We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was fine, but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything was fine, but not perfect”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed in the Maldron Hotel Cardiff hotel on new years eve, so that neither my husband or myself would have to drive to a friend's party.

Reception - the experience of checking in and out was friendly and efficient.

Room - Everything was fine, but not perfect. The room was comfortable, but starting to look shabby (eg wall light over bed were wonky). I didn't like that the desk light was on the same circuit as the entrance light, so both were either on or off (lighting is important to me). Appreciated having a kettle and tray with usual tea and coffee stuff, but found its location in the open wardrobe strange. I would have moved the tray but the kettle was plugged in, so assumed it was meant to stay where it was.

The bathroom was clean and nicely decorated. I don't like the bottles of shower creme on the wall arrangement - just something really cheap about it ( i always imagine the cleaning staff filling them up from a big bottle of generic liquid soap).

There was an ice machine in the corridor - I liked this, but had no occasion to use it - its presence made me smile.

Breakfast - nice dining room. Breakfast was a standard hotel buffet affair - what can you say. The scrambled eggs however did look very unappetizing (hard lumps of eggs with a watery base) - I just made up my own bacon rolls.

Overall the Maldron Hotel Cardiff did its job. Its not hotel to make you feel special, but you get a clean pleasant bed for the night, a hot shower and an adequate breakfast .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickyb95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Nickyb95,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor. I am disappointed you had a less than perfect stay with us. As you can imagine we try to cater for all tastes and in doing so sometimes do not cater for specific needs. Our team here in the hotel would be happy to make any alterations or additions to your room to ensure your next stay would be a more enjoyable one. Please contact them directly to arrange this.

Again I appreciate the time it has taken to leave your feedback. We use this feedback to better improve our offerings.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    823
    249
    36
    32
See reviews for
346
706
89
419
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Maldron hotel in Cardiff is situated at the end of St Mary's street ..... The location is perfect for millenium stadium visits as well as those wanting to eat out and party. The hotel is pretty new and as you would expect from a new hotel the rooms are pretty much perfect. We had a family room for just the two of us ( loads of space for two )
We never ate in the hotel at night but we did have breakfast which was a buffet style breakfast and was stunning one of the better ones 10/10 ......

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef_and_Nikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear stef_and_nikki,

Thank you for your brief but glowing review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I got a reduced rate for a couple of nights' stay just before Christmas, all very straightforward - a large, modern and clean room, no problems worth mentioning and pretty quiet. It may be worth saying I was on the 7th floor (so not so close to the railway tracks) but in any case I hardly noticed any noise from trains - the hotel is 2 minutes' walk from Central station - that may vary with the room though. Equally the hotel seemed pretty empty at the time, I can't say if noise would be worse when it gets booked up or if there are bands of Cardiff City supporters roaming the streets below...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpviolator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear CPviolator,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens,greece
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

1) Close to everything! Bus,Train,Shopping
2) One of Cardiff's best eateries is downstairs
3)The bar is great and has good prices
4) People who work here are wonderful
5) Views are great from the 10th and 11th floor.
6) Price of hotel is reasonable

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allgreek2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear allgreek2me,

Thank you for your fantastic review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you had another successful stay with us & look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very central location, resturant is in a great position if you manage to get a window seat, you can watch the world go by. Room adequate and clean, bed comfy and clean. Food was ok, set evening menu was very good value for money and well presented and pleasant the breakfast was just ok. Would return again if staying in Cardiff.

Room Tip: Higher floors better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardiffparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Cardiffparsons,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review on tripadvisor.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warn Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

good bits - very central, short walk to city centre and from train station. also short walk to motor point arena and opposite wetherspoons for cheap n cheery nosh.
breakfast - good standard with self serve for all items inc drinks.
room - spacious with tv, alarm clock, hairdryer, safe, iron n board and comfy bed too.....
safety - lift only accessible of you have a room card key....

negs
next to train station so some rooms at the back hear the early trains,
4th floor is smoking rooms - so request away from here if you dont want to smell it.
£10.00 for 2 x g and tonic in the bar.
no biscuits with the room provisions and no mini bar.

Room Tip: take a room round the front away from the train lines
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sambrow46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Sambrow46,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your overall stay & will raise your recommendation at our next management meeting. We appreciate your feedback & use it to better improve our offerings.

I hope you will stay with us in the future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Pleasant hotel that could do a lot better. Our room was a disabled room as I asked for a room near to the lift as my wife suffers from rheumatoid arthritis. Which fitted the bill very well? We were on the fifth floor over looking Cardiff Central railway station so we had to get used to the noise. The room was cleaned daily but only a quick flick of a duster. Plenty of dust on the lamp shades. There was so much dust on the top of the wardrobe (no doors) when my wife used the hair drier we got covered in dust and fluff!
Very disappointed with the breakfast. The first morning we ate at the Weatherspoons ‘Great Western’ that was opposite. I have eaten the many times before but was not up to much. So I though we would spoil ourselves on the Sunday and take up there offer of £3 saving on a £12 breakfast so my wife and I were expecting something 3 stars, how wrong. It was a buffet styled breakfast with the normal malfunctioning rotary toaster, push button coffee machine and luke warm food with Tesco blue strip type of sausages. I was upset with paying £9 each I would have been devastated if I had paid £12. The last morning we went to a Cafe in Wydham Arcade and had a splendid breakfast for two for under £10.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, ease train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Folkestonepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Folkestonepaul,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor. I am disappointed you did not find our breakfast adequate. Our food & beverage team have worked hard to raise the quality of our breakfast & I am disappointed you did not experience this.
I would appreciate any specific recommendations you may have of how we can improve our breakfast. You can email me directly on amansfield@maldronhotels.com

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,079 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff

Property: Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Address: St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (Formerly Clayton Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff, in Cardiff city centre opened on the 16th May 2011. Principality Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Clayton Hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•View Restaurant and Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 7 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing