We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Nearby Hotels
Future Inn Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$174
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Cardiff Gate(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$178
$119
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$199
$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Tanes Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$73
$68
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$98
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$64
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,367)
Filter reviews
2,367 results
Traveler rating
1,090
915
283
44
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,090
915
283
44
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationcity centreperfect locationmillennium stadiumsingle bedcar parknight lifemodern hotelbars and restaurantslight sleepergood sizeafternoon teawithin easy walking distancebuffet stylefew minutes walkfamily roomself service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,903 - 1,908 of 2,367 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Let's be clear....this was ideal for a stop over night. Good price, nice breakfast included, clean room and bathroom. It does what it says. I wouldn't use it for a holiday, but great for the stop over. Downside? well, the 'hen party' was annoying...screaming, swearing and you had to be careful that you didn't brush against the fake tan! However, our room was well away from the group. I do wish the hotel staff had told the party "no...you can't come to breakfast in your pyjamas"!!!

Room Tip: High up...as far from hen parties as you can
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QualityCountsJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear QualitycountsJersey,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on tripadvisor. I appreciate the time taken to write your review.

Unfortunately, even with procedures in place, we can not control the actions of other guest. Sometimes it may be unclear as to what constitutes breakfast wear and for this I can only apologies that you found our judgment to be lacking.
I am however delighted your stay was not disrupted by the actions of others and we can only learn from experiences & work to improve for future guests.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

When we've decided to stay here, I was in doubt because another Hotel, in Bay, was in the same price, and the reviews are similar, but we choose this, and it was perfect to us!

We really loved to stay in the city centre, the location is perfect, very close to the Central Station, and near to good Pubs, shops and atractions.

The hotel is very good, very clean, comfortable, spacious, the bathroom is nice too, and the shower is perfect.

Our reservation didn't have breakfast, then we had breakfast at The Great Western, one Pub very good, in front of the hotel.

Next to the hotel entrance, had a Brazilian steakhouse called Viva Brazil, we saw a group singing and playing Brazilian music, we didn't go to that place, but it was beautiful and well attended.

We have not had problems with noise reported in other reviews, I thik it was because we've stayed at 11th floor.

Room Tip: 1- Ask for rooms on higher floors.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANDRA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear dida10,

Thank you for your kind comments & for taking the time to post some lovely pictures of your stay in Cardiff.

As mentioned the 11th floor is our most popular floor & I would be delighted to allocate this for you on a return trip.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel is right by Cardiff Central station and easy walking distance for shops, bars and restaurants. We were on the 9th floor so the train noise didnt affect us much. Room was very hot and the bed a bit small really but check in was very efficient, staff were friendly and everything was really clean. Would stay again but make sure you ask for a room high up!

Room Tip: higher up rooms will be quieter!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carriec80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Carriec80,

I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel on tripadvisor. I am delighted you found our staff to be friendly & our facilities clean and central.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location - very near Cardiff Central railway station and a short walk from the shops etc. Large, anonymous and staffed by often surly young people who can be outright rude. The evening meal was pretty poor, but breakfast was ok. Cheapish, if that's what you're looking for but be aware that deals online don't necessarily include breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Hjb50,

I appreciate you taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor.

Our young vibrant team take pride in their customer service & attention and I am disappointed that you did not get to experience this element of our hotel.
I will pass your comments onto the team.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Booked here with our Tesco vouchers for effectively a free weekend in January and had a brilliant weekend, hotel is located right by the train station and the high street, We arrived a few hours before check in time due to the trains so thought we would go drop our suitcases off and walk around Cardiff, We were pleased to find our room was ready which meant we could check in straight away. Room was clean and tidy and bed was comfy, we also had breakfast which was really nice would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Chris r,

Thank you for such a fantastic review on tripadvisor. I appreciate the time you have taking to write these comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews