We arrived before check-in and they offered to hold our bags in a secure location while we explored Cardiff Bay. Even provided easy to follow directions and bus route.

The adjacent train station noise may bother some but as city dwellers we are used to noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor location or opposite side of the building from the train station if you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Cheryl B,

Thank you for your fantastic review and your 5 star rating on tripadvisor. I appreciate you taking the time to mention how friendly and helpful you found the team. I will pass on your kind comments.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel, I had low expectations as we normally stay at 5* hotels, but we were greeted with a modern and clean room, a very comfortable bed and a great power shower! I was initially concerned with reviews from stag/hen nights and nearby train station noise, but on request we were given a room at check in on the top floor and had a very sound nights sleep. The parking at the ncp round the corner was nearer and easier than I thought, don't forget to ask reception for the discount ticket. We booked with secret escapes and also received two free signature cocktails! Nice english breakfast but no table service for drinks and the restaurant was very busy on a sunday morning. This hotel would be ideal for an event at the millennium stadium, a few minutes walk from the hotel. We ate at the Viva Brazil restaurant next door, wonderful food and lively atmosphere!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsdavies24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear mrsdavis24,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on tripadvisor. I am delighted you found us to be a pleasant surprise. We aim to offer 3 star plus service and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you will consider returning to us in the future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very well located, barely 500 mts from the Cardiff central rail /Bus station, this hotel is a real gem. Rooms are clean and well appointed. Toilet amenities are average. At the 1st floor restaurant, it serves a hot, all you can eat breakfast , every morning with a great view to the cardiff city centre.

Wifi is free and available in the rooms. overall a very good and comfortable place. Two things need improvement- access by car and parking, secondly the stiff staff response from reception to breakfast lounge. Some one should teach them on how to smile at the front locations!!

rest is great!

Room Tip: Ask rooms facing the city centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saswat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Saswat66,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay overall however I am disappointed that you found our reception team to be unfriendly. You can see from our previous reviews that our customer service is highly rated and I am disappointed that you did not get to experience this.

I hope you will consider staying with us again were we can honor our good reputation.

Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at the Maldron Cardiff over the late May bank holiday. It’s central location, near all the bars of St Mary St meant it was full of (well behaved) hen and stag parties, but don’t let that put you off.

The location is also ideal of everything in Central Cardiff, and Mermaid Quay is an easy bus ride or around £5 in a taxi. For those driving, the Wood Street NCP carpark is a short walk away. The hotel offers a discount for hourly or daily carparking, but if you’re staying for two or more nights, you’re better off getting a weekly ticket. There’s no discount, but at £25/week for multiple carpark entry/exits compared to £18/day, it’s a good deal.

The room itself was fine, similar to Premier Inn style, except they offer room service. The double bed was smaller than most hotel rooms, and the springs felt a little worn, but not to the point it wasn’t possible to sleep. In-room wi-fi was complimentary, and there were no issues with the speed or signal strength.

The hotel staff were polite, professional and knowledgeable about the local area. The hotel bar wasn’t bad either, and we were given a voucher giving us 10% off all drink purchases during our stay.

Our rate didn’t include breakfast, but if pre-booked the day in advance it was only £7 rather than the usual £9. The selection wasn’t massive, but there was a range of cooked and continental choices, plus the option to have eggs made to order upon request.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CallumLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Callumlondon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and load some pictures on tripadvisor.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay overall but am disappointed you did not feel we warranted 5 stars. Hopefully on a return trip to Cardiff you may consider staying with us again where we can strive to improve our rating.

Regards
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

A few minutes walk from the train station. Check in was pleasant and swift. We had a family room on the 11th floor. The room was very clean and the bed, comfortable.
We ate in the restaurant and the staff were very attentive. I had to return my meal as it was slightly burnt, it was cooked fresh to order again and was very good.
We didn't have breakfast because the £9 each cost put us off.
Check out was simple and quick.
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backpacker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear backpacker10,

I appreciate you taking the time to write your review on tripadvsior. I am disappointed one of your meals was burnt and had to be returned but I am delighted the team were able to rectify this for you.

I hope you will consider staying with us again.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.1 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff

Address: St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (Formerly Clayton Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $65 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff, in Cardiff city centre opened on the 16th May 2011. Principality Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Clayton Hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•View Restaurant and Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 7 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing